We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location not worth the hassles” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #87 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location not worth the hassles”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at the Astor. The location is great -- within walking distance to most places in the French Quarter. We were pleasantly surprised by the size and decor of the room but immediately realized that the AC was not working properly. My husband called the front desk and was told that the AC has a "sensor" that adjusts the temperature when you enter the room and it should cool off within 30 minutes -- needless to say, this was a concocted excuse for poor maintenance, and the room never cooled off. Also, while taking a shower, the water would turn completely off and then back on again - quite annoying!! Last, but not least, the valet parking is a nightmare. After checking out, we stood in line for 30 minutes at the valet stand to get our car. When we finally got to the counter to give them our ticket, we were told that it would be at least 30 minutes before our car would be brought to us. A shuttle was available to take us to the remote parking lot (6 blocks away) to retrieve our car -- we chose this option and discovered that although we had paid over $31 for valet parking, we had to go get our own car from a public parking lot that had a sign posted "$3.00 per day parking." If we had known this, we would have gladly parked our own car and walked to the hotel. Needless to say, we will find another option for our next visit to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    439
    233
    133
    92
See reviews for
180
377
49
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patterson, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

I've stayed here several times and this visit was the best one yet. The personal service and friendliness of the staff was much, much improved. Every employee we encountered from the moment we stepped out of the car until we pulled away from the curb went almost overboard to make us feel welcome and were extremely helpful. Parking is FINE here - don't be scared away by other posts. Literally step out door and you're in the action on Bourbon Street. Very clean room, very comfortable, tons of pillows.
Got an OUTSTANDING rate and I will stay here again and again. Very pretty place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Went to New Orleans with a friend for the first weekend in May following a business trip in the vicinity. We booked the hotel room through a price-bidding travel site and ended up being very pleased with the results.

The hotel is located at the corner of Bourbon and Canal Streets and is right in the middle of all of the action. We had a room overlooking Bourbon Street and we didn't notice any of the noise the first night we were there, but on the second night it was quite a bit louder from approximately 11 pm until 5 am or so. Even so, the noise was not so loud that it was bothersome as we are not light sleepers, but if you are a light sleeper I would recommend asking for a room on the other side of the hotel. It also helps that Crowne Plaza hotels offer free sleep aid kits in their rooms and earplugs are included in the kit.

We'd heard horror stories about the valet parking at the hotels in the area and instead parked in a nearby parking garage, which was less expensive and we had no trouble or wait in getting the car when we were departing.

The hotel is newly renovated and was very nice - plenty of marble and crystal in the lobby, and new carpeting on the floor we were staying on. All of the staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and willing to do whatever they could to improve our stay. The rooms are fairly standard, but nicely decorated and with very comfortable beds. It was within walking distance of anything you might want to see in the French Quarter, the Mississippi River, and the Central Business District. Guided tours for anything you might want (cemeteries, swamps, haunted tours) are all offered in the lobby. We spent the majority of our time simply walking around the French Quarter and exploring the historical streets and staying in a hotel that with such a great location made that much easier.

I don't recommend the room service unless you are desperate. Like room service in most places, it is over-priced and there are many much better options only steps away on Bourbon Street.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again - great location, great service, great staff, and and overall really nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

It was a very nice stay. The location is very convenient and is close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

This was the only hotel room in the city as we decided to travel last minute. The hotel was nice enough for what we paid for it, I think we paid $150. It was a no frills kind of place with small rooms but I've stayed in much worse in New Orleans. If the price is right we will stay again. My one complaint was the valet situation. There was a line 2 blocks long to valet and check in which took over 40 minutes and it took about 20 minutes to get our car when we checked out on Saturday morning. They lost our car somewhere in one of the parking garages, they apparently have two garages.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

The hotel guest staff are excellent. The rooms are great. Can't ask for a better place and it's close to everything in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

The service and location of this hotel were good. If this hotel had a little more attention to detail it would have been much better, as the rooms were large. We also got a good deal online (less then $100/night), and if I had paid more I would have been more upset. Unfortunately, the person who had been in our room before us had partied a little too hard over Mardi Gras. The bathroom has brown "stuff" on the door and shower curtain, and the bed pad was stained as well. We had to call housekeeping to change the bed that night (Denise was great) and then the next day had to re-request that shower curtain be changed (which it was) and the room be better cleaned (which it wasn't). Forget the pool - its like 10'x5'. The concierge was awful, as they often are, and is obviously getting kickbacks from the restaurants. FYI - don't bother to eat on Bourbon Street. Restaurants Herbsaint, Gumbo Shop and Olivers (2 blocks from hotel) were excellent. It is important to remember New Orleans is still unsafe in certain areas. We chatted with a local who turned out to be a prosecutor - she said try not to carry a purse, if you get mugged give them the purse (she stressed this as more then usual common sense, like she's seen what happens) and definitely stay in the french quarter area at night. We did venture out via the streetcar at like 9pm, in well-traveled areas, but you had to be careful. We even had a local couple advise us to go down a different street as a "sketchy" person had just gone down a road were were about to take, in a very nice section of the FQ. Don't let the warnings scare you though - Nawlin's is a great time and safe as long as you use common sense. I just was surprise how some people really warned you about safety, and other's never mentioned it (our concierge never mentioned safety even after we asked about a restaurant that was in an area you shouldn't be in unless you were parking valet).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brcaro, Director of Revenue Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 1, 2009
I apologize on behalf of the management and staff for the issues that you experienced during your stay with us. i have taken the liberty of forwarding this information to our General Manager, Director of Housekeeping and Chief Engineer so that we can research the parties involved in the preparing of your room.

Again, please accept my deepest apologies and I hope that you will give us an opportunity in the future to show you the excellent product and service that we offer at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel - New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Susie C Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.