We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got more than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #99 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Helena, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Got more than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I was very concerned after reading the reviews and almost changed my reservation. Fortunately I did not because our stay was great. The check-in assistance from Kim was excellent. She was friendly and very professional. The room was not on the Bourbon side,so it was quiet. The rooms are outdated but the room was clean. The mattress was firm but comfortable. There were earlier reviews complaining about the air conditioner and room keys not working, but we did not experience that. We did not eat on site but did spend time at the bar. The staff there were friendly and very helpful in the bar area. The location is EXCELLENT! Directly on Bourbon but at the very beginning of Bourbon. The only complaint is that while sitting in the lobby on 2 occasions we saw a mouse. The staff are very comfortable with seeing mice, because they were not alarmed. I on the other hand was very concerned. I would ask that management take a look at this.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    524
    310
    163
    120
See reviews for
211
456
60
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel is very elegant. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very spacious and clean. It is located in the middle of the action in the French Quarter. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great location right on Bourbon and Canal streets. Staff were friendly especially the bell boy very helpful. Room was very clean and very comfortable . It was nice going up to the balcony so you can get a great view of the streets. Not sure if some of the rooms had balcony ours didn't had one
There is also a swimming pool enough for two people to go for a dip. It was nice to just lounge by the pool if you can find a chair, quite peaceful and relaxing especially after a night on bourbon st., awesome nice to meet people from all over having fun. I would definitely go back to this hotel, I was very happy.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor couldn't see out there was a very small window which you had to get up,o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel several times. However, it has been over a year since our last visit...and something is different. The sheets felt like cardboard. The bed was uncomfortable. The inside staff wasn't as friendly as normal. But, it is still a great location.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Greetings Thejanipa,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your stay. You are correct, we have had some hotel management changes recently and some changes have been made. I am sorry that the bed was uncomfortable and that you felt your staff interactions were not friendly. This most certainly is not how we want our guests to feel while they are here and our staff works very hard to ensure the guests are made to feel comfortable. We are happy you enjoyed our location, but again I am very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your overall stay with us. we hope that this visit will not deter from you coming to visit us again.

Sincerely,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We got a very good deal for two nights. Rooms are your average upscale hotel room. We had a long line for check-in. When leaving for the evening our door wouldnt lock. Maintenance took care of it immediately. Parking is a little steep! Valet only. The pool is very small and doesn't look anything like picture on website. One day housekeeping never cleaned our room because we were resting when they came. We asked them to come back in an hour but they never returned. Nice hotel in good location near Bourbon St.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Choose the Astor because my dad said it was a good place to stay & he was spot on! Right at Bourbon & Canal surrounded mainly by restaurants so you don't have alot of crowds. Hotel restaurant is a bit pricey but they have 24hr room service. Lobby is very busy but the staff keeps things moving. To me the staff was friendly and laid-back, not the peppy in your face types which suits me just fine. Reception & concierge were both very helpful. Check in/out was a breeze, we waited less than 5 minutes for both and the valet was very quick and helpful. Had a 3rd floor room in the older building. Age did show a bit, particularly on the wall paper, the furniture and carpet but we paid less than $99 for our room so we happily overlooked it. Room was spacious and clean. For me the beds were very comfortable. Room phones didn't work but that was fixed on the first day.Our friends did have to switch their room because they had the a/c unit that was motion sensored and didn't keep the room cool enough( our a/c stayed at a cool 68 degrees). The bathroom was clean but there was no exaust fan which might explain the small spot of mold in the corner. This issue brings me to my only complaint. The hotel doesn't have enough housekeeping staff or maybe not enough rounds. We had enough towels but we never got our coffee replenished, that might have been a good thing because our coffee maker leaked. We felt very safe at the Astor and certainly will and plan on staying again, especially if it's for under $99 a night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Midsu,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay with us. I am sorry that the phone did not work in your room upon check-in and you felt the furnishings and carpet were a bit dated. The new hotel management is making changes throughout the hotel and we are very excited to see what is to come. I am sorry that you had some mold on the shower wall. I have passed your comments on to the Housekeeping Manager so it can be addressed immediately. I am glad that you had a quick and smooth check-in and the Front Desk and Concierge staff were helpful to you. We think our location is great too and we are happy that our team took good care of you during your stay.

Thank you,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I should have left when I arrived. I spent over an hour in the lobby trying to figure out what went wrong with our reservations. I originally booked 4 rooms but for some reason it showed I had 8 rooms. The lady checking us in was nice and she eventually figured it out that there was an error with the person who did the booking. The night manager was rude and unhelpful and if it wasn’t for the lady checking us in I think he would have tried to charge me for 8 rooms. The rooms were adequate however our AC was not working, I called the front desk to ask someone to take a look at it. I don’t know if anyone ever came or not but the AC did not work during our entire stay. Not cool in the heat of June. When we checked out I was fearful that my card was going to be over charged. Patricia Isidore Director of Front Office Operations checked us out. She was very nice and professional and gave me her card to contact if I had any trouble with credit card charges. When I arrived home and looked at my statement the hotel mistakenly credited me for the incorrectly booked rooms, when they found this error they then charged my account again for the credits plus an extra ~$1100. I contacted Patricia via phone and email she was helpful and pleasant initially. She looked into my request and Llawson sent me a copy of my charges and they claimed to have no record of the overcharge. I spoke with Patricia again on the phone and figured sending a screen shot of my credit card charge would help them locate the charge. After that email (and one follow up email and a phone message) Patricia never responded. Patricia seemed helpful so my guess is someone above her has dropped the ball. It has been over 2 months so now I am waiting on the credit card company to work it out. But what a pain too. I will never stay there again and you shouldn’t either.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello Amanda_L131,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that your experience during your stay was not pleasant and you had an AC issue in your room. I regret that there was confusion with your reservation and I am glad they we were able to correct it. I can’t express how disappointed I am to know that the issue you thought was corrected, was not resolved correctly. I have shared your concerns with Patricia at the Front Desk and Lynette in Accounting to ensure that we are helping you to get this issue resolved promptly. Again please accept our sincerest apology for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your time with us. Please understand that what occurred is not the level of service expected of our employees.

We hope that you will consider coming to stay with us again in the future to give us an opportunity to serve you better.

Thank you,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.