We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #107 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The great service started as soon as we drove up. It was very busy, but that didn't stop the doorman from giving us attentive service. Helped park the car to unload luggage. Then parked the car for duration of our stay.
Another doorman brought our bags to our room. They even found storage for our son's bike off the hotel lobby.
Room was spacious for the four of us and very clean. Beds very comfortable. All the staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. Stored our luggage after we checked so we could continue touring w/o our car. Perfect location by French Quarter and Business section. Can walk to most everything.
Will stay there again with out hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    648
    428
    226
    160
See reviews for
270
588
72
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for The Beyonce and Jayz concert!
Everyone was very helpful.
The Bell hops were very nice & funny! We talked about Beyonce the whole weekend lol
Valet guys were very nice!
Great Location to Bourbon Street! (literally 2 steps out the front door)

The Business center wasnt printing tickets off Ticketmaster, i got really worried and went to the front desk, the Manager was able to help me, right along with the other girls at the front desk! They printed my tickets off for me!

Love Love Love this hotel & i will stay here everytime i Visit New Orleans!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My family, friends, and I stayed here on a recent weekend trip to New Orleans. The location is great, the rooms were clean and spacious, and the staff who helped with our baggage was courteous.This, however, was the extent to which our stay was positive. We arrived early (around 2pm) for check-in and was told our room was not ready. The woman working the front desk allowed us to "check-in early" taking our ID's and swiping our credit cards. She told us that our rooms would be ready by 4pm and that all we had to do was come to the front desk and claim our room keys. We clarified this statement with her and she assured us that all we would have to do is claim our keys. We arrived back at the hotel around 415 to find a line winding throughout the lobby (approx. 75 to 100 people) and 2 people working the front desk. There was a convention in town but you would think a hotel in this location that remains full year- round would be prepared for a busy afternoon. We asked a woman working at the front desk if we could obtain our keys and explained our situation. She told us " A lot of other people did that too, so you'll have to wait in line". We were also told there was no priority check-in for my cousin who is a platinum rewards member. We waited in line for about 45 mins before being able to get our room keys. As we approached the desk, the woman working (Jissman I believe was her name), was angrily complaining about something on the phone before slamming it down. She then stared at us until we spoke to her. We had to show our ID's again and she re-swiped our credit cards and when we asked her why we had to do this a second time, she gave us no real good answer. She then put our keys on the desk and pointed to the elevator. No "have a nice stay" or "thank you". She just pointed and said nothing. I have previous experience in the service industry and realize that it can be annoying and frustrating to deal with people all day long, but at least fake it. This mismanagement left a bad taste in our mouths. Luckily we didn't have to deal with anyone at the desk again and were able to enjoy the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello MR62814,

Thank you for the comments. I am sorry that your room was not ready when you arrived and you had a long wait upon your return to obtain the room key. We work very hard to have the rooms available as soon as possible so we can accommodate any early check-in requests, however it can take some time to have the rooms cleaned after the other guests depart especially if they do not vacate the rooms on time. I apologize on behalf of the Astor Crowne Plaza for the behavior of our Front Desk agent as well. That type of behavior is inexcusable and I will pass you complaint onto the Director of Front Office so it can be addressed. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay with us and I apologize again for this experience. I hope that this will not discourage you from visiting our property in the future.

Thank you,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very dirty, bed was sitting on the floor because bed frame broken, swimming pool is the size of a large hot tub, smoke alarm kept chipping finally the maintenance people thought they had it fixed soon as they left it started chirping again. Lobby furniture is worn out and dirty.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Poharrison,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry that the bed was not set up in your room properly. We most certainly would not have checked you into that room knowingly because this is not our hotel standard. I apologize that the smoke detector in your room was not fixed while you were here and it kept chirping. I can understand how frustrating that must have been to hear throughout your stay. You are correct, some of the furniture in the lobby is a bit worn, however we will be having some changes in the near future throughout the hotel, which will include replacing these items. We hope that you will return to our property in the future and see how much we have improved.

Thank you,

Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is my second time to the Crown Plaza. Our first visit was delightful (except for the fire alarm at 3:00 am) so we looked forward to coming back. We have been trying to get our family to join us on our many trips to NOLA, so we had 4 rooms. When we came to check in, the line was about 100 yards long. No one was allowed to check in early, so we had to wait until 4:00. With the many conventions in the hotel, it took over an hour to get our rooms. Very poor planning by management. It seemed like they have never had to deal with this before. Approx 200 people in line, 3 receptionists, no concierge. Also, when coming to NOLA in the summer, spending time by/in the pool in the afternoon is refreshing. The pool at the Crown is TINY,has no bar and is four feet deep. It is basically a place for the smokers to hang out. The staff was pleasant, and the location is good, but there are many better options in the Quarter.

Room Tip: You are on the corner of Canal and Bourbon so expect noise on the lower levels. Try to get high (roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Wagon1,

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that you were not able to check-in early - we try our best to accommodate all guests and their requests to check-in before 4 pm, however we have to allow other guests to check-out and have our Housekeeping staff prepare the rooms for you and this can take some time when we have high occupancy levels. Also, we have a couple of new Front Desk agents which can affect the time it takes to check in, but I am sure you understand what it is like to start a new on a job. Our agents work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are checked in as quick as possible. By the way, our Concierge staff is primarily on property for tourist information and they are an asset of wonderful knowledge of things to do and see in the city. The pool does not have a bar, however you can reach the Room Service Dept. and they would be glad to deliver anything you request up to the pool. I am glad that your stay got better as time passed and I hope that you will come visit us again in the future.

Thank you,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

It was in a good location for the restaurants we were interested in. The only draw back was that our a/c in our room was not as cold as we like and the checking in process was a little tiring because of the traffic trying to get to the valet for parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Check in : long line, slow, unfriendly, was not able to get checked in until 4pm. Lobby was nice, bar and excellent restarant attached. Good system of holding luggage so you can explore till room is ready. Area not my cup of tea, seemed dangerous 7 people were pick pocketed/ mugged from our nj group of 400. We were on a convention. People drinking from fishbowls all day every day, sex shops, peep shows, homeless people, what looked like 18yr old hookers in doorways in bikinis and sometimes just body paint and no bikini. Gross and sad.
Room: room was on 13th floor nice with a view of the river, single cup coffee maker. Bed very comfortable, clean enough. Room service good for the $, tip is included, again food excellent.
Tour desk: Good job organizing but you can really do this on your own and save $. Do your research of tours ahead of time and plan them on your own. We did an airboat tour - great!! and the white oaks plantation tour- great, wish we had time to do both plantation tours, you can if you have a big chunk of time.
Hotel gym good. never crowded(everyone hungover) enough equipment and towels, clean.
hotel pool: small and murky. Was told it is murky because it is salt water. I have a crystal clear pool at home that is salt water, oh well.

Room Tip: up high 13 + and facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments. I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable experience while you were visiting us and you were not able to check-in early. It sounds like you visited the French Quarter and there is quite a bit to take in, I know and I understand that it can be quite overwhelming at times for some. However, this should not reflect negatively on our property. We do have a lot of guests who tend to partake in the fun on Bourbon Street and others choose to visit our other assets like the museums, tours, theatres, etc. Our wonderful Concierge staff would be glad to fill you in on some options the next time you are here in the city. I apologize that your colleagues had an unfortunate incident occur to them while they were in the city and that the pool seemed murky to you while you were here. I will pass your concern onto our Engineering Staff to ensure that they are monitoring the pool cleanliness more closely. We hope that this will not be your lasting impression of the hotel and you will decide to visit us again in the future.

Thank you,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.