We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #107 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Highton, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One Night Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived late after delayed flights and with no hotel booking. We booked an hotel from the airport booth, and although the Crown Plaza was not one of the closest to the airport, all closer hotels were booked out because of the music festival.

We spent only one night here - the hotel itself was great - clean, staff friendly - the actual neighbourhood was a little shabby, but there were building works going on, so it may have just been that that gave me this impression.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    648
    428
    226
    160
See reviews for
270
588
72
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It is a very nice hotel. When you pull up, it is best to valet due to the congestion and lack of parking since it is on Bourbon in the midst of the craziness. I will warn you that valet is pricey, it is $34.00 a day and the actual contract that you sign is pretty bad. There is basically no protection for the car owner BUT so many people use the valet including all the people in our party of 10 and so did we with no problems.

PLEASE NOTE that this hotel is right on Bourbon and Canal so in my opinion, it is not family friendly. We went for a friend's 30th and left our kiddos at home. If you want to be in the middle of all the action, this is the hotel to stay at. I will say that on more than one occasion, we could smell an illegal substance (that can be smoked) in the hallways but not sure where it was coming from or any more details than that. So I cannot stress enough that this is not family friendly.

The hotel room and restroom were clean with plenty of space. The beds are nice and comfy. One of the rooms in our group was a suite and it was really nice to have. There was a couch, small kitchenette with microwave, mini fridge and sink. The bed was in a bedroom with a door so it was nice for privacy if a few wanted to nap while we all chatted in the living area. We all gathered in this room to hang out, etc. due to the available space.

Overall, it was a good experience and met our needs for the trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice hotel right in the middle of everything you want to see and do in New Orleans!!!! Hotel location was within walking distance of almost everything. And only 20 minutes to World Series ball fields.

Room Tip: We had a king bed room on the 3rd floor and it was nice. While exploring New Orleans we saw rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Working with staff to plan a meeting was wonderful experience. While there, anything that you needed was supplied. Attendees were pleased and will definitely consider this property in the future for more meetings and personal travel. Location is great and close to all entertainment.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Convenient location, which is in the heart of the French Quarter and close to the French Market.. The room was economically priced, clean, comfortable and spacious.. Location of our room was quiet. Staff were friendly, courteous, helpful and efficient. Could not have asked for a better hotel to spend our six days. This is high on my list as a recommendation..

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Perfectly located for forays into the French Quarter and all up and down Canal Street, but literally rubbing elbows with drunks and beggars. Carpets and furnishings show their age; asking for a phone to be fixed receives kind promises but no real action. Two of four computers in the Business Center stayed kaput for the half week I was there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings Arimom,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you did not receive the customer service you deserve while you were staying with us. You are correct, we did have some issues with a couple of the computers in our Business Center during your stay. We recently had a technician take a look at them and they are now up and running. Our location on the corner of Canal and Bourbon Street can be fantastic for folks who want to venture out into the Quarter, however it also can turn into a place for people to hangout who aren’t necessarily tourists. Unfortunately, it is out of our control what our guests encounter outside of the hotel, but our Security team works diligently to ensure your safety while you are in the hotel. We hope this does not deter you from returning to our hotel in the future.


Thank you,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with 2 girlfriends for my girls trip before my wedding! Very spacious enough for the 3 of us. 5 months later, I returned to the hotel with my new husband for a weekend trip to see a concert at the Superdome. Once again, we had a spacious, clean room in a hotel that was in the center of everything we needed! Situated right on the corner of Bourbon and Canal, we were easily able to walk to all of the sightseeing locations. We were even able to walk back to the hotel from the Superdome after the concert. The first time we were on the 12th floor, and the second time the 4th floor. At night I heard the same amount of noise coming from the streets below, but I was able to sleep both times. Overall, I enjoyed both stays and would recommend it to anyone visiting the beautiful city of New Orleans!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.