We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #105 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Fort Smith, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed at the hotel because the conference I was attending was there -- I usually stay elsewhere in New Orleans. I was nervous about the hotel being located on Bourbon Street and expected there to be a lot of noise at night. However, the hotel is actually at the far end of Bourbon and away from the majority of the chaos. Sure, I heard some noise but not much. The staff was very friendly and helpful, always ready to offer suggestions. The room was quite large and very comfortable. The conference rooms were freezing, but it made me appreciate the heat when I went outside. It is in a good location, within walking distance of about everything you would want to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    572
    360
    188
    137
See reviews for
228
502
65
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place was awesome!!! We booked last minute hotel! and wow we could have not asked for more, walking distance from the superdome! The bed was soft....the room was nice and clean we stayed on the 12th floor nice view too!......The parking however was crazy, it took 35 minutes to park! but hey it was worth it! Because e never had to move the car again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location front desk staff very helpful although extremely busy loved our room except the lack of a view. Good breakfast and loved the bourbon bar bell staff were the best stored our luggage for the day no cost we will be back for sure

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked this hotel not knowing what it would be like, or where it was located really. Upon our arrival, we were a bit nervous as to noise, but the staff was very honest and told us pretty much what we were in for. Our first two nights were wonderful, but the last three, well , they were a bit nuts. We were on the 10th floor facing the back ally, the party may as well have been in our room. This is however the French Quarter on Bourbon street, So it was to be expected. The staff was amazing at all times during our stay, the front desk staff always happy, the chamber maids were always bubbly and funny and friendly( and the rooms clean!!) the bellmen were always willing to help you find anything you wanted in New Orleans, and the Concierge ( Frederico) was always worth visiting!! Over all, even though the French Quarter is more like Vegas , it was a worth while visit, and the hotel was fabulous ( mostly due to the staff).

Room Tip: Go as high up as you can to avoid noise from Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Visited this hotel Sunday July 20, 2014 to meet up with a long lost relative. To get into the hotel, I had to walk thru quite a crowd - all seemed to be waiting for taxis or valeted cars as it was just past check out time (11:30am). Once inside, the place looked very nice, rather grand, but not too over the top. Called my relative and waited in the lobby for him to come down from his room and meet me. Comfortable chairs and fun people watching. He arrived and we left for a bit to get lunch. Luckily, there is a side door, out onto Bourbon Street so we didn't have to go thru the crowd at the front door on. Canal again. Upon returning, we went to the hotel bar. They have an oyster bar as well as stools at a drink bar and tables for food. Bartender was nice, but didn't know what a hiball is (7&7 basically), guess it's a old name for the drink. But he made it and tasted good along with a couple whiskey sours we ordered (as I said- family reunion - we were drinking old time drinks). Anyway, nice afternoon at the bar, sunny pleasant place. Later we moved to the lobby bar (it was closed earlier in the day) and sat at tables and talked. I did have the occasion to go up to his room and it was nice. He said it was good and seemed to be. Maid was nearby cleaning other rooms about 3pm. View wasn't great, but on the 10th floor, it seemed quiet enough. Beds he said were comfortable. Just before leaving the hotel, we saw a very long line for the desk - not certain if it was check in time or just a large group. But it seemed to move rather quickly. Overall, seemed to be a nice place for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itasca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Probably a great hotel in its prime, but now in need of a major facelift. Outdated rooms, a tiny pool, no perks to make guests feel the luxury that the lobby inspires....My own room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke mixed with chemical cleaners. For the price, you could do much better in NOLA.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to post your comments. I am sorry that our property did not meet your expectations and you felt our rooms were outdated or that you did not receive any "perks". We have a new line of hair and body amenities in the guestrooms and we recently changed the bed linens that includes the beautiful coverlets. Also, we are currently performing preventative maintenance in the guestrooms and around the hotel to address some of your concerns. Your comments and past guests’ comments have been shared with our new management company and they are going to be some changes throughout the hotel that will improve the hotel environment. We hope that you will decide to visit us again in the future and see how we have improved. We are very excited about what is to come.

Thank you,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We reserved our hotel room here on Groupon for a fairly decent discount...and it's a good thing, because I'd never pay their full price. Upon arriving, we had hoped to keep costs down by bringing our own luggage in, parking the car ourselves, etc. We were essentially forced to valet the first day by the bellhop (after we waited for 10-15 minutes for room to even unload the car in front of the hotel).

A tip for if you stay there - the hotel shares a parking garage with the Roosevelt that's a couple of blocks away. You can park there yourself to avoid the valet fees, but apparently it's a new thing and only 2 people on staff are aware of this.

We grabbed a cart to put our things on after unloading the car and a bellhop literally grabbed the cart to stop me while basically yelling, "Whoa, whoa, whoa, I'll take this". I explained that we would be taking our things to our room and was told that that would be fine, but we wouldn't be taking the cart - we'd have to carry our things. Again, we were forced into tipping.

Also of note, we are IHG members and expected to be able to have free wifi as it's advertised for IHG members. However, we were informed that we would not be receiving free wifi, as we booked through Groupon and not IHG/the hotel. This was not noted ANYWHERE when we bought the Groupon or confirmed our reservations with the hotel itself. When my wife called to and talked to a supervisor, we were told that it was taken care of and that we'd get free wifi, but we were never able to get logged in.

Our room was a very nice size (king bed, non-smoking) on the 5th floor overlooking Iberville (our room was basically above Acme Oyster) and had a slight view of Bourbon Street, but the vents had obviously not been dusted in months, and there was a HAND PRINT on the headboard. We also had to replace our room keys twice during our 4 night stay, as our room keys quit working - and no, we didn't keep them next to other cards to de-magnitize them. I literally went through 6 room keys. The noise level was tolerable.

The hotel is also missing a HUGE selling point. We finally decided to use the hotel's balcony on the 2nd floor that overlooks Bourbon Street to do some people watching at night, but you have to go through their ballrooms to get there. It's not well marked (we actually had to ask staff for directions), and we got lucky that a party of some sort had just ended. I doubt we'd have even been able to use the balcony had we arrived earlier. The missed selling point for the balcony is that there are no tables or chairs...it's just a balcony. Why would they not have a minibar and tables/chairs set up? People watching is about the best thing to do on Bourbon if you're not out partying!

Location is literally the only thing that this hotel has going for it. If we make it back to NOLA, we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear KM1221,

Thank you for your comments and for being an IHG Rewards Member. I am very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I apologize that you had room key issues and you were not able to connect to the Wi-Fi in your room. As a guest of the hotel, you have access to the basic level of Wi-Fi, which is free regardless of if you are a rewards member or not. The log in information is given to you upon check-in and the instructions are on a notecard in the guestroom. Again I apologize that you had to wait a few minutes before being able to pull in front of the hotel. Our location on the corner of Canal and Bourbon can be quite busy at times and unfortunately, we do not have a parking lot in the hotel and our parking is handled by Parking Management Company. Guests are welcome to find parking elsewhere and then come to check-in at the hotel, however a majority of our guests like the idea of leaving their car with the Valet so they are free of the hassle of traffic and a huge perk with Valet parking is you have “in and out” privileges. The balcony is a great asset of the hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed it. We do have an awesome bar with the Dickie Brennan’s Restaurant in our lobby and plus our guests are welcome to venture out and then bring their refreshments up onto the balcony for people watching. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the Groupon deal we recently offered and we hope that you will come back to see us again- we truly appreciate our guests and IHG Reward Members.

Sincerely,
Alicia D. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.