We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #102 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I bid on a four star hotel in the French Quarter not knowing what location I was going to get and then was super nervous about it after reading the reviews.

We did not experience any issues with valet or check in. We were allowed to check in at 1pm and my car was out front 5 minutes after I called.

This is a great location on the trolley line or you can walk about a mile to get to Jackson Square. The hotel also has a salt water rooftop pool. It was small but the kids still had a blast!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    532
    321
    170
    122
See reviews for
212
469
60
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed there from 7/12 -17. We didn't chose the venue, it was chosen by the convention committee. THE building itself is architecturally interesting... it ends there. Rooms were acceptably clean but dated. Bed was OK. At least one elevator a day wasn't working which was not really a big deal because there were 5 or 6. Location is good, right on the corner of Canal and Bourbon Streets however also be aware that this means that every drunk on Bourbon Street will probably be walking past the hotel entrance. "Business center" was non existent, 4 stations, 2 of which didn't work during the entire stay, and the 2 that DID work were unable to print anything which was a pain because everyone wanted to print their boarding passes. I had to go to the front desk to have mine printed. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Security was non existent. Friends found a homeless person asleep in front of their door one morning (on the 12th floor), when they complained, the porter commented "it happens once in a while". 2 people that we know of had their pockets picked right in front and in broad daylight. Didn't eat at the restaurant, although I heard it was pretty good. No place for guests to hang out, small lobby and reception area quickly filled up, bar closed at 10 (11 on weekends) so people had to go across the street to buy any beverages. All in all, the entire stay here was disappointing, if we ever return to New Orleans, which is doubtful, we won't be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear VTirelli,

Thank you for taking a moment to post your comments. I am truly sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations and you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am sorry for the inconvenience you had with the Business Center and elevators, consequently during your stay we were performing preventative maintenance on the elevators. It is unfortunate that your friends had a couple of bad experiences while they were on Canal Street. We have Security Officers on premises at all times and strive to keep our guests safe and want you to always feel secure. I am glad that you felt our location was great and our staff were friendly and accomodating. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future if you do ever return to N.O. We would love to have you stay with us again.

Thank you,

Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just spent 5 nights there for a convention. Every employee there was friendly and extremely helpful. Their restaurant is a shade price and has a limited selection but otherwise I had a very good stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The location is GREAT. You will defiantly not need a car when stay here. You are short walks to 50 restaurants and right next to Bourbon St. The Casino and River front are right down the street. The rooms were nice sized and price was not bad for the area. I would stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We went down to front desk to report it and thankfully the front desk agent Teresa immediately changed the room saying we didn't have to stay in a room with mold. The mold was imbedded in the ceiling above the shower covering most of the shower space. I didn't see mold anywhere else in the bathroom. Overall the room was GREAT! CLEAN! MODERN! WITH A NICE VIEW OF BURBOUN AND CANAL STREET FROM THE 13TH FLOOR. Please take care of the MOLD!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Spent four nights in the dirtiest room ever. Beds were four feet high and we could not get into them. Took numerous calls to get room made up...usually about 6:00 PM. Bathroom covered with mold, faucet and grab bar coming off and dirty carpet that had food smashed in it. Maids did not vacuum or know how to make bed.

Room Tip: Check cleanliness of room before accepting. Look for black mold in bathroom and fixtures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to post your comments. I am truly sorry that your experience with us was not a positive one and we failed to meet your expectations on so many levels. I want to apologize on behalf of the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel. I am sorry that you had to contact the Housekeeping Dept. more than once to have your issues resolved. I have forwarded your comments to the Director of Housekeeping so he is aware of your complaint. We are currently performing preventative maintenance in the guestrooms and the Engineering Dept. will be addressing the bars and towel racks issue. We hope that this is not your lasting impression of our hotel and want you to know how much we appreciate our guests. We would love for you to come back and see us again in the future and see how much we have improved the hotel.

Take care,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Waited too long to reserve so this is what we got. Stayed 5 nights WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for the "services". Firstly, we were told to take the elevator to our room on 2nd floor. Walked through a maze to get there and, at 4pm there were PILES of laundry outside nearly every room. This is at 4 pm check in time! Outside our room was a room service tray which wasn't picked up until the next morning. The bellhop arrives w our luggage and tells us of a much easier way to get to and from our room. Why didn't the person at the desk do that? "Cleaning" of our room was a joke. Our ice bucket liner was never replaced, the bathroom was never clean and it was dark and dingy. I would not stay here again. The cost is outrageous for the price!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mary G,

Thank you for taking the time to post you review. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet you expectations and the Housekeeping staff did not service your room consistently. It seems you were staying on the Alexa side of the hotel. This is the historic portion of the building and there are quite a few turns and corners and it may feel like you are in maze. I will share your comments with our Dir. of Housekeeping so he will address the dirty linen issue. I am happy that a Bellman was able to assist you by helping you find your room easier. Again I apologize that our service did not meet your standards. We always hope that our guests leave here feeling like they had a memorable experience and received excellent customer service. We hope that you will decide to visit us again so we can have the opportunity to show you that we can deliver a 4 star hotel experience.

Thank you,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.