We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in French quarters. Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #107 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in French quarters. Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights as a part of business trip. Hotel is very conveniently located in French quarters right on the central Canal street and so you easily walk to charming French quarters district or in opposite direction. All main tourist attractions as well as majority of shops and malls are within walking distance. Hotel itself is separated into 2 parts – Old quarters – which is original old building and also bigger and taller new one. We were lucky enough to stay in old part, originally we were given room with awful view – to inner courtyard w/o any view or let’s say with a view of the window of opposite room in 3 meters. We stayed during ASH meeting 2013 so all hotels in New Orleans were almost fully booked, however as we arrived quite early and not all rooms were occupied yet I did ask front desk and the kindly gave us the room with great Canal street view. Hotel lobby is very nice in classic style, hotel’s restaurant is serving very good quality food (although as majority restaurants in NO) and is well known on the area. Room is on a small side by US standards, however still good enough for 2 people. Bad is comfortable, bathroom is not big but has everything you need. Amenities are standard for the 4 star hotel. Hotel has very nice open pool on the roof of one of the buildings, however the inconvenient thing is that those who stay in old building in order to reach this pool need to come down by elevator to Ground floor, pass whole lobby and take another elevator. We did have breakfasts however they were prepaid ones for Ash meeting guest not a standard hotel breakfast so can’t comment on this. All in all quite nice hotel with very good location, which we liked. However, for my next stay I would probably choose another one as there are so many good hotels in the same area.

Room Tip: Please ask for a room with good view, Beware they have rooms with "no view" and no sun at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    643
    426
    226
    157
See reviews for
269
584
71
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Spent 6 nights here Great location on edge of French Quarter Right on Bourbon Street and Canal Street Hotel is dated but everyone is helpful The male concierge people were very helpful but the lady concierge was not very helpful We asked her about walking to Peligans game and she said it would take an hour We asked the guys and both said no problem About 20 minutes which it was and very walkable Also the young lady was complaining about previous guests issuesI will just say ask the guys Had a few issues with room that were quickly resolved and maid service was great.Would go back if staying in New Orleans but hotel is between 3.5 and 4.0 for North America but cannot beat location.

Room Tip: Stayed in 608 Was away from street No view but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Greetings Tom E.,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. I was sorry to hear that you thought our hotel decor was dated. However, I was very happy that you felt our location was perfect for your time in New Orleans and Federico, our Conceirge was so helpful. I am glad we were able to get your room issue resolved quickly and Housekeeping made sure your stay was pleasant. At the Astor Crowne Plaza, we pride ourselves on giving our guests the best experience possible. We hope that when you return to the U.S. that you visit our city again and stay with us.

Sincerely,
Alicia D. Smith, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Jane, head of housekeeping, and her team are amazing. the rest of the staff sucks. we called down to room service twice and never saw anyone at our door...... however, Jane and her team took care of us as if we were family. I loved the care they showed to all of the guests. the restaurant staff, not affiliated with room service, were also gems in customer service. the rooms were adequate, the bed was amazingly comfy. so half and half score.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello Marie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. I was ecstatic that you thought Jane and the Housekeeping staff were amazing and made you feel at home. I will pass this positive comment on to them for sure! I apologize that the Room Service staff did not meet your expectations. We are striving everyday to ensure our guests have a worry free stay and are working with our staff to strengthen their customer service skills. We hope you will return to the Astor Crowne Plaza soon so we can have another opportunity to show you how we have improved.

Sincerely,
Alicia D. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon Mb.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Spent a week here in mid April. The hotel was reasonable, a bid overpriced. Location is great, on the corner of Canal and Bourbon St. The staff was generally friendly and helpful. All things considered we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello Jim,

Thank you for taking a moment to post your comments about your week long stay with us. I was so happy to hear that you felt our location was great and our staff was friendly. I am glad that you would choose to return to our hotel when you visit New Orleans again. We truly appreciate our loyal guests and this is what helps us to work harder every day to give the guests the best customer service possible.

Sincerely,
Alicia Smith, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morin-heights
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Never come again to this hotel. We pay more to be at the executive floor, they gave us a room without windows. Till this morning they telling us , they trying to find a room. Nobody want to help. The room is very very durty........

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Greetings Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel. First let me say, I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and you felt that the staff did not assist you with your room request. We work hard to accommodate every guest with their desire to have a room with a window and/or a view. We wish all of our rooms had the spectacular view overlooking the French Quarter and the mighty Mississippi River! That would be magnificent!! I hope that when you return to N.O. that you decide to stay at the Astor Crowne Plaza again and give us an opportunity to make your visit the best one ever.

Warm regards,
Alicia D. Smith, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel and the room were fine, but housekeeping wasn't accommodating. We stayed for 5 nights. Each day they came to clean the room about 3 o'clock when we were returning to the room. The day we were to leave, (check out is at 11), they came at 9 am to clean. They never did a thorough cleaning. First day they didn't replace the coffee. They didn't move anything when they cleaned the bathroom. There was a coffee stirrer behind the coffee pot everyday. Didn't expect perfection, but I thought a better job could be done.

Room Tip: Stay off the Bourbon Street side unless you like to listen to loud partying all night.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Greetings Barb,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post your honest comments about your stay. I am so sorry to hear that our Housekeeping staff did not meet your expectations and their timing seemed to conflict with your schedule. I will share your comments with our staff and use this as a learning tool to ensure that this will not happen to future guests. We hope that when you come back to New Orleans, that you give us another chance to show you how we have improved.

Best regards,
Alicia D. Smith, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Grass, Iowa
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Conveniently located on the corner of Canal and Bourbon Streets on the edge of the French Quarter. Our bus tour group (11 couples) arrived at 3:00 PM on Friday for the French Quarter Music Festival. The hotel was not prepared for our arrival... only half of our group received rooms; the rest of us had to wait until rooms were cleaned and ready. When those of us without assigned rooms reported back at the agreed upon time (4PM) to get our room keys, the very impersonal desk staff were overwhelmed trying to handle a very long line of new check-ins and displayed frustration at being interrupted to locate where our room keys were being held. No effort was made by the hotel staff to place members of our group near each other in the hotel. The baggage handlers were surly when we asked about our bags that had been placed in temporary storage pending room assignment. Our room was only "satisfactory" in terms of cleanliness. The amenities provided in the room fell far short of what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. The room decor looked very "tired" and run down (frayed carpet, stains in bathtub grouting, wallpaper peeled in places, noisy A/C fan, etc.). Rooms were fairly soundproof... we heard very little of the street noise from the jazz bands and noisy crowd on Bourbon Street below our 6th floor window.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello Valued Guest,

I appreciate you taking a moment to post your comments about your experience in our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations upon check-in and the Front Desk agent portrayed an unpleasant demeanor while assisting you and your fellow travel group members. We truly want all of our guests to have an outstanding experience and receive the customer service they deserve. I will be sure to discuss your comments with our staff and use this as a learning tool to ensure that we are meeting each and every guest's expectations and are providing the BEST customer service.

Sincerely,
Alicia D. Smith, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.