We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in FQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #111 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location in FQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This property is located in a great spot! Never took transportation other than to get there and go back to the airport. Short weekend trip in New Orleans and this was the perfect place to stay location wise. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was not the best...rooms near the elevator are load... Can hear the wind in the elevator shaft inside the room. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    689
    470
    244
    166
See reviews for
289
639
77
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our room overlooked canal and was noisy all night long. We didn't complain so they didn't have an option to fix it. 3340. Room was nice....slept like a baby. Crystals late at night. A great location. Close to parade route and bourbon street.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Currently stayed at the Astor- New Orleans for Mardi Gras weekend. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was great as parades went by the front entrance to the hotel. Also, within steps of activities on Bourbon Street. Pricing was very reasonable considering the value.

Room Tip: If you are here to see parades, ask for room overlooking Canal Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel needs to shut each floor down, one by one, in order to give each one a good cleaning. Carpets are stained with spills and chewing gum, while the walls are splattered with a bunch of other gross crap...and this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel? HA! More like a 2.5. One of the employees stayed on one of two working computers downstairs to conduct business and check his Facebook for 3 days! Every time we'd leave for the day he'd be there and when we'd come back at night...he'd still be there. He's probably in there right now. In addition to that, I lied down one evening at 10pm when someone knocked at my room door - I got up thinking it had been one of the people I vacationed to New Orleans with but no one was there through the peep hole. I lied back down and I got a phone call. A woman addressed me by my last name and said some men needed to come into my room because there's a plumbing issue next door, I said okay but never opened my door. I called one of my male vacation partners and they went to the front desk and the front desk said they'd never called me. I felt unsafe and annoyed by the entire ordeal.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear AtiyaZB,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the condition of the common areas prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Crown Plaza Hotel (Astor) in New Orleans is top notch. The staff and management were welcoming, courteous and knowledgeable. The ability to experience all that New Orleans had to offer from this clean, comfortable and grand hotel was priceless. The Uptown Parade passes in front of the hotel. This central location allows you to be in easy walking distance to the heart of Bourbon Street and the fine shops and galleries of Royal Street in the French Quarter. If your desire is to see more of New Orleans, the Garden District, Central Business District and Riverfront are easily accessible via the St. Charles and Canal Street Cars directly across the street. Great place to stay!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the French Quarter have a good view of Bourbon Street without the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel is a great location to the French Quarter, and the rooms and lobby areas are very nice. Staff was really helpful during check in etc especially as it busy being so close to Mardi Gras. However, the breakfast was a disgrace for the type/class of hotel. There was a 30-45 minute wait - not due to being full, but due to under staffed! Do they not know how many are staying at the hotel so as to anticipate a crowd? Do they not know it's Mardi Gras?? We ended up ordering from the bar and sitting in the bar area. Now, the food was fine, and the girl behind the bar (alone) was terrific and doing the best she could but appalling from a CP not to have sufficient staff to cater for guests. People we spoke went elsewhere, as did friends of ours. There was a whole section of the restaurant unused due to a lack of planning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Only thing this hotel got going for it is the location. Dirty is my lasting impression of our rooms. The carpet could use a good vacuuming. The fixtures needs a proper scrub down, laced with yucky particles on it. Overall disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Quyen H,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

We sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on the level of cleanliness. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.