We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #116 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel is located on the corner of Canal St and Bourbon Street. Great access to the many restaurants and buzz of Bourbon street.

Hotel was clean with some old world charm. Was given a room on the fourth floor (445) this is the club floor that was quite large and spacious. Definitely would return.

Room Tip: Room 445 is very large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpaul1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff were wonderful, helpful, and friendly. In the morning, you get to meet Pamela Green, who is a delight at the Breakfast Lounge. She was nice, professional, and helpful. The entire staff make sure you have a great time and glad to help with anything. They were especially helpful to what places locally for food and fun. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Right at the corner of Canal and Bourbon which as you might know is a perfect place to be! It is a short walk to anywhere!! We even walked to the basketball game.The staff was very attentive and the gym was a nice plus. The room was wonderfully decorated with exposed brick and had a nice modern look to it.We will stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor facing Canal which meant you could hear people on the street, but we liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy-R-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were staying one night in the quarter for my husband's 40th birthday, just two couples and no kids. The location can't be beat. Right near Bourbon but it's not noisy, and you're on Canal so you're not far from anything. The hotel lobby was busy, the front desk clerk did not say hello or anything. He waved me over and was helping another clerk with something. He took my ID from me and checked me in without saying anything until he gave me the room number and wifi info. That aside everything else was great.
The room had two queens, a nice bonus was the gift of ear plugs and sleep stuff (lotion, room spray and leg balm). The room was clean but the bathtub looked a little beat, I think just because it was showing it's age. Parking was reasonable for a FQ/Canal St hotel. And we got our car in less then 10 minutes, which is the fastest I've seen for any hotel. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: 12th floor was quiet and had a great view from rooms on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bohemian74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FW, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just wanted to give a shout out to Ms. Pamela Green at the Crowne Plaza in New Orleans. She was extremely personable and helpful to all guests. She happily engaged visitors and welcomed them to her city while eagerly chatting with all about theirs. And she was more than happy to accommodate special requests.
Wonderful service like that makes me willing to write a review over 3months after my visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vapoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to see the Bills-Saints game, which turned out to be the same weekend as the Halloween Parade. We can with two other couples who stayed in different hotels. I travel a lot for work and am a Platinum Level in Holiday Inn Group, so I have a lot to compare to.

First, the location is about as good as you can get. The other couples all met at our hotel before going out since it is within walking distance of most of the sites, directly on the bable cab line, but not engulfed in the noise and drunkedness that you come across in some places around there. I was on the 9th floor and didn't hear much noise, except sirens on one night.

Second, the rooms were nice. big, modern, clean. Better than our traveling partners, who stayed at the Holiday Inn Superdome and the others at the Hyatt. Premium members get access to the members lounge, which includes a hot breakfast and a free happy hour (1st alcohol drink free).

Lastly, what makes it so good, is the staff. I can say that the people at this place are nicer and more helpful than in any of the 100's of Hotels I have stayed in in the last 30 years. That is a pretty incredible claim, but it is true. You can't stand in the lobby (or anywhere in the Hotel) for 2 minutes without getting asked if they can help you. Evertone from the managers, bellhops, cleaning staff and cab-callers will engage you in conversation in a warm Southern way. I have seen this before in 5 star expensive hotels, but you can tell that the staff there are extensively trained in it. Here it is (or appears to be) genuine.

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Higher up is better for more buffer from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a convention. The location can not be beat. Right on the corner of Bourbon street. It is at the end of Bourbon street so you are right there but not in the middle of all the noise when it is time to sleep. The street car is right out front so it is easy to get around. Nice location. The room we had had a great view of Bourbon street and we could even see the river but the sink was somehow connected to the adjacent room and our sink seemed to gurgle each time they uses it. This continued even after they "fixed" it. Service was more than good. I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ftrdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Astor. Delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and service. Truly sorry about the sink issue. I am sure that was quite annoying, but I was pleased to read that you would consider returning. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,258 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,077 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#19 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#32 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing