We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #104 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff were wonderful, helpful, and friendly. In the morning, you get to meet Pamela Green, who is a delight at the Breakfast Lounge. She was nice, professional, and helpful. The entire staff make sure you have a great time and glad to help with anything. They were especially helpful to what places locally for food and fun. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    572
    362
    189
    138
See reviews for
230
503
65
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Right at the corner of Canal and Bourbon which as you might know is a perfect place to be! It is a short walk to anywhere!! We even walked to the basketball game.The staff was very attentive and the gym was a nice plus. The room was wonderfully decorated with exposed brick and had a nice modern look to it.We will stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor facing Canal which meant you could hear people on the street, but we liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were staying one night in the quarter for my husband's 40th birthday, just two couples and no kids. The location can't be beat. Right near Bourbon but it's not noisy, and you're on Canal so you're not far from anything. The hotel lobby was busy, the front desk clerk did not say hello or anything. He waved me over and was helping another clerk with something. He took my ID from me and checked me in without saying anything until he gave me the room number and wifi info. That aside everything else was great.
The room had two queens, a nice bonus was the gift of ear plugs and sleep stuff (lotion, room spray and leg balm). The room was clean but the bathtub looked a little beat, I think just because it was showing it's age. Parking was reasonable for a FQ/Canal St hotel. And we got our car in less then 10 minutes, which is the fastest I've seen for any hotel. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: 12th floor was quiet and had a great view from rooms on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FW, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just wanted to give a shout out to Ms. Pamela Green at the Crowne Plaza in New Orleans. She was extremely personable and helpful to all guests. She happily engaged visitors and welcomed them to her city while eagerly chatting with all about theirs. And she was more than happy to accommodate special requests.
Wonderful service like that makes me willing to write a review over 3months after my visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to see the Bills-Saints game, which turned out to be the same weekend as the Halloween Parade. We can with two other couples who stayed in different hotels. I travel a lot for work and am a Platinum Level in Holiday Inn Group, so I have a lot to compare to.

First, the location is about as good as you can get. The other couples all met at our hotel before going out since it is within walking distance of most of the sites, directly on the bable cab line, but not engulfed in the noise and drunkedness that you come across in some places around there. I was on the 9th floor and didn't hear much noise, except sirens on one night.

Second, the rooms were nice. big, modern, clean. Better than our traveling partners, who stayed at the Holiday Inn Superdome and the others at the Hyatt. Premium members get access to the members lounge, which includes a hot breakfast and a free happy hour (1st alcohol drink free).

Lastly, what makes it so good, is the staff. I can say that the people at this place are nicer and more helpful than in any of the 100's of Hotels I have stayed in in the last 30 years. That is a pretty incredible claim, but it is true. You can't stand in the lobby (or anywhere in the Hotel) for 2 minutes without getting asked if they can help you. Evertone from the managers, bellhops, cleaning staff and cab-callers will engage you in conversation in a warm Southern way. I have seen this before in 5 star expensive hotels, but you can tell that the staff there are extensively trained in it. Here it is (or appears to be) genuine.

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Higher up is better for more buffer from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for a convention. The location can not be beat. Right on the corner of Bourbon street. It is at the end of Bourbon street so you are right there but not in the middle of all the noise when it is time to sleep. The street car is right out front so it is easy to get around. Nice location. The room we had had a great view of Bourbon street and we could even see the river but the sink was somehow connected to the adjacent room and our sink seemed to gurgle each time they uses it. This continued even after they "fixed" it. Service was more than good. I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Astor. Delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and service. Truly sorry about the sink issue. I am sure that was quite annoying, but I was pleased to read that you would consider returning. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Checked in around 4pm or tried to. Our room wasn't ready. Front desk said it would be ready in about 10 minutes, so we waited though it was actually about 20 mins before we had our keys. See title... the hotel is old. Shows especially the rooms. The room was freezing. Maintenance came twice and though they were friendly, it didn't fix the AC issue. The bathroom was small but clean. The awesome thing about this hotel is location location location. But everything else, pretty blah. The bar on the first floor was usually understaffed and was hard to get served.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts in this review. I was disappointed to read about your a/c issue, not sure why we were not able to remedy this for you and I wish to apologize for the inconvenience. The hotel is only 12 years old, but it sounds like you may have been in the historic wing of the hotel, the Alexa during your visit. The room decor is the same as the main tower but the overall feel is old world charm in this wing. Some of the rooms are smaller and others quite large. We are truly sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. Delighted to read you enjoyed our location. It is truly one of the best the city has to offer. When your travels return you back to the "Big Easy" we hope you will consider returning to the Astor to give us another opportunity to make you a loyal fan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.