We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #105 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location, great service, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2004

We had a large group visit the French Quarter for Easter and all stayed at the Astor. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Housekeeping was immaculate and friendly (although some of our rooms weren't made until dinnertime.) The hotel is in a great location - within walking distance of everything: bars, restaurants, shops and more bars. A side note: we found a great little bar/restaurant across from Margaritaville called Coops - great food at very reasonable prices and the atmosphere is fun, comfortable. Great experience all around!!!! I highly recommend the Astor - I would stay there again and again...

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    570
    356
    187
    136
See reviews for
225
501
65
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2004

The Crowne Plaza was fabulous. Great location, good price and excellent service! We could not have been happier.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2004

Great location, nice room, suprisingly found the housekeeping to be shoddy for this type of hotel. The parking is a joke as outlined below.
This is compounded by lack of clarity as to to checkout procedure. We ended up paying cash at the garage (no formal receipt was given, informal after direct request). Staff was pleasant. Pool not as nice as Royal Sonesta which has outdoor bar service and better pool and sunning area.If it was close I would go with Royal Sonesta. I would return to this hotel if the rate was ok.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2004

My girlfriend and I stayed for 6 nights over Easter. This hotel has a great location as it relates to Bourbon St, the French Quarter, and easy access to the Riverwalk area. Also, you can catch the streetcar right out front. Only two areas of concern with the hotel. We could not get a carafe for the coffee maker even though we asked at the front desk and called there twice. I think these must get broken and they do not have extras. Also the ice machine apparently leaked and water came into the room under the door. This made the floor near the door wet. We did not make a big deal of these but I'm sure if we complained more they would have moved us. Overall a very nice location and a good hotel for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2004

This was actually a very good deal for us. We booked 3 nights over the weekend for $83 each night. Three of us stayed in the room. It was right around the corner from ACME oysterhouse and we had blast. Right in the French Quarter, we walked daily to the French Market to eat and browse. The rooms were clean and actually fairly quiet. The fitness center could handle an update, especially the treadmills. The day we checked out, they were in the process of changing all the comforters and beddings. Checkout was simple. All in all a good stay for us.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.