We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #87 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice location, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for a convention. The location can not be beat. Right on the corner of Bourbon street. It is at the end of Bourbon street so you are right there but not in the middle of all the noise when it is time to sleep. The street car is right out front so it is easy to get around. Nice location. The room we had had a great view of Bourbon street and we could even see the river but the sink was somehow connected to the adjacent room and our sink seemed to gurgle each time they uses it. This continued even after they "fixed" it. Service was more than good. I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Astor. Delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and service. Truly sorry about the sink issue. I am sure that was quite annoying, but I was pleased to read that you would consider returning. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    438
    233
    133
    92
See reviews for
180
376
49
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Checked in around 4pm or tried to. Our room wasn't ready. Front desk said it would be ready in about 10 minutes, so we waited though it was actually about 20 mins before we had our keys. See title... the hotel is old. Shows especially the rooms. The room was freezing. Maintenance came twice and though they were friendly, it didn't fix the AC issue. The bathroom was small but clean. The awesome thing about this hotel is location location location. But everything else, pretty blah. The bar on the first floor was usually understaffed and was hard to get served.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts in this review. I was disappointed to read about your a/c issue, not sure why we were not able to remedy this for you and I wish to apologize for the inconvenience. The hotel is only 12 years old, but it sounds like you may have been in the historic wing of the hotel, the Alexa during your visit. The room decor is the same as the main tower but the overall feel is old world charm in this wing. Some of the rooms are smaller and others quite large. We are truly sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. Delighted to read you enjoyed our location. It is truly one of the best the city has to offer. When your travels return you back to the "Big Easy" we hope you will consider returning to the Astor to give us another opportunity to make you a loyal fan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The location was great.The bathroom was clean. Beds were comfortable. Now that has been said, the second we walked into the room the humid air and moldy smell smacked us in the face and due to the busy weekend no other rooms were available. The A.C. would not go below 75 and it was so humid in the room with no movement of the air it was not enjoyable at all. The carpet had a big stain on it and you would not even think of going bare foot. No padding in the door jam so when people closed their door it slammed every time all night long in a city that never sleeps!!!!

Room Tip: we were on the 7th floor :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Wow, not what we like to see in a review. Truly sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations and we regret that we have lost you as a potential repeat guest. We thank you for your valued review and comments and rest assured this review will be shared with our management team. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

For location, this hotel is perfect! Staff were nice and helpful. Would recommend they invest in a new cleaning crew and updating the rooms. Went for two nights right before Halloween on business with group of four, all in individual rooms. Three out of four had to request a room change due to the lack of cleanliness. Hair in the bathroom, "stuff" on the carpets, sink looked like had not been touched. Rooms need updating. Drawer in the dresser was broken so badly would not close, rust stains all around and in the tub, worn carpets etc etc. I am not a picky about hotels. I only ask that they be clean. I would not return.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, may end up on the 4th floor. I was not but members in my party were, and were mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apology regarding the cleanliness of your room. This is an issue we do not hear often and truly sorry this had to happen to you and your colleagues. I was pleased to read our team and location met your expectations. We regret we have lost you as a potential loyal fan of the Astor. Thank you again for sharing your comments and rest assured, this review will be shared with our housekeeping management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMHERST
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel was very nice, exceptional service. Room spacious and clean. Would stay again. Ordered room service and ate breakfast in the dining room, both were very good. Location exceptional- right at corner of Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Now, this is the type of review we like to read and are known for! Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding your recent hotel experience here at the Astor. We were thrilled that the hotel's location and team met your expectations. Our team was honored to have you as our guest and we hope to see you back at the Astor the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at this property for a few days the weekend of October 26, 2013. The hotel staff was fantastic, everyone was welcoming, upbeat and very helpful, especially the Concierge person. (unfortunately I did not get her name) She is worth visiting with. She will give you the best recommendations for restaruants, shopping, sightseeing, you name it. Best at her job than anyone at any hotel I ever visited.
I would have given 5 stars if not for the affiliated restaruant, Dickie Brennans, Bourbon House. The staff that works the lounge bar were downright disrespectful. Do not go there for breakfast. The mornig staff is clueless. Very slow even when nobody is there. Poorest service you could imagine and even dirty. Beware of getting a pot of hot water! Filthy!!!
The Hotel should sit Mr Brennan down and have a long talk with with. His affiliation is bringing down the quality of stay for the hotel guests

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. While we were delighted to read that the hotel team met your expectations, however we were disappointed in the Bourbon House's performance. Most guests don't make the connection that the restaurant is a leased operation and any issues that occur are usually pointed at the hotel. So we are grateful that their performance did not impact your opinion of the Astor and we appreciate your 4 star rating. Rest assured your review will be shared with the manager of the Bourbon House. Thank you for your review, your business and your candor. We hope to see you back at the Astor real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It has a nice lobby and love how the restaurant bar opens into the lobby.
The staff was friendly and helpful. My toilet did not flush when we checked in and they came up shortly after calling and fixed it.
My only complaint is that we were given used toiletries. The body lotion was 3/4 gone when I picked it up and she did not replenish it over the course of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
How kind of you to share your thoughts on the Astor. Please accept our apology regarding the body lotion. This is totally unacceptable and sorry this had to occur for you. Rest assured your review will be shared with our team. We hope to see you back at the Astor the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.