We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #104 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
ri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Family Time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The location was great.The bathroom was clean. Beds were comfortable. Now that has been said, the second we walked into the room the humid air and moldy smell smacked us in the face and due to the busy weekend no other rooms were available. The A.C. would not go below 75 and it was so humid in the room with no movement of the air it was not enjoyable at all. The carpet had a big stain on it and you would not even think of going bare foot. No padding in the door jam so when people closed their door it slammed every time all night long in a city that never sleeps!!!!

Room Tip: we were on the 7th floor :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Wow, not what we like to see in a review. Truly sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations and we regret that we have lost you as a potential repeat guest. We thank you for your valued review and comments and rest assured this review will be shared with our management team. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    572
    362
    189
    138
See reviews for
230
503
65
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

For location, this hotel is perfect! Staff were nice and helpful. Would recommend they invest in a new cleaning crew and updating the rooms. Went for two nights right before Halloween on business with group of four, all in individual rooms. Three out of four had to request a room change due to the lack of cleanliness. Hair in the bathroom, "stuff" on the carpets, sink looked like had not been touched. Rooms need updating. Drawer in the dresser was broken so badly would not close, rust stains all around and in the tub, worn carpets etc etc. I am not a picky about hotels. I only ask that they be clean. I would not return.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, may end up on the 4th floor. I was not but members in my party were, and were mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apology regarding the cleanliness of your room. This is an issue we do not hear often and truly sorry this had to happen to you and your colleagues. I was pleased to read our team and location met your expectations. We regret we have lost you as a potential loyal fan of the Astor. Thank you again for sharing your comments and rest assured, this review will be shared with our housekeeping management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMHERST
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel was very nice, exceptional service. Room spacious and clean. Would stay again. Ordered room service and ate breakfast in the dining room, both were very good. Location exceptional- right at corner of Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Now, this is the type of review we like to read and are known for! Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding your recent hotel experience here at the Astor. We were thrilled that the hotel's location and team met your expectations. Our team was honored to have you as our guest and we hope to see you back at the Astor the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at this property for a few days the weekend of October 26, 2013. The hotel staff was fantastic, everyone was welcoming, upbeat and very helpful, especially the Concierge person. (unfortunately I did not get her name) She is worth visiting with. She will give you the best recommendations for restaruants, shopping, sightseeing, you name it. Best at her job than anyone at any hotel I ever visited.
I would have given 5 stars if not for the affiliated restaruant, Dickie Brennans, Bourbon House. The staff that works the lounge bar were downright disrespectful. Do not go there for breakfast. The mornig staff is clueless. Very slow even when nobody is there. Poorest service you could imagine and even dirty. Beware of getting a pot of hot water! Filthy!!!
The Hotel should sit Mr Brennan down and have a long talk with with. His affiliation is bringing down the quality of stay for the hotel guests

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. While we were delighted to read that the hotel team met your expectations, however we were disappointed in the Bourbon House's performance. Most guests don't make the connection that the restaurant is a leased operation and any issues that occur are usually pointed at the hotel. So we are grateful that their performance did not impact your opinion of the Astor and we appreciate your 4 star rating. Rest assured your review will be shared with the manager of the Bourbon House. Thank you for your review, your business and your candor. We hope to see you back at the Astor real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It has a nice lobby and love how the restaurant bar opens into the lobby.
The staff was friendly and helpful. My toilet did not flush when we checked in and they came up shortly after calling and fixed it.
My only complaint is that we were given used toiletries. The body lotion was 3/4 gone when I picked it up and she did not replenish it over the course of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
How kind of you to share your thoughts on the Astor. Please accept our apology regarding the body lotion. This is totally unacceptable and sorry this had to occur for you. Rest assured your review will be shared with our team. We hope to see you back at the Astor the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The most important characteristic of this hotel is their location.
Otherwise, the service was respectful and professional but nothing outstanding.
The room was clean and spacious, very comfortable.
The window was nicely sealed so the room was quiet.
Location is the main appealing.
Reserve in advance!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review even though we are a bit confused. Your comments on the hotel are respectable, but yet you titled your review "Average Hotel". We are truly sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. I think a return visit is order so we can change your perspective from average to outstanding...give us a try...I promise you won't be disappointed! Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a great classic hotel! Bourbon street was a zoo (as usual), and the hotel provided earplugs in the room.....so I was worried that noise might be an issue. It wasn't! the room was extremely comfortable, with maybe the tallest (highest) bed I've ever been in. If you're "vertically challenged", bring your skyhook (;-). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at the desk. If you like the Peabody in Memphis, you'll like this house a LOT. Location was not good for my trip, but that was due to a co-worker who thought I would enjoy the nightlife on Bourbon. If I had been on vacation, location would have been excellent.

Room Tip: there are two towers. the original hotel structure is the basis of the short tower, complete with e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
How wonderful of you to take the time to share your thoughts on our home! We were delighted to read that the hotel met your expectations. Just so you know the ear plugs are a Crowne Plaza standard and a part of the Brand's Sleep Advantage amenities. We hope you will return to the Astor the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans. Thank you for your review and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.