We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understand where you are staying location location location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Chesapeake
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Understand where you are staying location location location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Ok first of all expect to have excellent service provided by folks really trying to do their job so as long as your request are not unreasonable you should enjoy this hotel. Plan to stay here if you like to party but if you want to sleep be prepared for loud people on the streets I mean serious bass pumping out of cars so loud your ear plugs given at check in won't help. Then the trash truck comes in at about 4 to 5 and crashing bottles of the late night party slam into the truck. That is not the hotel employee's fault. The next day you are right in the middle of everything you want see and do but prepare to pay for those tours. No wait I said you are right in the middle of everything. We walked everywhere and got to see everything we wanted to see by foot. The trolly is 3 bucks so if you don't want to walk you are right there. Three days in the FQ and Bourbon ST can get old unless you head out on foot in the day time and walk to the super-dome the cemetery and all the good places to eat. Remember that the room service late night is good at the hotel and pretty well priced but they add gratuity to the bill. The pool was closed once but it has a great view of Bourbon St. The room itself was clean and the staff were good to us. The front door needed a screw and the plate kept getting stuck. I called to get it fixed waited for about an hour and then took a screw from light switch and fixed it myself. Checked it two days later and they had come and replaced the screw. Sounds trivial but if I needed to get in late night from Bourbon Street creeping then I could get in safe. So If you can roll with the punches of a big city hotel then this is the place for you. Again staff were nice internet was none to almost sometime but they took a day or two off my bill because I had to call for tech service. So just be prepared folks at the hotel are trying to make it comfortable for your stay. Again we got to do everything but see ninth ward and we hit that with cab ride when we went to airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review of your recent visit to NOLA and the Astor. We really do try our best to provide the best in Southern Hospitality and I was pleased to read that your experience with our team epitoized this hospitality. Truly sorry about the street noises. Just so you know, we just went live with an all new internet service that will improve our bandwith 4 fold. So this will not be an issue on your next visit and we hope you will return. Thank you for your patronage, understanding and the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    517
    306
    163
    118
See reviews for
209
456
60
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked this hotel through Priceline for the same price as the Comfort Inn we were going to stay in on the outskirts of town. The room was fine, a little small and no refrigerator, but overall good. The service was great, and while the parking was a little high, it was worth it to us to be in the city and not have to drive in each day. We enjoyed the Bourbon House for dinner, and the location can't be beat. The hotel has a convenient door on Bourbon Street across from the Redfish Grill, which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Astor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and location. We hope to see you back at the Astor the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I hope this helps the consumer from making a huge mistake. My husband and I stayed at the Astor-New Orleans in October 2012 and it was wonderful, So when it was time for yearly visit the Astor was our first choice. Upon arrival July 18 2013 we were instantly disappointed as soon as we walked in the HOT, UNPLEASANT SMELLING ROOM. I called the front desk and was told that someone would come up and check the room A/C and smell. My husband and I went out only to return a couple of hours later to the same smell and NO AIR. The Front desk was called 3 times before someone came up to check the A/C and we were told that it was fixed only to find out thru out the night that the A/C would only come on when I got up and moved around the room (MOTION DETECTED). In the morning the A/C was taken apart and repaired. The Smell never went away. The next problem was the hair dyer didn't work, the desk was called and it took 5 calls before a hair dyer was delivered to the room. The final mistake was we requested a 4AM wake up for a 6AM flight and we never received the call. (Take Goodness for Cell Phone Alarms).Final word of advice is this, the room that we were in was dirty and not worth the money that we spent on it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Wow, not what we like to read and truly sorry for all the challenges that occurred for you. We value our repeat customers and to know that we have now lost you is most upsetting. I will send you an email off line here because I would like to speak with you further regarding you visit. On behalf of our entire team we wish to express our sincere apology for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I, a single friend and two other couples traveled to N.O. for the 4th of July weekend. This was the first time for all of us.

Their website pictures of the hotel are true to what you'll see. I found the staff very friendly and accomodating. When you exit from the side of the hotel, you're stepping onto Bourbon Street. However, the hotel is located towards the beginning of Bourbon Street and not in the smack middle. I find that this was the best of both worlds. We can step into the action but retrieve when we were done and not have the loud action disturb us. In the front of the hotel, across the street, there is a CVS in case you need to purchase those type of items. Without crossing the street, you have several places to grab a bite. We also walked to Harrah's and visited their casino.

The rooms were standard. We stayed in a double queen bed room. We don't normally stay in the room except for sleeping and showering and we're out and about. Therefore, the room served its purpose. I felt it was good and comfortable. The bed & the pillows were a little hard but ok overall. Truth is we were so tired from all the walking that we slept like babies. I didn't visit the pool nor the exercise room so I can't review that.

Overall, I was happy with my stay and would stay here again. I would also recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
How kind of you to take the time to share your New Orleans Experience with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to the city as well as the Astor. True our location is one of the best in the city, we appreciate your comment in this regard. Thank you for your patronage as well as any future referrals. We hope to have you back as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Nothing wrong with the overall experience its the little things that I didn't like and or expect like not being able to park at the hotel instead it went to a garage 5 blocks away at 30 dollars a day it ads up and paying for Wi-Fi access it should of been included for free

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please know we value your comments. We hope that you will consider returning and if you do...please know that if you become a member of IHG Rewards, then your internet will be free at any Crowne Plaza. This is a new perk offered by all Crowne Plazas effective 7/1/13. The Astor does charge for parking as do all of the downtown hotels. We are sorry you were not aware of parking fees in New Orleans. Hope to see you back at the Astor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pandem
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed in July and had a great time in the French quarter! Astor crowne plazas was super clean and in an ideal location right on canal and bourbon streets. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Basic room was very large and really clean. Only downfall was no in room fridge but ice was right across the hall. If we return this is the place we'll stay for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
How nice of you to share your thoughts on our hotel and team. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I was especially pleased to read that you will be returning! Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you back at the Astor real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Have stayed quite a few nights in this hotel. The staff is highly professional and the hotel is 4-Star quality. Valet parking only but the staff working the cars are outstanding. Facing Canal Street but backing up to the Quarter you have everything you need within a short walk. Even casino is only 5-7 minute walk. Rooms are small but that is common in quarter. Very high quality linens. Redfish Grill directly across street.

Room Tip: Go high if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Wow...thank you for confirming on our 4-Diamond designation...we are quite proud of our AAA rating! We agree, our location is unsurpassed and delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and our great location. Thank you for the nice review and we hope to see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.