We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #103 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Second stay was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This was the 2nd time my friends and I stayed at this hotel during the Essence Music festival. Again, it did not disappoint. This time we decided to splurge on a suite. It was very spacious! Also, we like the fact the hotel is right by Bourbon Street. The hustle and bustle that seems to go on all night into the wee hours of the morning did not bother us. Not to mention, the ladies in the lounge were very nice and friendly. I would definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the nice review and for being a loyal customer of our hotel. We were honored to have you as our guest once again and we were pleased to read that we met your expectations on your second visit as well. We appreciate your business and wish to thank you for any future referrals you may offer on our behalf. Hope to see you next year but hopefully sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    538
    328
    172
    123
See reviews for
214
475
60
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SIMSBURY, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are thinking of going to New Orleans you need to stay at this hotel. We stayed four nights during our ten day vacation starting in Michigan and ending in New Orleans. Each time we were greeted by a hotel team member it was as if we had just knocked on their own home front door as a long time friend. Our room was always clean, great view of Canal Street, and comfortable bed. Easy walking to areas of the city, to catch the trolley cars outside the front doors and walk to dinner. The best view from the balcony down Bourbon Street.
You are in the middle of everything! Our breakfast in the morning was very nice and our food fresh. Same with the cocktail hour. We were always greeted by a cheerful Miss Green in the morning. You would think you had just walked into our Grandma's house after being away. From Eric, a bellman, to Melissa at the front desk, Lynn in Conference Planning, Dwight in banquets, Rhonda who was helping to cover the breakfast area and the young lady in housekeeping who wished us a great day each day we just appreciated each and every one of them. There are so many people who took care of us with their smiles. Mr. Ambros, as the General Manager, guides the hotel with his gift. Everyone works together to keep the hotel beautiful and taking care of each guest. Don't be surprised if your run into Mr. Ambros in a hallway, the breakfast area or at the front door. If you are coming to NOLA look no further. This is the only place in town we will stay.

Mark and Kathy

Room Tip: We enjoyed looking out at Canal Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
WOW....THANK YOU for the fantastic review. We could not ask for anything more from a review than yours. How kind of you to mention individual staff members that made your stay special. Because of your mention of them by name in your review, they will each receive an incentive...except Mr Ambros(LOL). I was touched by your special review and wish to thank you making my day. We hope to see you back in NOLA real soon and please know...our home is your home and Grandma is waiting for you to come back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with a prime location, efficient and friendly staff, and ate willin to pay a little extra this is the hotel for you. The location could not be better as it is within walking distance of fabulous restaurants, historic sites, an other famous NOLA venues. The staff are very accommodating and go above and beyond to fulfill customer needs. Additionally, the hotel was extremely clean!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
How nice of you! Thank you for the wonderful review! We agree our location is unsurpassed and delighted to read that it worked perfectly for your NOLA visit. We do strive for service excellence and wish to thank you for acknowledging our efforts. Hope to see you back at the Astor real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Service personal very friendly and helpful. Valet parking is required unless you want to unload your luggage on the street and then go park you vehicle. Valets very helpful with unloading prior to taking your vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Short and sweet and to the point...thank you for the nice review and your time in the same regard. I was delighted to read that our staff met your expectations. Please come back and see us the next time New Orleans is on your travel agenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time at this hotel and I was impressed. The location can be wonderful or very bad. It's on the corner of Canal and Bourbon St. This has to be the busiest streets in New Orleans. So getting dropped off there meant, the van parking down the street to let us out. Check in was okay (since we were crew). 2 of our rooms were near the elevator and ice machine. So we heard the drunk people coming in all night.
The room was nice and the bed was wonderful. The provided you with this calming system. I showered and rubbed my feet and face with it and sprayed my pillow within minutes I was asleep.
Walgreens and Cvs are across the street. The casino is a few blocks away and of course the food was good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Astor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza's Refresh Program...our new amenities are a great asset after a long day to relax, unwind and have a restful night's sleep. Thank you again for the nice review...please come back and see us real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza over the 4th of July weekend. It was a spur of the moment trip and we were lucky enough to get a room at this hotel. It is located on the corner of Bourbon and Canal Street and within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. Parking was about 2 1/2 blocks away, but they did offer a shuttle. We had our bikes with us, so we did not need the shuttle services.

Even though the hotel was packed because of the Essence Music Festival, the staff always took their time to answer questions and requests. The staff was under great pressure because of the massive amounts of people there, but they always made me feel as if I was the only one in line.

Room was clean and well-appointed. I was a bit concerned when we first walked in and there were ear plugs on the bed! But, noise was never an issue.

It was a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for spending your 4th of July weekend with us. Essence is a crazy time frame, but we love it! I was please to read that our team was always there for you and that you found our location a great one.The ear plugs are a Crowne Plaza standard and are a part of our sleep amenities. Thanks again for the nice review and please come back and see us the next time NOLA is your radar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our anniversary. We booked through Expedia. I was very happy with our choice. The location was great. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The gym and the roof top pool was great. Our king size bed was very comfortable. We had such a great trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Happy Belated Anniversary! We were honored that you had selected the Astor to be your host for such a special event. I was pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations regarding service, amenities and our location. Thank you for your review and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.