We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the Astor during an AANS Conference. I cannot begin to say enough great things about my stay. The facilities were spotless and staff was just the best bunch of folks EVER!! I ate at the restaurant in the hotel and the food and ambience were both excellent. I had room service three time while I was there and the delivery was prompt, the food HOT and the flowers on the tray were a nice touch. USA Today is delivered to your door each morning. (complimentary) Their "Sleep Advantage Kits", again complimentary are another thoughtful touch. The ladies in the Business Area on the second floor are so helpful and really happy. Everyone seems to enjoy their jobs here and believe me that's contagious. A VERY SPECIAL THANK YOU to Derrick at the front door. He made sure this gal from CT felt safe and protected when I stood outside at night. I am only sorry that I didn't have the chance to say goodbye as he was off the night before I left. Please tell him I'm sorry he didn't get his Saint"s first pick in the Draft. Another thanks to Larry the bartender and Arnold at the door for their kindnesses. At this Astor you are truly made to feel like family. Can't wait to go back to visit my new "friends".

Room Tip: I was in Room 613 and only heard any noise one night and wherever it was coming from it very soft on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    527
    494
    294
    160
    112
See reviews for
205
441
55
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

There were eight of us on a bachelorette weekend and only one of us had been to New Orleans before. She knew this hotel, said it would be the perfect spot for us to stay and she was right. Christine Morris did our group booking and took care of so many details for us that it made us feel like VIP's before we even arrived.
The French Quarter can be a crazy place and with the hotel being a stone's throw from all of it, it struck all of us that as soon as you step in the elegant lobby, you are transported away from the party scene and into a warm and inviting hotel. The rooms and windows are soundproofed very well so you don't have to worry about getting to sleep whenever it is that you stray in from Bourbon Street.
The staff was lovely and I will happily stay there again on any future trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The service was amazing mostly in the reception by Dana and Candice. The hotel rooms are very clean and the service at the 4th floor in the morning and evening was really good. Nice place to stay for work or fun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Astor. A special thanks for mentioning some of our finest associates, Dana and Candice. They will be tickled by your mention and they will also receive a little incentive from the hotel because you named them in your review. We were delighted to read that we met your expectations and hope to see you back at the Astor real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Busy hotel with a welcoming and professional staff. The bellmen were a little over aggressive when guests arrived in cabs. My bag which I could have handled myself was practically taken from my hands. The popular restaurant in the hotel was very good but overpriced. The hotel has a central location so many clubs and restaurants are within walking distance. Had a higher level floor so noise was not an issue. Glad the pool was saltwater. Also nice fitness area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! I apologize if our bellmen were aggressive. Sometimes they are too passionate about what they do. Thank you also for your comments regarding our services and amenities. We hope you will return to the Astor the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearland, texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great location! We first requested a room in the historical wing, when we saw it, it was incredibly tiny! We asked to be moved to the modern wing, and they were extremely nice about it and accommodating. The rooms in the modern section are very nice and larger. The staff is extremely nice and very friendly. Great customer service. The concierge club was nice and the food was good. Will definitely stay again when in New Orleans!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor of the modern wing and it was very quiet with a view of Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Now that is what we like to read in our reviews. We are always pleased to read when our team and hotel has met our guests' expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

this hotel is centrally located in the French quarter, walking distance to the riverfront, trolleys busses shopping for anything you might need or for gifts to buy. the staff was great, our porter was derrick and he was the highlight of this hotel, FRIENDLY, KNOWLEDGEABLE, COURTEOUS, and HELPFUL. everyone we met in this city is friendly. the room was large enough for 3 ladies with a lot of luggage. if you don't like sun light waking you then you will be delighted, great blackout drapes. the beds were a little high for us but we managed to get to bed okay. the bathroom was a good size with ample counter space, the closet was large and there was a lot of drawer space. there is a restaurant but we were out sightseeing so much we didn't use it.

Room Tip: don't get a room on the front facing the main street if you don't noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Pleased to read that you enjoyed our superb location. While we are a little bias, we too, think our location is one of the best the city has to offer. We were delighted to learn that you found our rooms spacious and appealing. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments and for mentioning Derrick as well. We hope to see you back at the Astor real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

It's funny how some of the reviews don't match, but this is my experience and I travel A LOT, both for work and for pleasure. The Hotel is really nice and well kept, our room was new, the king size bed was absolutely clean, comfortable, spectacular! The bathroom was clean, new and nice but definitely not at the standard of what this hotel should have. But we must keep into consideration that this is not a new constructions and walls cannot be easily tore down for the new tastes. We went during a very busy week and the hotel was sold out. I had asked for a quiet room and despite rowdy guest and the Streets below, we were given the perfet corner spot! When, downside, we came back at 5.30 pm to prepare for a night out, our room wasn't made. Alas! We were given free lounge access even if the maid (very quickly summoned) would have taken 20 minutes or so to be done. We ended up staying a bit longer in the lounge, that has astonishing views of the area, meeting nice people, having good snacks and drinks (not the best wine selection but hey!). We really couldn't complain, with the mess there was (kids, teenagers, drunk people at breakfast!), they couldn't have helped us any better!

Room Tip: It really depends on how you are: if you are loud and don't care about anyone else but yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Sometimes we are also puzzled by some of the reviews we get, but some guests' expectations are a bit lofty, however we try our best to make all of our guests feel comfortable and welcomed. We apologize about the delayed service regarding your room, but it sounds like the Executive Club access eased the inconvenience. Please know we appreciate your business and thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts on Team Astor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.