We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com IHG
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #87 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

this hotel is centrally located in the French quarter, walking distance to the riverfront, trolleys busses shopping for anything you might need or for gifts to buy. the staff was great, our porter was derrick and he was the highlight of this hotel, FRIENDLY, KNOWLEDGEABLE, COURTEOUS, and HELPFUL. everyone we met in this city is friendly. the room was large enough for 3 ladies with a lot of luggage. if you don't like sun light waking you then you will be delighted, great blackout drapes. the beds were a little high for us but we managed to get to bed okay. the bathroom was a good size with ample counter space, the closet was large and there was a lot of drawer space. there is a restaurant but we were out sightseeing so much we didn't use it.

Room Tip: don't get a room on the front facing the main street if you don't noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Pleased to read that you enjoyed our superb location. While we are a little bias, we too, think our location is one of the best the city has to offer. We were delighted to learn that you found our rooms spacious and appealing. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments and for mentioning Derrick as well. We hope to see you back at the Astor real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    441
    233
    133
    94
See reviews for
180
380
50
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

It's funny how some of the reviews don't match, but this is my experience and I travel A LOT, both for work and for pleasure. The Hotel is really nice and well kept, our room was new, the king size bed was absolutely clean, comfortable, spectacular! The bathroom was clean, new and nice but definitely not at the standard of what this hotel should have. But we must keep into consideration that this is not a new constructions and walls cannot be easily tore down for the new tastes. We went during a very busy week and the hotel was sold out. I had asked for a quiet room and despite rowdy guest and the Streets below, we were given the perfet corner spot! When, downside, we came back at 5.30 pm to prepare for a night out, our room wasn't made. Alas! We were given free lounge access even if the maid (very quickly summoned) would have taken 20 minutes or so to be done. We ended up staying a bit longer in the lounge, that has astonishing views of the area, meeting nice people, having good snacks and drinks (not the best wine selection but hey!). We really couldn't complain, with the mess there was (kids, teenagers, drunk people at breakfast!), they couldn't have helped us any better!

Room Tip: It really depends on how you are: if you are loud and don't care about anyone else but yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Sometimes we are also puzzled by some of the reviews we get, but some guests' expectations are a bit lofty, however we try our best to make all of our guests feel comfortable and welcomed. We apologize about the delayed service regarding your room, but it sounds like the Executive Club access eased the inconvenience. Please know we appreciate your business and thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts on Team Astor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very clean hotel with very helpful valet parking staff and bell men. There are two sections of the hotel -- the newer side and the "historic" side. Both sides have clean, well-decorated rooms, but we found the rooms on the historic side to be smaller. In each room, the hotel offers shampoo, conditioner, nice hand lotion and ear plugs. We found our room to be quiet and had no problems with noise. There was also a coffeemaker and flatscreen tv. The beds are a little high as a previous reviewer noted, but very comfortable. Front desk recommended nearby Ruby Slipper Cafe on Magazine and Canal St for a delicious breakfast. This hotel is at Bourbon Street and Canal, so its very convenient to walk into the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Well, that's what we like to read! Thank you for your review and detailed comments regarding our guest accommodations. A special thanks from our valet team. This team works so hard in dealing with a parking situation that is quite difficult during high demands. We apprecite your comments and your patronage. Please come back and see us the next time your travels bring you to the "Big Easy"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the Astor Crowne Plaza on a group trip for 3 nights. The French Quarter location at Canal and Bourbon is fantastic, and I don't remember any extra noise or anything. My room was on the 9th floor. On the whole, we had a good stay.

The room was a good size and pretty clean. The bathroom is a nice size, although a 2nd sink would've been nice. The beds are very high off the ground, and I'm only 5'2". I almost needed a stepstool to get up there! The beds also are very firm. Luckily I was pretty tired each night, so I slept well, but the beds are not what I would call comfortable. The hotel isn't huge, so it was easy to get around.

Now for the things that make what could be a pretty awesome hotel, just mediocre:

Check-in was a little confusing, because our rooms were being paid for as a group. The front desk staff was a little slow and confused in getting it all set up. The next day, our group leader went back down and straightened it all out, but I would think a French Quarter hotel in New Orleans would not be encountering this type of arrangement for the first time.

THERE IS NO COFFEE SHOP IN THE HOTEL. How a hotel in NOLA, in the quarter with a lot of drunk and hungover people can get by with no coffee shop or even a small kiosk, is astounding. Our group was made to traipse all over for coffee and breakfast that did not require a sit down meal. That is ridiculous. There isn't even a gift shop where you can get a candy bar. You have to walk across the street to CVS.

The gym is ok. There were no elliptical machines that worked both arms and legs. There were plenty of treadmills, but the only ellipticals worked only legs. That was disappointing. Also, I worked out in the middle of the afternoon and was the only one in there. While I was exercising, a hotel employee came in and had a loud personal conversation in Spanish on his cell phone for about 10-15 minutes. I think it's rude that a hotel employee would consider the gym to be his personal office. I get that he might not be allowed personal calls on work time and that sometimes you need to take a call regardless, but it's not good customer service to do it in view/earshot of guests. I think some employee training is in order on that one.

Some of the bellman were inept at calling cabs. On a rainy day, we almost were late for an appointment because the bellman couldn't figure out how to call a cab. On all the other days we were fine with that. Also, retrieving a car from the valet can take 30 minutes.

Otherwise, if you're looking for affordable and in the French Quarter, this is your hotel. Just be aware that it is not what I consider to be full service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you taking the time to share in detail your thoughts on our hotel. Truly sorry we did not met your expectations in some of our services. Rest assured your comments will be shared with our management team. Please know your comments are valued and will assist in our journey for service excellence. We hope when you return to New Orleans that you will once again stay with Team Astor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a pretty nice hotel. It tries to be a luxury hotel but the facilities are a bit worn. My big advice is to get the right room. My room overlooked Bourbon Street and that was a big mistake. The noise goes on all night long on Bourbon. I would ask for a room on the interior of the hotel, that would be much better. This hotel just needs a little facelift, especially the rooms. Hotel staff are very nice. Beds are comfy, rooms are spacious. Not bad for the right price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the Astor. I was a little disappointed regarding your comments that we were a bit worn. I truly believe our rooms are very well maintained, now our lobby furnishings are a bit tired, HOWEVER, we have new lobby furniture on the way and it should be in place by the end of May. Truly sorry to read that, Bourbon Street impacted your quality of sleep and apologize for this challenge. Next time, please let your hotel know about any challenges you may have...we always want to make things right to ensure your comfort and your intent to return. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at the Astor on your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had booked the Hotel Monteleone, but was deferred to the Crowne Plaza due to a power outage. I thought the Crowne Plaza was very nice and was ultimately not disappointed by the change in my travel plans. The location is excellent, right on the corner of Canal & Bourbon Street. The noise from Bourbon Street may be an issue from some of the rooms, but we were on the Canal Street side and it did not bother us. The room was nice (we had a standard room with a king bed) very roomy and the bathroom was good size as well. The air conditioner worked great and my only complaint about the room was that the bed was a little more firm than I like. My husband and I spent two nights at the Crowne Plaza before moving to the Monteleone. If I hadn't already paid for the reservations at the Monteleone I wouldn't have changed hotels as the Crowne Plaza was very nice and convenient. Overall a good experience and the staff were very nice.

Room Tip: If concerned about the noise, try requesting a room away from Bourbon street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Wow, now that is what we like to see in our reviews. Unfortunate for the Monteleone, but delighted they referred you to us. I was pleased to read that we were able to meet your expectations. Now you have two choices when New Orleans is on your agenda, of course I am a little biased, but would be honored for a return visit to the Astor. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location is fantastic (Bourbon and Canal Streets), so you can access all of the fun parts of the city very easily. Unfortunately, the location is by far the best quality of this hotel.

1. The bathroom is very cramped and unimpressive looking.
2. The bed is awfully uncomfortable; it is almost like sleeping on a block. All of our friends agreed that this was the case as well.
3. The room was drab and outdated, in addition to being small.

If you are looking to spend 0 time in your room, and you don't care about comfort, this will work, especially if you want to be in the middle of everything. If you want some luxury, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Ouch...not what we like to see in a review. We are disappointed that the Astor did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your comments and the time you took to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.