We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel in a Top Notch Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #107 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hotel in a Top Notch Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Being the first time to visit New Orleans we did not know what to expect. We were more than pleased with the Crowne Plaza. It is located in the heart fo the French Quarter at the corner of Canal and Bourbon Streets.

The Valet service (especially Jonathan) and Bell Hop service (thank you Eric) were efficient, friendly and very welcoming. I had read that the $31.60/day valet service was pricey, but when I researched parking on our own in such a crowded area, I found that we would pay $20+/day and not have the liberty of retreiving our car whenever we wanted for the same price. So having the professionals and the security was well worth the extra $10/day.

The accomodations were superb. From the cleanliness, decor, hot water and water pressure to the excellent staff we could not have been happier. The concierge gentleman was very informative and we enjoyed our chat with him.

The restaurants and lounges in the hotel were great. However, just outside is Bourbon Street so you have plenty of food, entertainment and shopping at your finger tips.

On the second floor there are conference rooms, but also a great balcony overlooking Bourbon Street where you can enjoy looking out over the nightlife and nightlights as you listen to the impromptu Jazz music that seems to appear in the evening at the corner of Canal and Bourbon.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We requested a room away from the the night music and could not have had a better sleep on the fabul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Wow, reviews just don't get any better than yours....THANK YOU! Delighted to read that our team exceeded your expectations and a special thanks regarding the pricing of our valet parking. Jonathan and Eric will be tickled by your mention of them in this review and because of your mention, they will each receive a little incentive from the General Manger. We were honored in your selection of the Astor for your first trip to New Orleans and pleased to read that you would definitely return....another great compliment. We thank you for the marvelous review, your patronage and your future loyalty to the Astor. Please come back and see us real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    623
    413
    220
    151
See reviews for
255
564
69
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Weber, Utah
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Paul Kernen is the best concierge we've ever encountered. He is knowledgeable, thorough, and extremely helpful. Without his efforts, our trip wouldn’t have been nearly as enjoyable. Don't make any plans for tours in and around New Orleans without first talking with Paul.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding Paul, our Concierge. He truly is knowledgable about the city and all that New Orleans has to offer. Paul is one of our greatest assets here at the Astor and he will be pleased to know that you were delighted with his suggestions and service. We hope to see you back at the Astor real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Brought my husband to New Orleans for his 40th birthday. Searched the travel sites for the best location and I am very pleased with my choice. This hotel has 2 towers. The smaller (more quant) tower to the right of the check in desk is where we stayed the first two nights. The room was cozy and quiet. Our room in this side of the hotel did not get internet reception so we chose to move rooms which they gladly assisted in. We moved to the Canal Tower 13th floor and have been very pleased with the move. Our room is in the cornor and has two windows that look out to Canal street. Very pretty at night. We have had no problem with our internet connection. The bed is comfortable though the hotel does not have feather pillows. The location is great with Bourbon street right out our side door and a CVS across the street. Plenty to do witin a 5 minute walk. Very happy with our stay. The staff has been very helpful including the Marketing director Dan! Would recommend this hotel as a good place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We were delighted to read that our team had met your expectations. Sorry to hear about the internet connection in the Alexa Wing, but pleased to hear you were open to a move where the service was improved. We agree with you regarding the location....it truly is unsurpassed and as you wrote, our location puts you within a 5 minute walk to most of the major attractions. Hope your husband had a great birthday celebration and we would love to see you back for your birthday as well...but hopefully sooner! Thank you again for the nice review and for mentioning me as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have to say that we had a GREAT time here! I was traveling for a family wedding. The hotel was very busy of course since it was the weekend. I had no problems at all during my stay. Traffic on canal street was slow due to construction, but the staff really made up for it when we arrived! Everyone was so nice, especially the bellman and front desk. Ms. Kennedy was truly helpful when we asked for restaurants in the area. Dana at night was great with directions and Eric at the door was very friendly. I will definitely stay there again!!!!

Room Tip: I loved the historic side of the hotel. Rooms were very quiet and had lots of charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the "GREAT REVIEW"! We love to hear when our associates make for a special experience for our guests. It is truly what we strive for everyday at the Astor. Melisa, Dana and Eric will be tickled by your mention in the review....thank you for highlighting their service. Also, I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the Alexa Wing, I agree, it is truly unique and indictive of Old World Charm. Most importantly, we are honored that you would stay here again on your next trip to New Orleans...Now that's a compliment! Thanks again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Sitting in our second room, moved to the Canal tower. Spent 2 nights in a room in the older part of the hotel first. We had to call 3 times to request a sheet change (dirty area when we arrived) called immediatly after check in then at 7:00 and again at 9:30. Finally came up and changed the bed. Couldnt get wireless internet to connect at all. The front desk lady was very nice in helping us with the issue and ultimately decided it might be best for us to move rooms. New room is on 13th floor and we have ants roaming on the bathroom floor. Odd this high up and luckily that doesnt fresk my husband or myself out. This bed seems better than the older part. The location is great! Would be the reason I would book here again. Can walk to CVS acrosd the street, foot massage place next door. Side door out to Bourbon Street and steps from all those bars. Easy 5 minute walk to Casino! Good experience so far, 3 more nights here too. More noise in this tower but we are facing Canal in a cornor room. 2 windows.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel during your stay. It gave me an opportunity to touch base with you and extend our apologies in a timely manner. We have had the exterminator address your room and again thank you for letting us know. While I did not get the opportunity to meet you personally during your visit, however it was really great that we could speak via the phone while you were still our guests. Thank you for your follow up voice mail. It was great to hear that you and the husband enjoyed the Bourbon House and the remainder of your stay. We hope to see you back at the Astor real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Astor the week of Memorial Day for a conference that was being held at the hotel. I found the Hotel Staff to be very accommodating. This was my first trip to New Orleans and I was on a mission to find the best bowl of gumbo. The staffers gave me the names of a few eateries off the radar that were astounding. My room was on the 8th floor facing Canal Street. It did get noisy at times but I am a city boy so it did not bother me very much. I found the water pressure and quality to be less than desirable. . Rooms were well maintained and the beds were comfortable. The location was key, just a few steps from Bourbon Street

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. I especially liked the title of your review, "Provided comfort a long way from home"...now that is what the hotel business is all about. Delighted that we met your expectations on your maiden voyage to New Orleans! So when are you coming back for round two! Again, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel was in an excellent location. We could walk to one end of Bourbon and make out way back to our hotel at the end of the night stopping at all of the bars on the way back. It was also close to other areas like the French Market and Frenchmen St. The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable. The Hotel staff was pleasant and were very fast when my friend called for a toothbrush in the middle of the night. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Well the title of your review was a first for us! Thank you for the nice review and kind comments on our team. We agree, our location is unsurpassed and we are delighted that you feel the same. Pleased to hear that you will be retuning and we hope to see you back at the Astor real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.