We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally ok, but with some niggles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Generally ok, but with some niggles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We found this hotel to be generally of a good standard. The room was well appointed and the lobby was impressive.The location was excellent, all of the staff we dealt with were polite and attentive and lobby was impressive. The attached bar and restaurant looked pleasant enough although we didn't eat there. We had breakfast in our room which was decent by the standard of hotel breakfasts. It wasn't perfect though. $9.95 per 24 hours for in room Internet access is a baffling rip-off. Even more so when you consider that means $9.95 per device. At this price you'd expect super fast, reliable access, but it simply didn't work and we ended up having to traipse down to the lobby to connect there. The charge itself is unacceptable, especially when other hotels we stayed in on our trip, both large and small, provided complimentary Internet access. And at the rate the Astor charges it would seem petty of them to demand a fee for what has become a standard feature of modern hotels. If you're lucky, you might be able to leech off the Holiday Inn's WiFi, provided free of charge to its guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. Yes, the hotel does charge for in-room internet service as do many hotel chains including the Crowne Plaza Brand. There is a fee for the convenience of in-room service, but as you mentioned the hotel offers free internet in the lobby and in the business center. Now if your connection was a bad one then there should have been a refund issued...not sure if you brought this to the hotel's attention. If you had, I am confident a refund would have been offered. We do not wish to charge any guest for a service that was not up to their expectations. I wish to apologize for the challenge regarding the internet. It does sound like you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back at the Astor on your next trip to New Orleans. Thank you for your valued comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    516
    306
    163
    117
See reviews for
209
456
59
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ville Platte, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently stayed here and we were a total of eight women on a girl's getaway. We loved the location of the hotel and we were treated just like family from the bell captain, Eric Brack and Pamela Green, who works very hard in the hospitality room. These two people stand out and are very friendly and tried very hard to make us feel welcomed. I will stay here anytime I am in New Orleans. This kind of treatment is hard to find these days!! Mr. Ambrose was also very nice and he works in the hospitality room also!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
"Treated like family", now this is a comment we love to hear. We do value our guests and our goal is to make you feel at home and we obviously accomplished this with your visit. A special thanks for your mention of both Pam and Eric. They are two of our finest and they will be pleased to hear of your mention in this review. They actually receive a little incentive if there name is mentioned....so on their behalf....thank you again. We appreciate your patronage and your time regarding this review. We hope to see you back in our home real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel right at the start of Bourbon Street. The rooms were comfortable & nicely furnished. Even had eye masks & ear plugs in the room but they weren't necessary. Really nice surprise if you are a platinum member of Priority Club with complementary drinks & snacks in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Only hiccup was with the Valet. When we checked out & left (on a Saturday) it took a while to get our car. No big deal since we were just going home, but make sure to plan for enough time to get your car if you're driving out somewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. Glad to read you enjoyed our upgrade to the Executive Level. I do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced regarding our valet service. Rest assured you comments will be shared with the parking company that handles our valet. We hope to see you back at the Astor real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked this hotel the day my cruise returned to the Port of NOLA. It was rather busy in town due to a large convention and the Saints/Chiefs game. The location was great...we walked all over the French Quarter from our hotel. When we wanted to venture off beyond that, we used our car. Despite the minor repair work being done on the hotel from the aftermath from Hurricane Isaac, we had a pleasant stay. My only reason for not rating this higher is the valet parking area. I found myself jockeying for a position with other guests and taxi cabs. Once I found a spot, the valet attendant and bell men were great! The rates were a little higher than usual because of the events in town, but I'd stay here again, especially because of the location, the corner of Bourbon & Canal streets.
The hotel is well appointed with a nice restaurant and bar as well as several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us as your post cruise hotel. Delighted you enjoyed your visit and we do apologize for the delay regarding your arrival to the hotel. The weekends can be a bit challenging for our drive-in guests due to our location at the Gateway to the French Quarter. While our location is the best in town however our location can present challenges for our parking valet team due to the congestion on Canal Street and Bourbon. Delighted to hear you will consider a return visit to the Astor and thank you for your time regarding this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I'm always sorry to be negative, especially about a hotel such as the Astor Crowne Plaza which has some good points -- such as its central location at the entrance to the French Quarter and its beautiful and ornate lobby -- and also some good people, at both staff and management levels, making valiant efforts to make it better. Unfortunately, the main way we got to meet these good people was in the process of trying to resolve the problems that plagued our brief stay here.

The first problem was at check-in. The young woman at the reception desk was intelligent and articulate, but she seemed to think she was cut out for better things than working at a reception desk. She began by ignoring us while she placed a phone call, then repeatedly spoke to us as though we were not very bright and had a nerve to be taking up her time. We later had the opportunity to deal with several other reception desk and front office staff, most of whom were OK and a couple of whom were very helpful, but first impressions are hard to forget.

Another big problem with the Astor is the rooms. The carpets and furniture look as though they were not of very high quality even when new, and at this point they desperately need replacing. There are unpleasant smells in some of the rooms, perhaps because they have been converted from smoking to non-smoking rooms or maybe just because the carpets and other surfaces have not been cleaned properly over the years. And the table lamps have built-in plugs for computers, phone chargers, etc., which is a great feature, but about half of the plugs we tried to use did not work.

The street noise on the Bourbon Street side of the hotel was worse by orders of magnitude than anything we have encountered at any other hotel. There's a street-corner band, with lots of horns but also quite heavy on percussion, that plays just outside the hotel windows from five p.m. to ten p.m. most nights; the one night during out stay that this band did not show up, it was replaced by a couple of guys playing rap music on a loudspeaker system. They were louder and far more unpleasant than the band, and they played until almost 11 p.m.

And the problems did not end there. The wireless internet connections kept going on and off, making it very difficult to work on email or other online projects. There don’t seem to be any service elevators, so most trips from high floors to the lobby were interrupted by hotel staff getting on at 7 and off at 6, often with carts full of cleaning supplies and/or dirty laundry. And one of my colleagues found a large cockroach in her room.

To make matters worse, the discount rate we had at the Astor was about $200, almost twice the rate we’ve been able to get at far better New Orleans hotels such as the Hilton Riverside, the Hyatt French Quarter, and the spectacular Westin. I strongly recommend staying at one of these other hotels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the highest floor possible, and away from Bourbon Street, to avoid the very lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Wow, not the way we like it to go for our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges that occurred during your stay. While there is little that we can do regarding the noise from Bourbon Street, however the room issues certainly could have been avoided and again we regret the issues you had. Thank you for your review and for sharing your valuable comments. We shall be addressing these concerns with our management team. Please know the experience you had is not indictive of the Astor and we hope you will give us another opportunity the next time your plans include New Orleans. I am confident, if given another opportunity...your next visit will be a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I am a Platinum Priority Club Rewards Member and used points for our 2 night stay. We were upgraded to a Club King room and our daughter slept on a rollaway bed. We had arrived on a Saturday night and the noise from Bourbon St didn't affect our sleep. The room next to us was full of women celebrating a bachelorette night. Whilst we did hear them on and off tilll 2am, it didn't worry us. The breakfast in the Executive Lounge was tasty and plentiful. The hotel couldn’t be in a better location and they were still cleaning up from Issac.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Please know we appreciate your comments and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your patronage and loyalty to our brand by being a Platinum PC Member. Hope to see you back at the Astor real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Three of us stayed here for three nights. The hotel was really nice, rooms were clean, beds were great and because we were on a high floor the noise from bourbon street was not too loud. The ear plugs on the bed were a nice touch. All the Bellmen, and the concierge were very nice and helpful. The only fault I could find was the ladies at the front desk were not the least bit friendly. This was not just in person, I called the front desk once before we arrived and was greeted the same way on the phone. At such a nice hotel you would think that the first people you usually have contact with would have some people skills. Even with that said I would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking bourbon street is great. Less noise, but you can still see some of the action...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. Disappointing to hear your comments on our front desk team...thank you for bringing this to our attention. Rest assured your comments will be shared with our Front Office Manager. I was delighted to read that you would consider a return to the Astor. We value our repeat customers and we hope you will make the Astor your home when ever New Orleans is on your agenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.