We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good balance of value, location and amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #105 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Galveston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good balance of value, location and amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

As a frequent visitor to NOLA, this is one of several places we've stayed. However, this is the one the gets most of our repeat business. As others have mentioned, the location is ideal for the typical holiday traveler who wants to walk around the French Quarter. This is a full service hotel with a nice bar, adjacent restaurant, business and exercise amenities, etc. Rooms are what you would expect in a very good hotel. Beds are comfortable and the rooms modern and clean.

A nice touch: the staff provides ear plugs. See, you have to be realistic if you visit stay in the French Quarter. Regardless of where you stay, you run the risk of having immature/drunk/loud guests in the next room. Not the hotel's fault; just the way it is. The hotel does try hard to keep guests happy and problems at a minimum.

Remember, free parking is unheard of at hotels in this area. There are a few B&Bs that offer that, if that's essential for you. This hotel uses an off-site surface lot, serviced by a contracted valet service. We've never had a problem with it, and the prices are in line with what one would expect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the halls are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
What a nice review....thank you! We were delighted to hear that you are one of our repeat guests. Being a repeat, loyal customer is the biggest compliment you can give our hotel. You are the perfect guest. You obviously appreciate our grand location and know that noise from Bourbon St can be an issue at times and what's really cool...you also appreciate our valet challenge with off premise parking...when can you come back...LOL! We thank you for your understanding, your wonderful review and especially your past patronage. We hope to see you back soon at the Gateway to the French Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    567
    356
    187
    136
See reviews for
224
499
65
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Augustine Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Hotel was in the perfect location on the corner of Canal and
Bourbon St. in New Orleans. Rooms were spacious, clean and we had a great view down Bourbon St. and of the River. This hotel is right on the corner of Bourbon St and can be loud and smelly once outside the doors, but inside it is very nice. The pool is small with no bar / food service. Overall, a nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thanks for the review and yes, we agree the hotel's location is one of the best. We are delighted to hear we met your expectations and we hope to see you back in New Orleans real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We visited New Orleans to attend the NCAA ' Sweet 16' basketball games. Let me say that the location of this hotel is the best. Located at the corner of Canal and Bourbon Street, it offers instant access to the French Quarter and all the fun and uniqueness it has to offer. We enjoyed the proximity to the Quarter and to the Central Business District. We were able to walk to the Arena for the games, (about a 20 minute walk), since the cab ride there was $20 --no, it is not that far, they charged a special events fee.

Lobby was very pretty and very clean. The marble floors had a very nice shine to them.

Our room was located on the Bourbon Street side of the hotel. I have seen some complaints about the noise but neither my husband and I, nor our friends, found this to be a problem. Also, the hotel is located right across the street from a drugstore, and a McDonald's is close by. (Tthe horrible service and attitude of the staff at McDonald's is a whole other review.) There are also a lot of souvenir shops, restaurants and other stores nearby. Ladies, there is a Nine West Outlet store across the street and I must say that the prices were not too bad.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. In my experience they understand that tourism is their bread and butter and they acted accordingly. Not at anytime was any staff member rude or unwilling to help us. The staff even suggested the best way to get around New Orleans and where to go. One of the waiters in the restaurant told us the best places to visit and hang out (He actually offered to go with us, but we did not take up that invite).

Room was clean and functional. It suited our needs very well. Room service ordered once, and it was delivered in a timely manner.

I can say that for the price, this was a wonderful hotel choice. If you like the Ritz, it's down the street and you can visit the lobby.

Downside, not all the rooms had flat screen tv's as advertised. I didn't care, since we didn't watch a lot of tv in the room, but if you advertise the feature, you should deliver it.

The hotel bar is very small, and the drink a bit pricey, but they don't stint on the liquor, and being on the corner of Bourbon Street, going elsewhere to get drinks was easy (and I didn't go to any restaurant/bar where anyone was light on the liquor, like many tourist areas).

Hotel restaurant had decent food, service a bit slow, but once we got seated and waited on, things improved greatly from there.

Lastly, didn't valet, so can't rate that, but whenever we needed a cab for four, the staff was quick to get us one.

I would recommend this hotel, not the height of luxury, but certainly at least 31/2 stars,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for the detailed review. You obviously touched most of the hotel's services. Delighted to hear you found them acceptable and friendly. The Astor is the most centrally located hotel in the city and as you experienced. I have to agree with you on the Mc Donald's comment...absolutely the worst! Any expereince there, really helps me to appreciate and be proud of our team. Sorry to hear about the lack of a flat screen TV in your room. We completed the project in March and we are now in the middle of replacing all of the guest room bedding. Again, than you for taking the time to share your expereince of the Astor. We were quite proud to read that you will be recommending the Astor to other travelers. We hope to see you back in New Orleans and especially the Astor real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Was booked at this Hotel for a business trip adoring the days before Easter. It is located at the corner if Canal and Bourbon streets right in the middle of all of the action. The valet parking was. A little tricky, since one has to pull up in from of the hotel on busy Bourbon street and parallel park. Check in was okay, and the rooms were adequate, albeit a little outdated. There was a pack of lavender and a sleep mask provided, ostensible to help one sleep, although I was so exhausted at the end of the days to need them.
As for the clientele, well, it's on Bourbon street, so expect to converse with drunk individuals in the elevator. I did not feel unsafe however, just amused.
It is very convenient to the French quarter for shopping and whatever else one might want to do in NOLA.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on the hotel. I was a little surprised to read that you found the room a little out-dated seeing us the hotel was freshly renovated. Certainly glad to hear you enjoyed the location and you are correct the Astor is "Right in the middle of all the action". Hope to see back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

This hotel is on the corner of Canal Street and Bourbon Street [faces Canal Street]. Though Bourbon Street is on the corner, the hotel is not directly near the partying and loud noise so as to not be kid friendly. However, with regards to adults, it is a close enough walk to the happenings, restaurants and such on Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. The street cars are just across the street. McDonald's, IHOP CVS Pharmacy and other stores are all in close walking distance. The hotel is very clean, well kept, orderly and has very nice decor. The staff is proffesional and efficient. I felt very safe there. It's an excellent value and well worth the nightly rates.

Room Tip: Noise isn't an issue. Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for the great review. Yes, the location of the Astor is truly unsurpassed in the city. We were delighted to hear that enjoyed the hotel and the city. Best of all you will be coming back soon. Thank you for your continued confidence and patronage of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed at the Astor for a girl's weekend get away. The hotel is in the perfect location. Both entrances led to different parts of the French Quarter. Which was nice because we could avoid Bourbon Street if we wanted to avoid the crowds. Our room was on the 9th floor on the Bourbon Street side and we had no problems with noise. The concierge was very helpful with places to eat and things to do. We were able to check in very quickly and check out quickly. I read the previous reviews and we were concerned with the valet parking being slow but we called ahead and only had to wait a few minutes for our car when we left on Sunday. The pool was very nice and we had no problem getting some chairs even though it was a little crowded. The hotel is beautiful. Our room was clean, house keeping was very nice and we had no trouble getting extra towels. I would definately stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for selecting the Astor for your recent "girl's weekend"! We were honored you and your lady friends opted for the Astor for this special occasion. Always delighted to hear when we have met our guests' expectations. Thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts on the Astor. We hope you and your friends will be returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend 2011 (5/25-5/29). Down for a wedding with friends. Booked on bookit.com and got a great rate. Hotel is in the PERFECT location. On the corner of Canal and Bourbon, you are right in the heart of the action. Decatur is like 2 blocks away, so a quick stroll into the French Quarter. Streetcar stop is also only 1 block away, so you can get to Tulane/Uptown area also very quickly and comfortably and the casino is a quick 5-10 minute walk. We were on the 12th and 13th floors and literally heard nothing, so not sure what other people's noise complaints were about, but maybe because we were on a higher up floor. The earplugs, lavender spray and eye mask on the bed everyday was a nice touch though. Hotel was very quiet, very clean (and trust me when I say that - I am picky about cleanliness) and all of the employees were friendly and helpful. Pool was kind of small, but it is on the rooftop, which is really neat. Parking is super expensive everywhere in NOLA. Don't bother bringing a car, just bring some good walking shoes, a streetcar map and be prepared to hail a taxi once in awhile. The restaurant downstairs has great food and the 24 hour room service is definitely a plus when you are rolling in late from Bourbon Street. Would definitely stay here again the next time we are in NOLA.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor (there are 14)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
We agree, our location is "PERFECT" as you put it....thanks for recognizing that....and you are right....why bring a car. The Astor puts you right in the middle of all that is New Orleans! A special thanks for your comments regarding our rooms and our team...your review makes me quite proud! Most importantly...you will be returning which is the best compliment you can give a hotel. We appreciate your time in writing a review on the hotel. Hope to see you back in New Orleans and the Astor real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.