We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives you the feel of New Orleans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Richelieu in the French Quarter to your Saves list
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Gives you the feel of New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

It gives you the feel of New Orleans without the noise of Bourbon St. Its in a great spot for driving/parking which allows you to walk though out the quarters. (Parking at the hotel is $20/night) The staff was friendly and the rooms can get very cold which feels great after walking. Its an older hotel but has lots of character. Its located on the street that all of the ghost tours bring their tours. There are several "haunted" places nearby and you can listen for free as you slowly walk back to your hotel room. They have room service and a café at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    324
    90
    34
    13
See reviews for
103
405
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, NJ
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is a renovated condo building, which explains why there is a medium-sized working refrigerator and stove (not connected) behind a sliding door.
King-sized bed was ample and firm yet comfortable. Small TV but clear picture. Room was cleaned very well daily. There is small pool with chairs and towels available. Owner of hotel was laying out by the pool one afternoon. Restaurant serves breakfast from 7 am to 2 pm. No dinner. Reception was a bit sketchy at check in but I think the personnel were new hires. Very friendly people are around - security, housemaids, maintenance, etc. Halls of hotel are filled with tasteful art.
Reception got us a taxi at 4 am to airport without delay. Hotel does have a parking lot for those that come by automobile. It is located about 5 blocks from Jackson Square and one block away from Decatur. You can easily walk to Frenchmen Street as well as to Bourbon St.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 116. Right outside the door of this unit is a doorway out to the pool and parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The staff are great, nothing was a problem. Location is excellent, in the French Quarter nice walk to Bouborn Street and just around the corner from Frenchmans road. Great to have a swim after a long hot day. Must go to the French Markets (if you love oysters) and visit "J's Seafood Dock" most amazing oysters, my favourite were the Char Grilled, around $20 a dozen. Right next door is the "Organic Banana" best Mango Daquaries for $7. We went everyday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was such a great find they have my NOLA business forever. Every single staff person was super helpful and efficient, the price was terrific, the room was HUGE, the food was cheap and delicious, the bar was quaint and the pool was perfect. Private, gated, affordable parking was a plus. The hotel is in the French Quarter but not in a loud, bustling area. All that is only a 2-block walk though, without keeping you up all night. Even the nice security guard proved to be a dead-on restaurant finder. He was 2 for 2 with us. If you want a sleek chain, you might not love this hotel. If you want a big, comfy room at a fair price with excellent service, this is your place.

Room Tip: Go for the King Suite, it's well worth the extra price for the room and the fridge for all the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were very satisfied with this hotel. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful throughout our visit. We researched the hotel prior to staying so we knew it was going to be small and somewhat "dated" in certain areas, but that it really part of its charm. In talking with some of the wait staff and bartenders, we learned that many of the employees had been there 20+ years. Being small business owners ourselves, we found this to be a sign of a great owner who understood how to take care of good employees. We will most certainly stay here again...we felt safe and it was the perfect walking distance to many other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A 5 min. walk to the center of the Quarter. A laundromat 2 blocks away. Trolley tracks 1 block away and a good restaurant around the corner. The staff is friendly, helpful, and efficient. Sure it is older but so is the Quarter. There is a small but clean pool area with a good bar and place to eat adjoining. Secured parking, Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, clean rooms. You can find more modern hotels with larger bathrooms in New Orleans but you will not experience the French Quarter to the extent you will here. If you want shiny and new this is not your place. If you are willing to step back a bit this place will have you pleasantly surprised. We'll worth a look!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I was a walk-in customer and the staff was great!! This was my first time in New Orleans and they were very helpful on where to go and what to do. The pool was warm and relaxing after a long walk. The rooms were nice and clean, but the WIFI didn't work so well from our room. Will definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Address: 1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Richelieu in the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.