We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Richelieu in the French Quarter to your Saves list
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Bredene, Belgium
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worn out and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We made our reservations based on location, but became suspicious when it was irrevocable.
We expected a 4 or 5 star property, but it hardly merits 2 stars.
The staff was correct but far from the southern hospitality one could expect.
The location is very nice and in the French quarter, but this is were the good part ends.
The musty odour and the outdated decor soon starts to irritate when you feel you have been had.
The wifi is not secure, so access to https sites is not possible.
We did not have breakfast there as we just wanted to leave as soon as we could, and we will never be back. Tourist trap to stay away from.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    313
    87
    34
    13
See reviews for
98
388
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We drive from Iowa and since we have a car, need a hotel with a parking lot. The ambience of Le Rich is quiet, the staff are wonderful and the hotel itself has that N.O. flavor. I just wish they had coffee makers in the rooms. You can request one but I am not sure if you have to pay for it. We take our own now. The suites are large. We've been staying at Le Rich since 2003, with a few years in between at The Prince Conti to be closer to Bourbon. With us now being over 50 years of age, Le Rich is perfect for me and my husband because we now spend most of our time in the area around Le Rich and only hit Bourbon a couple times mostly to visit Johnny White's Hole in the Wall bar.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and stayed there for a 34th anniversary trip. This is a wonder hotel, with lots of charm, great location, and wonderful staff. First the staff. Everyone from the folks at the front desk to the maid service were very friendly and full of good advice. For example, when we told the bartender that we loved the food in NOLA and want to cook it when we got home the bartender went to the lobby to get us a magazine of NOLA cookbook and another staff person who was there gave me a list of "must have" spices.

Now for the location. The hotel is a five to ten minute walk to every thing in the French Quarter, and only a couple blocks from Frenchman Street - the best place to hear jazz.

Finally, a couple things about the hotel. Fantastic. Nice beds, great furnishing, free WiFi, a swimming pool, a cozy bar, and a wonderful restaurant. You have to spend time in the bar. The bartenders make you feel like family and are very interesting people. Also, don't forget the restaurant - we only ate there once for breakfast, but what a great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I found the Richelieu when we were hoping to stay on the quiet side of the Quarter. We were not disappointed and have come back many times. A little old and quirky, but the staff are wonderful, the breakfast is good enough the locals come to enjoy it, and the balconies off of the rooms are fabulous!

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor balcony room. But be aware there can be some street noise; like carriages cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay in the French Quarter! Rooms are clean the front end staff is very helpful. One pitfall don't order the breakfast WAY over priced and not that great; good at best. But overall worth it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a very nice time . We really enjoyed the room and the staff was very friendly. We liked having the option of being able to walk everywhere. Hope to go back one day. Loved having a balcony. Would love to checkout the suite. The price was fantastic. Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Really liked this place. We got it on a travel deal coming from Toronto and were a little afraid...but it was great. A fantastic location...right near the French Market. The rooms had character...thin walls but still...excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. You really can't beat the location! I'd go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Address: 1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Richelieu in the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.