We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Le Richelieu in the French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
1 Cocktail Per Person
Ranked #43 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I agree with other reviewers re: the place not being 5* but it's still a super place to stay, nice clean spacious rooms, very helpful staff. The location is super, everything you want to see is in walking distance. Don't miss out on an evening of super music at the nearby spotted cat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    284
    84
    33
    12
See reviews for
84
355
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went here for my 60th birthday. We did not realize it was the beginning of Mardi gras but that meant we saw some opening parades. We got the honeymoon package and champagne awaited us on our arrival. The suites are huge with balconies and in walking distance of everything in the quarter.the staff is super friendly. The hotel is old elegance with a place at the front desk where you turn in your room key(just like in old movies!) the bar was small and fun. Breakfasts were light but with all the great eating that may have been a good thing. Check this place out. It was great fun.

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location for the Creole Tomato and the Zydeco festivals could not be beat. Parking was a bit of a challenge. I know the management knows that it is time to spend money on repairs, refurbishment and improved up dates. Many, many things need work/updating badly. It could be a charming place if it showed some very much needed TLC.
The bright spot was breakfast in the pool area. Fresh, fast, taste and very reasonable.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room. Wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for a long weekend for our annual mother/daughter trip. Overall, solid QUIET hotel (we stayed in the back on the 2nd floor):

The Good:
-As noted above, quiet. We didn't have a balcony but were spared the sounds of drunken, late-night revelers. Because of this location, it also seemed safe.

-Comfortable and spacious: Big room--almost felt like a suite with plenty of room to stretch out in the living room and kitchen areas. Also appreciated the full size fridge for leftovers and water.

-Clean: As I will note below, the hotel needs some updating but despite that, our room was very clean.

-Location: On the edge of the French Quarter---close enough to be a short walk away from the fun but far enough away to be quiet.

The Not So Good:
-Per above, the hotel needs some updating. It's not trendy or chic and travelers who are used to swanky, lush hotels will not find this at Le Richelieu

-The rooms are very cold: We called the front desk to turn down the AC and was told that its impossible to turn it down in each room because its controlled by the front desk for all the whole hotel.

Overall, I'd come back to Le Richelieu. Seems to capture the feel of NOLA well--like so many other things in the Big Easy, it shines despite the fact that it's a little bit older and could use some TLC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, NH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were in New orleans for a wedding and stayed at this hotel. It was a really great experience. The rooms were pleasant and we had a roomy suite. The pool area was very comforable to hang out with friends in the afternoon to refresh before the evening adventures. I would definitly stay at this hotel again and recommend it to friends. Not the friends who are looking for a 5 star experience- but the more adventurous ones that want to avoid the plain vanilla chains and want good value and location.

Room Tip: Our suite was overlooking the pool and was very nice. Our daughters room was facing onto the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at Le Richelieu while traveling to New Orleans on business, and cannot wait to come back for another visit when I have more time to explore. The hotel is lovely. My room had a wrap-around balcony and the location is such that sitting on the balcony in the evenings is enjoyable -- even though the hotel is located in the French Quarter, it is slightly off of the main drag on a quieter and calmer street. The hotel staff was always kind and helpful, the rooms were clean, and the location is just absolutely perfect if you are the type of person who likes to wander around the city on foot. Easy walk to the French Market, Cafe du Monde, etc. Amazing deal for the price -- I wouldn't say anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have visited New Orleans 20+ times and have always loved places like this one. We stayed here for a long weekend down in New Orleans. This hotel really is in a great location, you are a few blocks from the French Market, you are a few blocks from Bourbon St (if that's your thing, I am kind of over it), and more importantly you are just a few block from Frenchman St which is where I find myself more and more these days. Now this is not the W or the Loew's out on Canal St. The decor and the rooms are slightly dated but they are classic New Orleans that is what's appealing to me. I don't understand the criticism that it's old, I mean come on you are getting a room for about $140.00 a night for a room with a king size bed in the French Quarter in New Orleans, that's a great deal. The staff was great and was helpful when we needed them to be, there is almost always a few cabs hanging outside of the hotel. We met some friends there that drove and the parking situation at the hotel was great and you even got an opener for the gate. I can tell you that the next time we visit New Orleans, this is the place we will stay and check out Harry's Corner down the block, great little bar.

Room Tip: Get the room with the king bed, we had a walk in closet with a little refrigerator which was great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Address: 1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 85 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Richelieu in the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.