We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Le Richelieu in the French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
1 Cocktail Per Person
Ranked #44 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Comfort and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for a long weekend for our annual mother/daughter trip. Overall, solid QUIET hotel (we stayed in the back on the 2nd floor):

The Good:
-As noted above, quiet. We didn't have a balcony but were spared the sounds of drunken, late-night revelers. Because of this location, it also seemed safe.

-Comfortable and spacious: Big room--almost felt like a suite with plenty of room to stretch out in the living room and kitchen areas. Also appreciated the full size fridge for leftovers and water.

-Clean: As I will note below, the hotel needs some updating but despite that, our room was very clean.

-Location: On the edge of the French Quarter---close enough to be a short walk away from the fun but far enough away to be quiet.

The Not So Good:
-Per above, the hotel needs some updating. It's not trendy or chic and travelers who are used to swanky, lush hotels will not find this at Le Richelieu

-The rooms are very cold: We called the front desk to turn down the AC and was told that its impossible to turn it down in each room because its controlled by the front desk for all the whole hotel.

Overall, I'd come back to Le Richelieu. Seems to capture the feel of NOLA well--like so many other things in the Big Easy, it shines despite the fact that it's a little bit older and could use some TLC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    279
    84
    32
    12
See reviews for
86
355
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, NH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were in New orleans for a wedding and stayed at this hotel. It was a really great experience. The rooms were pleasant and we had a roomy suite. The pool area was very comforable to hang out with friends in the afternoon to refresh before the evening adventures. I would definitly stay at this hotel again and recommend it to friends. Not the friends who are looking for a 5 star experience- but the more adventurous ones that want to avoid the plain vanilla chains and want good value and location.

Room Tip: Our suite was overlooking the pool and was very nice. Our daughters room was facing onto the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at Le Richelieu while traveling to New Orleans on business, and cannot wait to come back for another visit when I have more time to explore. The hotel is lovely. My room had a wrap-around balcony and the location is such that sitting on the balcony in the evenings is enjoyable -- even though the hotel is located in the French Quarter, it is slightly off of the main drag on a quieter and calmer street. The hotel staff was always kind and helpful, the rooms were clean, and the location is just absolutely perfect if you are the type of person who likes to wander around the city on foot. Easy walk to the French Market, Cafe du Monde, etc. Amazing deal for the price -- I wouldn't say anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have visited New Orleans 20+ times and have always loved places like this one. We stayed here for a long weekend down in New Orleans. This hotel really is in a great location, you are a few blocks from the French Market, you are a few blocks from Bourbon St (if that's your thing, I am kind of over it), and more importantly you are just a few block from Frenchman St which is where I find myself more and more these days. Now this is not the W or the Loew's out on Canal St. The decor and the rooms are slightly dated but they are classic New Orleans that is what's appealing to me. I don't understand the criticism that it's old, I mean come on you are getting a room for about $140.00 a night for a room with a king size bed in the French Quarter in New Orleans, that's a great deal. The staff was great and was helpful when we needed them to be, there is almost always a few cabs hanging outside of the hotel. We met some friends there that drove and the parking situation at the hotel was great and you even got an opener for the gate. I can tell you that the next time we visit New Orleans, this is the place we will stay and check out Harry's Corner down the block, great little bar.

Room Tip: Get the room with the king bed, we had a walk in closet with a little refrigerator which was great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very happy with our stay. Price is affordable, staff very accommodating in booking tours, and giving great suggestions. Location is on the edge of the French Quarter, away from the crowds but walking distance to the sights. Love the large oil painting in the lobby!

Room Tip: We were just looking for a quiet room. A balcony would be nice if you are spending time in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Hotel Richelieu is ideally located to explore New Orleans's French Quarter and was a delightful experience for my wife and I. We had not returned to New Orleans for several years and this was our first trip, post Katrina. The French Market is a short walk from the hotel, as is the Riverwalk train station, this saved us time, money and navigating through the streets of downtown. The weather cooperated for the most part, including June 1st and our visit to the Oyster Festival, terrific ambiance and great for people watching.

Room Tip: We requested a room on an upper floor (less noise from outside).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I (66/68 years old) stayed in this quaint property for one night as we passed through New Orleans. We were residents of this city once and have made many return visits. But Had never stayed here before. We were impressed by the cleanliness and decor. Very Old World, but yet functional. The room they gave us was not a room, but a suite, (didn't request it - no up charge). Maybe all the rooms are like this - didn't ask. We had a bedroom with king bed (very comfortable, I might add),separate sitting room, small kitchen, foyer, and HUGE walk-in closet. The old negative I can remember was...no coffee pot or microwave.. :-(. It was close enough to the Quarter to walk most anywhere, yet is on the north side where there was no noise to speak of. I recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Address: 1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 85 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Richelieu in the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.