We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, friendly French Quarter at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Richelieu in the French Quarter to your Saves list
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, friendly French Quarter at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed here two times in the last 4 years. We love the character of the place, the distance from everything, the wonderful pool, and the friendly staff. We will always try to stay here first!
Balcony rooms are a must for us, and ours was great. If we had any questions, the staff was knowledgeable and fun. The breakfast was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenpape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although the entire staff is friendly and competent, there is no way to adjust the heat and/or air in individual rooms....only on and off. Therefore, rooms become very stuffy and everything feels damp. The hotel staff was able to run off our boarding passes, but we could not prepay for our luggage online because there is no access to the internet any place in the hotel or any place nearby.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have individual controls other than "off" or "on" for heat and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Room very good and clean. Hotel in very good shape and perfect location (5/10 minutes walking from the real life, in a safe and clean area). People kind and willing to share their knowledge of the city.

Breakfast 16$/person, parking 20$/night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuTheDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We've stayed here around 4 times in the last five years. It's an older place but we like its character. We like the easy in-out parking lot (has a remote-controlled gate) and that it's in a quieter part of the French Quarter. It's a great place to stay if you like the Frenchman St. music venues - easy walking distance from them.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious - nice living rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JEBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Location is good! The rooms are old, linens are worn, the bathroom condiments were used....The place felt dirty. The room we were in had an efficiency kitchen with a big sign stating nothing worked. I could understand if the price was lower but for what we paid, we could have stayed at a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vpitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a great time in this unique hotel. The bar and room were wonderful. The hotel is at the far end of the French Quarter that is very quiet which suited us very well. It is an older, but well maintained property which fits with the French Quarter. The staff is very warm and welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodcon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you enjoy good music, you probably know Frenchman St. is where you go in the French Quarter these days. This hotel is located about two blocks off Frenchman and a short walk to Jackson Square. Great location. Nice quiet area of the Quarter.
This is a nice boutique hotel. Yes, the bathrooms have not been updated recently, but everything is very clean and functional. Not worn out...just a little dated. Large rooms with comfortable beds. What more do you need.
The staff were very helpful and friendly from time of reservation to check out. Thank you.
Only draw backs I found were a lack of a room safe and no coffee maker in room. Not deal breakers but nice to haves.
Overall, a great place to stay in the French Quarter. I'll stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Good place to eat nearby is Magnolia Grille on Decatur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,258 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,957 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Address: 1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing