We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, friendly French Quarter at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Le Richelieu in the French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
1 Cocktail Per Person
Ranked #46 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, friendly French Quarter at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed here two times in the last 4 years. We love the character of the place, the distance from everything, the wonderful pool, and the friendly staff. We will always try to stay here first!
Balcony rooms are a must for us, and ours was great. If we had any questions, the staff was knowledgeable and fun. The breakfast was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    269
    82
    32
    12
See reviews for
77
336
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Philadelphia, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although the entire staff is friendly and competent, there is no way to adjust the heat and/or air in individual rooms....only on and off. Therefore, rooms become very stuffy and everything feels damp. The hotel staff was able to run off our boarding passes, but we could not prepay for our luggage online because there is no access to the internet any place in the hotel or any place nearby.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have individual controls other than "off" or "on" for heat and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Room very good and clean. Hotel in very good shape and perfect location (5/10 minutes walking from the real life, in a safe and clean area). People kind and willing to share their knowledge of the city.

Breakfast 16$/person, parking 20$/night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We've stayed here around 4 times in the last five years. It's an older place but we like its character. We like the easy in-out parking lot (has a remote-controlled gate) and that it's in a quieter part of the French Quarter. It's a great place to stay if you like the Frenchman St. music venues - easy walking distance from them.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious - nice living rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Location is good! The rooms are old, linens are worn, the bathroom condiments were used....The place felt dirty. The room we were in had an efficiency kitchen with a big sign stating nothing worked. I could understand if the price was lower but for what we paid, we could have stayed at a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a great time in this unique hotel. The bar and room were wonderful. The hotel is at the far end of the French Quarter that is very quiet which suited us very well. It is an older, but well maintained property which fits with the French Quarter. The staff is very warm and welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you enjoy good music, you probably know Frenchman St. is where you go in the French Quarter these days. This hotel is located about two blocks off Frenchman and a short walk to Jackson Square. Great location. Nice quiet area of the Quarter.
This is a nice boutique hotel. Yes, the bathrooms have not been updated recently, but everything is very clean and functional. Not worn out...just a little dated. Large rooms with comfortable beds. What more do you need.
The staff were very helpful and friendly from time of reservation to check out. Thank you.
Only draw backs I found were a lack of a room safe and no coffee maker in room. Not deal breakers but nice to haves.
Overall, a great place to stay in the French Quarter. I'll stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Good place to eat nearby is Magnolia Grille on Decatur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Address: 1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 85 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Richelieu in the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.