We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Richelieu in the French Quarter to your Saves list
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is an amazing place to stay when visiting NOLA. The location can't be beat! you are 2 blocks away from everying including, trolly car, bourbon, frenchman st. the marken, coffee shop, restaurants, shopping etc. The owner Frank is a wonderful man with an amazing heart, his staff are like family to him he states and I can see why, they are like family and make everyone who walks through that beautiful door feel at home. We had a balcony room on the 3rd floor and it was wonderful, bed was comfortable, small fridge and everything we needed. The outdoor pool was fabulous and I won't stay anywhere else, it is close enough to catch the action for anything, but far enough to retreat and hang on the balcony for a couple cocktails while enjoying the sounds, smells and tastes NOLA has to offer. I would recommend without hesitation, not a fancy place or high class, but that isn't what NOLA is about anyway. Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor balcony is private, 2nd floor is shared with others staying on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    356
    98
    33
    14
See reviews for
119
440
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The place still has its charm but is overrated by some reviews. The desk and bar staff are not as friendly as some report. They appear to be bored and going through the motions. The room was OK. The bathroom was decent sized but badly in need of new fixtures. We had to call for service twice on the toilet and it still never worked right. The shower head was unadjustable and pounded water down on you. The A/C unit was ancient and unadjustable. The bed was OK, and there was a walk in closet and outer deck to the street. I had heard that there was no coffee maker in the room, but when we asked, they brought one up with coffee for each day for free. Otherwise you have to walk down to the bar area to pour your own free coffee and bring it back to room. Don't know why they dont just provide coffee makers in each room. Strange, quirky place to stay but a good quiet location near to most things on that side of the quarter. A bit more of a walk to the busier west side.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an outside balcony and ask for a coffee maker. Good Italian restaurant a block awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I almost don't want to share this info-since this place is such a great deal and great location and I want to be sure I gert the room I want when I return.
We found the staff welcoming pleasant and very funny. Ladies talking to you you through the kitchen windows was one of my highlights as was chatting with the owner Frank who still stops to pick up items on the terrace. My other highlight was sitting out on our balcony after a long day havign a night cap or sipping a coffee as the sun was rising . We loved room 311. Our intention is to return to New Orleans every year and Le Richelieu is the only hotel we will ever stay in again. There is no better location. That said it is the staff that made our stay special. .We will thank them personally when we return. Frank you don't own a hotel you own our home away from home. Like other reviews state is you want the new stuff go somewhere else. But if your interest is New Orleans the music and real life in New Orleans this place is it
We won't stay in another place-there is no need. There is a coffee shop and bar around the corner a deli and variety store a block up, The Market and street car two blocks south, Bourbon two blocks north. Frenchman two blocks east. Preservation Jazz Hall 1 block south. And all of this is in an amazing neighbourhood. Good luck to me finding the room I want now!!

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and I didn;t order breakfaast. There is no NA option Tell them bob says...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Yes, this hotel is charming. Yes, it is a bit old. Yes, it is in the quiet part of the Quarter. Yes, the staff is very nice. Yes, it is a wonderful place to stay! If you want all the modern amenities and fluff go elsewhere. This place is the best. Stayed here last October and again in April. Each time in a one bedroom suite. I choose Le Richelieu as my first choice place to stay in the French Quarter!

Room Tip: Choose a one bedroom suite when lower prices are available....lots of room for a low price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have stayed here twice now and have had a great stay each time. This is not a high end hotel, but a small local older hotel. Slightly shabby, but very comfortable with a lot of character that fits perfectly if you want something that reflects the character of the French Quarter. The rooms need to be updated but are comfortable just the same. The front desk staff are very friendly and so is the owner. We love the location for the activities that we do in the Quarter and are really quite pleased with Le Richelieu. A couple of things on my wish list would be with a coffee maker in the rooms or at least a free coffee urn in the restaurant downstairs. Every morning I had to got to the corner coffeehouse to buy a large coffee to wake up with. A continental breakfast would be nice too. This hotel is at the far end of the French Quarter and has plenty of amenities in the area, but is not in a busy/noisy part of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights at Le Richelieu in the French Quarter of New Orleans while attending the French Quarter Jazz Festival. We agree with the reviews that use the words "charming" and "quiet", and tt was an easy walk to anywhere in the French Quarter. The front desk staff is unfailingly cheerful, polite, and helpful. We liked the easy access to parking and the gated, secure parking area. However, it is not "charming" to have water up to your ankles in the shower because of slow drains. It is not "quaint" to have the cord for the coffee maker stretched across the sink to reach the only electrical outlet available. Our room was small, and the sink and refrigerator and a disconnected stove were built into what was obviously once a closet, so we had to slide the closet doors back and forth to make and pour coffee, then slide again to get cream out of the refrigerator. The lobby and hallways are clean but need updating. The bathroom definitely needs updating. And each night, we fought the bottom sheet coming off of the bed; thick mattresses need bigger sheets or better bed-making techniques. We had to unplug the in-room alarm clock to have an outlet to charge our laptop and cell phones.

Room Tip: The rooms vary as to amenities. Ask for a refrigerator and in-room coffee if you want either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here during the NCAA 2012 Final Four, a total of 7 nights. We had no promblem getting to the Superdome, but we could not get a taxis back if our life depended on it (and after you have walked 20 min.in the pouring rain you feel like it did). You can ride the Streetcars part of the way, but the one that goes to the Frenchmarket closes between 9pm and 10pm. Well enough of that the hotel itself is old, but clean. We had a lower level room , which had a little musty smell when it rained. The room was just a regural small old hotel room. There was a mini refrigerator in the closet, it also had a I phone changer, a hair dryer, and a small flat screen tv in the room. I have to say that it was a little noisy escpecially in the morning. They are alway working on sometime outside and the walls are not as thich as otherwise stated by other reviews.(that includes the interior walls).They do have free coffee in the restrurant. You have to get it yourself. We did eat breakfast there 2 times it is ok, but nothing special. They close the restruant at 2pm, but the bar stays open until 12am I think. The swimming poool is very small and I only seen one family using it. This was our first trip to NOLA and I guess for the money this was a good place to stay. I do think if I go back I would look at other places, especially if I was going to a event at the Superdome.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the top floor if you can. I hope you have better luck than us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#41 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#36 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#60 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#31 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Address: 1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Richelieu in the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.