We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Royal St Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Royal St Charles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savings Up To 40%
Ranked #77 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My hubs picked this hotel for my birthday trip to NOLA. The reviews were mixed but wow did he make a good choice. The hotel was completely reno'ed in 2012 and it's not showing any age. It's bigger than a NYC hotel room but smaller than a Florida hotel room. We had a double bed, they were smaller but oooooohhhhhhhh sooooo comfy. The best sleep ever. Close to everything and lots of local restaurants deliver 24/7. Walking distance to Bourbon and great restaurants, on the trolley line which goes thru the Garden District. GD was so beautiful all decorated for Christmas. We will definitely stay at Royal Saint Charles again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    109
    50
    18
    10
See reviews for
33
110
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel through Priceline, so we didn’t actually know what hotel we would be staying at. We only knew that it was located very close to the French Quarter and that it was a 4 star hotel. This hotel does have a mandatory $9.95 resort fee per night, but I’ve found that a lot of hotels have started adding these kind of fees to their rooms. They do tell you about this as soon as you check in, so you shouldn’t be alarmed to see this added to your statement at the end of your stay.

We were greeted by the lovely front desk staff (Rochelle, was very helpful throughout our entire stay here. She would always greet us and remembered who we were every time she saw us). We arrived pretty early, but she was able to check us in without any issues. We were given a room with a window and a king size bed which was great. The location of this hotel is great as there is a streetcar stop right outside of the hotel, and a few more just around the corner. This hotel is also very close to the French Quarter, which was convenient since that is where we explored during our trip to New Orleans. There was a Christmas parade that came through while we were in town, and this hotel was right on the parade route. We could’ve watched from our hotel room, but we decided to go down on the street and join in on the fun.

The rooms are a tad small, but we didn’t come to sit in the room the whole time. The room was really warm when we first walked in, but quickly cooled down once I adjusted the temperature. We requested some extra blankets and towels, which were brought up to us no less than 10 minutes after the call was made. My two (minor) complaints about the room were that there was no fitted sheet on the bed. I like my bottom sheet to stay tight during the night, so this was a little annoying, however the bed itself was comfortable and I appreciated the quality of the sheets. Also, the TV in our room was a little off. Now we didn’t come to NOLA to watch TV, but we’d usually turn it on at night as we were getting ready for bed, and it was annoying to have the channel fade in and out.

I also appreciated that the hotel had a computer down in the lobby. I really needed to be able to print out a few things, so having this feature available to guests was greatly appreciated. It was also nice to have a hotel computer that didn’t run like it was from the 90s, but rather it seemed pretty up to date. If you have any questions about what you should do during your stay, the concierge desk will definitely help you out. We had most of our trip planned out, but it was nice to have someone recommend a restaurant to try.

We needed to catch a taxi to the airport early in the morning on the day of our departure. I simply let the valet service know the night before, and they called our room about 15 minutes before we needed leave that morning to confirm that we still wanted a cab to the airport. When we walked downstairs, the taxi was waiting for us. This service was greatly appreciated.

You can definitely hear the horns, sirens, and whistles blowing, but I have a hard time believing that you won’t hear this at other hotels as this is just a part of the city life. If this kind of noise really does bother you, then bring a pair of earplugs. I’d recommend that others stay at this hotel.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked and prepaid for this hotel, then when I got there it cost me another 23% of my cost to upgrade to a room with a window and pay the $10 per night RESORT FEE. when I book and prepay, I don't expect to pay anymore, when I get there. they also charge $33 per night for parking. if you don't like being charged hidden fees you might want to avoid this place. the hotel is fine, otherwise.

Room Tip: ask for upper floor, and pay the extra for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very pleased with my stay at the royal st Charles.

Check in was quick and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Our room was as we expected, modern clean and comfortable. The bathroom is a little smaller than most hotels but this was not a problem.

Wifi is included and was fast and reliable.

The location is very good and within close proximity to Bourbon St and lots of restaurants, bars and shopping.


I would come back to the royal st Charles.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was a 4 star. very nice accomadations, the location was great. Road construction created an issue. Parking was a night mare. The corner room was a great view , but it was kind of noisy. We enjopyed our stay.

Room Tip: choose a room above the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrison T, Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
New Orleans is really growing and there is a lot of construction downtown, which can cause issues with parking occasionally. Thank you for your patience and please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right in front of the St. Charles Trolley stop. Stayed in this boutique hotel right after Thanksgiving. Took the recommendations of others and asked for a room with a window. We had a fantastic room that overlooked St. Charles Ave. The room was very cute. We had a corner room which gave us views from two sides. Loved the room. Location was right across from French Quarter. Great location. Coffee shop in the lobby made for an easy start to the morning. We used the valet for self-parking was a block and a half away. You pay for wi-fi as part of the incidentals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows. Room 503 has a nice view of St. Charles Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneola, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed from 11/7/14-11/11/14 , its a very convenient location on royal street near the heart of all the action but away from the crowds on the bourbon. Yes, we did still hear street noise all hours of the night, people partying and carry on but it's New Orleans, its not a quite town so I think the noise is to be expected. Really enjoyed this hotel and would come back again, planning another trip! Great value for the price. Rooms looked recently refurbished. Only down side to room, did not have a mini fridge.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas.The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities - plush Serta beds, 42” high definition TV’s, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more.Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,610 sq. ft. of newly designed event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ’s Coffee & Café.The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality.We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal St Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.