We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds-so so bathrooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal St Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savings Up To 30%
Ranked #72 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds-so so bathrooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Small hotel with friendly staff location convenient to everything. Street car stop right in front. Only downside was the bathroom. Sink did not drain well and there was not much water pressure in the shower. There was a non slip mat in the tub that had seen better days. It was definitely one of the better hotels in this price range. I would stay again but would check out the room/bathroom first.

Room Tip: Great location with friendly staff and super comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    88
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
93
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were too small for two people. I also did not like the fact there was an extra charge of $20 each a day for a fridge & microwave. Rooms were clean. The location was good. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We needed a place to stay in town for one night (we are locals) and found a good deal here at the Royal St. Charles. The hotel is just as advertised: Trendy, clean, well-located with small but comfortable rooms. The bed was quite nice and the amenities -- while basic -- were in good order. A/C worked great and we had no complaints about the service we received. This is not the fanciest place in town, but if you can live with the limited space, it's quite nice indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

From a quickly addressed question prior to checking in by the general manager, to valet and front desk management, we found the hotel to be well managed. The rooms were clean with very comfortable mattresses and pillows. The rooms are small/efficient, but I never go to a hotel to camp out, especially in New Orleans. Being in a downtown hotel, you always hear some street noise, and it was no exception to some of the finest hotels I've stayed in New York, Chicago, and San Francisco - expected and not an issue.

The value (even including the well disclosed fees) and location coupled with the quality of the staff made it a memorable visit. I would definitely consider staying here again rather than some of the big name hotels.

Room Tip: We requested a room facing the street. Some reviews had indicated the interior rooms were a concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The whole point of pulling up in front of a hotel is to unload your luggage. The valet at this hotel refused to allow to do so. He claimed our truck was too big....really bro? Then he said he wouldn't have a problem with it if it wasn't a Friday night. I noticed he allowed other people that came behind us to park and unload their stuff. I contacted the manager on duty and she rudely told me she would have to look into it. I stayed here over 2 weeks ago, and I have yet to hear from her. The hotel was nice enough, but the horrible service we received was enough to black ball this one from our list.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you need to unload your luggage at the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stress about where to stay whenever we travel, what a relief when we checked into this amazingly beautiful hotel! In a word? Swanky? Posh? I'm not sure if one word could describe. The lobby alone says stay awhile, and we are so glad we did. We were looking for a beautiful, clean, comfortable and quiet hotel, not right in the French Quarter, but close enough to walk to it. The Royal St. Charles Hotel EXCEEDED our expectations.
I'm pretty sure there is not a dull space in this hotel, every corner we turned was filled with beauty. From the hallways to the elevators, to the bathrooms, just gorgeous. Our room was definitely no exception.
What was truly beautiful about our room cannot really be seen, and that is the mattress! We desperately wish we could have brought it home with us. It was soooooo wonderful to slip into this oh so comfortable bed at the end of our almost 18 hour days.
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is certainly well named, we definitely felt like royalty staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor, I don't know for sure that it was why it was so quiet, but it was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I just had to write a review for this hotel and about our stay in New Orleans. I read up on Nola before coming here and was petrified about coming from reading the reviews even with being from Baltimore. First off, this hotel is great...its modern...the staff is terrific...the rooms are clean and yeah a lil small, but if u come 2 New Orleans to 2 be in the room go elsewhere. This hotel amenities xtremely few tho...no micowave...no fridge...no pool..yeah this sucked...but the 24 hr bar at the corner ( a 3 min walk )that sells great chicken to soak up all of the alcohol you drank at bourbon st. & u can still take a 6 pack back 2 the room once bourbon shuts down. The "shady" neighborhood is a joke. This is like any urban city. The shady people around mind their bizness...they r pretty much friendly pot dealers! Lol...u dont want pot....keep walking...lol..otherwise just chill out...enjoy...n pay attn 2 surroundings.. I♥ Nola and Royal St Charles! I WILL B BACK & STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas.The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities - plush Serta beds, 42” high definition TV’s, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more.Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,610 sq. ft. of newly designed event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ’s Coffee & Café.The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality.We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal St Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.