We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal St Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Royal St Charles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Savings Up To 30%
Ranked #73 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stress about where to stay whenever we travel, what a relief when we checked into this amazingly beautiful hotel! In a word? Swanky? Posh? I'm not sure if one word could describe. The lobby alone says stay awhile, and we are so glad we did. We were looking for a beautiful, clean, comfortable and quiet hotel, not right in the French Quarter, but close enough to walk to it. The Royal St. Charles Hotel EXCEEDED our expectations.
I'm pretty sure there is not a dull space in this hotel, every corner we turned was filled with beauty. From the hallways to the elevators, to the bathrooms, just gorgeous. Our room was definitely no exception.
What was truly beautiful about our room cannot really be seen, and that is the mattress! We desperately wish we could have brought it home with us. It was soooooo wonderful to slip into this oh so comfortable bed at the end of our almost 18 hour days.
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is certainly well named, we definitely felt like royalty staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor, I don't know for sure that it was why it was so quiet, but it was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    92
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
94
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I just had to write a review for this hotel and about our stay in New Orleans. I read up on Nola before coming here and was petrified about coming from reading the reviews even with being from Baltimore. First off, this hotel is great...its modern...the staff is terrific...the rooms are clean and yeah a lil small, but if u come 2 New Orleans to 2 be in the room go elsewhere. This hotel amenities xtremely few tho...no micowave...no fridge...no pool..yeah this sucked...but the 24 hr bar at the corner ( a 3 min walk )that sells great chicken to soak up all of the alcohol you drank at bourbon st. & u can still take a 6 pack back 2 the room once bourbon shuts down. The "shady" neighborhood is a joke. This is like any urban city. The shady people around mind their bizness...they r pretty much friendly pot dealers! Lol...u dont want pot....keep walking...lol..otherwise just chill out...enjoy...n pay attn 2 surroundings.. I♥ Nola and Royal St Charles! I WILL B BACK & STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Royal St Charles Hotel. The hotel is centrally located to the Downtown and the French Quarters.. We were near the business venues, entertainment and exquisite restaurants. The rooms were well kept and quiet. The staff was so courteous and thoughtful that we felt right at home. We want to particularly thank Randi, Jesse, Keianna and the whole RSJ team for a job very well done..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My initial reaction upon entering the Royal St Charles was "Ok, this is nice." All of the staff were friendly and helpful (very down to earth), the seating area of the lobby was colorful with multiple televisions lining the wall, the a/c felt refreshing, and there was a PJ's Coffee steps from the front desk. The one odd thing I noticed about the hotel is that the hallways were very cold. Immediately after coming in from the humidity it feels great, however, leaving your room after cooling off might give one the shivers.

The room itself was interesting in that it was an interior room--no true window but rather glass blocks with filtered light covered by curtains/sheers. I figured this might be good for noise control, but a view would have been appreciated. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and allowed for a decent night's sleep. The bathroom was on the small side, and there was a issue with the plumbing that took several attempts to fix, but nothing that really detracted from my stay. Free wifi was an added bonus. The room came equipped with a coffee maker, however, I opted for coffee from PJ's each morning. The layout of the room was slightly awkward with the bed pushed close to a corner and the television at an odd angle (though you could rotate it toward the bed), however, this seemed to be the only way to configure it to allow for the desk.

The location of this hotel was definitely a key asset. The St Charles streetcar stops directly in front of the hotel--this is the line to take for the Garden District. The French Quarter is within very easy walking distance just across Canal St. If you're looking to stay close to the nightlife without having to constantly be in the middle of it, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: This hotel has interior rooms so if you need a window be sure to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our stay here, the staff were beautiful and so friendly, the decor was funky, the room was beautiful and clean and its so close to everything, it was wonderful to check into this place after driving for so long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I wound up staying here because I got a great price. When I checked in, I found out that I had been upgraded to a junior suite, which was outstanding. The bed was about the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. The staff was extremely friendly, which I consider a huge plus whenever i review any business. My only gripe is that they charge a mandatory $10 fee for use of the hotel's amenities, whether you use them or not, which I didn't. The amenities, by the way, aren't anything more than what you would find in most hotels.

Overall, it's a great hotel with an awesome staff, and I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Awesome location,one block from Canal street, trolley stop right by the hotel. Service wonderful. Check in at 11,which was a plesant surprise. Our plane on the way back was at 8pm and we wanted to stau a few hours longer, no provlem. They offered us a discount and we very understanding to our situation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas.The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities - plush Serta beds, 42” high definition TV’s, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more.Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,610 sq. ft. of newly designed event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ’s Coffee & Café.The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality.We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal St Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.