We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, odd rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal St Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Royal St Charles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savings Up To 40%
Ranked #76 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, odd rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Check-in was promising, and I was looking forward to the room, until I opened the door. It was an inside room, like on a cruise ship. No windows, just four walls and some glass cubes they put on the wall with curtains around them. Nice try. It was a claustrophobic fire hazard, and I immediately asked for a different room, but they were fully booked so we were stuck with the death trap utility closet. Luckily they were able to re-accomodate us the next day in a room with a window. It seemed like it was falling apart a bit - the phone didn't work, the toilet wasn't functioning quite right. But it was clean, the bed was comfy, and the staff did their best to make our stay as pleasant as possible, especially Raquel.

If you're looking for a clean, basic room, stay in one of their window rooms. If they can't get you into one of those, stay at a Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Stay in an outside room, not one of their death trap utility closets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    110
    50
    18
    10
See reviews for
34
110
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was perfect! Close to Bourbon St, right outside the hotel is a bus stop that will take you most places. Great value for money as well, which is a nice bonus. Rooms are a little small though, and the one I was in had no windows, but we weren't in it much so it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: As for a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great for a short get a way. The room was very clean. Plus! I would also describe it as a bigger version of being on a cruise ship room. My room was $85 and $95 dollars a night (thurs and fri) on Expedia. The rooms are Cozy but fortune location, everything is within walking distance. It was very quiet considering everything going on on canal , FQ, and bourbon. To park in the garage was$16 + bucks per night, or $32 for valet per night . Overall I was pleased!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Pros:
Location - central to CBD & the French Quarter. It's walking distance to pretty much everything. Additionally, the St. Charles streetcar stops right on the corner where it's located.

The shower is nice & strong.

Like the lighting in the bathroom mirror.

The front desk manager was really attentive and accommodating.

Beds & pillows are really comfy.

Cons (bring a lunch - there are many):
Ok, first the rooms are TINY. Tiny closet, tiny desk, tiny entrance - you get the drift. My sons bedroom is larger than the room we stayed in. Whoever said the rooms were "HUGE" must've been either an employee or paid reviewer because that is the farthest thing from the truth.

They put a $50 hold on my girlfriends credit card for reasons they couldn't explain. Our room was paid in full 2 months before we arrived so there was no need for the $50 charge. They eventually returned it to her but she had to fight with them to get it. Finally the manager took care of it.

Housekeeping was severely lacking. The 2nd time they cleaned our room, they failed to replenish the toilet tissue, any of the soaps and hair products, and didn't bring us towels, even though they said they would (guess they had run out). We had to call the front desk to remind them. We also had to call twice for toilet paper. SIGH.

The toilet handle would need to be jiggled in order for the water to stop running.

The TV would lose it's signal and only one channel would work.

The electrical outlets were sketchy - some worked, some didn't.

Walls are paper thin - you hear everything.

No fridge, no microwave.

We paid $189/night plus a $10/day "Value Package Fee" = resort fee so basically $200/night. It was SO NOT WORTH IT. Next time, I'm staying at the Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

THis hotel is awesome! The location is terrific. Our room was clean and fresh. We had a city view to die for! The hotel recently went through major updating. The only draw back is there
is a "resort fee" of $10. That aside its a super nice place to stay. We highly suggest anyone
going to the NOLA to check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for upper levels. Noise factor becomes less of an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Check in at 4. Out at 11. Really? It's NOLA. $10.00 daily fee for safe, fit center, Internet. Should be part of price! And I don't need any of it. Just really tacky . Tiny tiny room. Comfy bed. Front desk ladies are not friendly or helpful! Toilet is way too close to bed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is fabulous, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting NOLA! It has been updated and has a really fresh, funky vibe that continues to the rooms. After reading some reviews on TA regarding internal rooms with no windows and concerns about small room size and noise from the street cars, we asked to be assigned an external high floor room with a side-street view, which we were easily accommodated.

We stayed on the 9th floor overlooking a parking garage next door. The room was compact but more than fine for two people - anyway, when you're in NOLA, I think you're doing something wrong if you're spending all your time in a hotel room! We basically were out all day and just needed somewhere to sleep, and this is perfect. The beds are SO comfortable!

The location could not be better. The French Quarter is right on your doorstep, with Cafe du Monde and Jackson Square about 15 minutes walk away (completely flat, with plenty of lovely shops along Royal Street to distract you along the way) and the furthest party section of Bourbon Street also maybe 15 minutes away... It's ideal - you can participate in all the action during the day but be close enough to pop back to the hotel to freshen up for the night ahead.

We found car parking at Tulane right across from Emergency for $3.95 per day - perfectly safe and about a 10 minute walk (flat) to/from the hotel. It was great to be able to leave the car there as you certainly don't need it while staying here, unless you want to go to a Plantation, or swamp tour. Street cars are very convenient to get around, if necessary - get the $3 all day pass.

Wifi works well on the 9th floor.

The ONLY problem I have with this is the $9.95 "amenities fee" - I don't know what amenities we were having to pay extra for so I thought this was kind of ridiculous. However, having paid very little per night on a priceline.com bid, I really can't complain about factoring in an extra $10 into the cost per night. It is really boutique style accommodation, very clean, comfortable, and extremely well located. Really ticks all the boxes and more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas.The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities - plush Serta beds, 42” high definition TV’s, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more.Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,610 sq. ft. of newly designed event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ’s Coffee & Café.The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality.We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal St Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.