We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh....There's better options.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal St Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savings Up To 20%
Ranked #73 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Meh....There's better options.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Pros:
Location - central to CBD & the French Quarter. It's walking distance to pretty much everything. Additionally, the St. Charles streetcar stops right on the corner where it's located.

The shower is nice & strong.

Like the lighting in the bathroom mirror.

The front desk manager was really attentive and accommodating.

Beds & pillows are really comfy.

Cons (bring a lunch - there are many):
Ok, first the rooms are TINY. Tiny closet, tiny desk, tiny entrance - you get the drift. My sons bedroom is larger than the room we stayed in. Whoever said the rooms were "HUGE" must've been either an employee or paid reviewer because that is the farthest thing from the truth.

They put a $50 hold on my girlfriends credit card for reasons they couldn't explain. Our room was paid in full 2 months before we arrived so there was no need for the $50 charge. They eventually returned it to her but she had to fight with them to get it. Finally the manager took care of it.

Housekeeping was severely lacking. The 2nd time they cleaned our room, they failed to replenish the toilet tissue, any of the soaps and hair products, and didn't bring us towels, even though they said they would (guess they had run out). We had to call the front desk to remind them. We also had to call twice for toilet paper. SIGH.

The toilet handle would need to be jiggled in order for the water to stop running.

The TV would lose it's signal and only one channel would work.

The electrical outlets were sketchy - some worked, some didn't.

Walls are paper thin - you hear everything.

No fridge, no microwave.

We paid $189/night plus a $10/day "Value Package Fee" = resort fee so basically $200/night. It was SO NOT WORTH IT. Next time, I'm staying at the Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    84
    42
    14
    9
See reviews for
28
88
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

THis hotel is awesome! The location is terrific. Our room was clean and fresh. We had a city view to die for! The hotel recently went through major updating. The only draw back is there
is a "resort fee" of $10. That aside its a super nice place to stay. We highly suggest anyone
going to the NOLA to check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for upper levels. Noise factor becomes less of an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Check in at 4. Out at 11. Really? It's NOLA. $10.00 daily fee for safe, fit center, Internet. Should be part of price! And I don't need any of it. Just really tacky . Tiny tiny room. Comfy bed. Front desk ladies are not friendly or helpful! Toilet is way too close to bed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is fabulous, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting NOLA! It has been updated and has a really fresh, funky vibe that continues to the rooms. After reading some reviews on TA regarding internal rooms with no windows and concerns about small room size and noise from the street cars, we asked to be assigned an external high floor room with a side-street view, which we were easily accommodated.

We stayed on the 9th floor overlooking a parking garage next door. The room was compact but more than fine for two people - anyway, when you're in NOLA, I think you're doing something wrong if you're spending all your time in a hotel room! We basically were out all day and just needed somewhere to sleep, and this is perfect. The beds are SO comfortable!

The location could not be better. The French Quarter is right on your doorstep, with Cafe du Monde and Jackson Square about 15 minutes walk away (completely flat, with plenty of lovely shops along Royal Street to distract you along the way) and the furthest party section of Bourbon Street also maybe 15 minutes away... It's ideal - you can participate in all the action during the day but be close enough to pop back to the hotel to freshen up for the night ahead.

We found car parking at Tulane right across from Emergency for $3.95 per day - perfectly safe and about a 10 minute walk (flat) to/from the hotel. It was great to be able to leave the car there as you certainly don't need it while staying here, unless you want to go to a Plantation, or swamp tour. Street cars are very convenient to get around, if necessary - get the $3 all day pass.

Wifi works well on the 9th floor.

The ONLY problem I have with this is the $9.95 "amenities fee" - I don't know what amenities we were having to pay extra for so I thought this was kind of ridiculous. However, having paid very little per night on a priceline.com bid, I really can't complain about factoring in an extra $10 into the cost per night. It is really boutique style accommodation, very clean, comfortable, and extremely well located. Really ticks all the boxes and more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I just wanted a little weekend getaway to ourselves. The hotel was conveniently located at the corner of Royal and Canal. To the right you had the Harrah’s casino and Riverwalk, to the left you had Bourbon Street and further down (10-15 minute walk) was the famous Café Du Monde and French Market area. The hotel was updated and modern. They had the well-known-better-than-Starbucks coffee shop, PJ’s downstairs. We got booked in a 2 full sized bed room, no clue why as we were clearly a couple, but that wasn’t much of hassle. The bathroom was nice and clean, but had little counter space to get ready. There was no refrigerator or microwave, but who needs that when you have streets full of bars and restaurants to go to. Our room was relatively quiet for being so close to all the action; however, the walls are a bit thin and we heard our neighbor’s children screaming from time to time. There was an additional mandatory fee of 9.95$ for the use of their “amenities,” and you have the option of a 32$ valet fee or parking it yourself for 16$ two blocks away (I highly recommend this, it’s not that far of a walk to save half off to use the same parking garage they use for valet). The only bad experience at the hotel was waiting for the elevators to check out. We were on the 5th floor and for some reason, only 1 elevator was working and every time that one elevator came, it was too crowded to ride. So we resorted to the stairs. It gave us our “workout” since we ate so much good food in Nola, but hauling down armfuls of luggage 5 flights of stairs gets tiresome. Anyhow, great hotel, great steal, great location, I’d highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Location, Location, Location! That paired with this updated boutique hotel made for an amazing visit to New Orleans. Clean room, comfy bed and a "noise free" sleep. The rooms have recently been updated with a 'chic' look and feel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After searching priceline and the internet vigorously, I thought finding a decent hotel in the Quarter vicinity was impossible. That was until I came across the Royal St Charles. I went directly to the website and found AAA pricing much less than many hotels in the area. Not knowing anything about the hotel, I took a risk and booked it. We arrived at our room and it was clean , large flat screen tv, desk and an ok view on the street car side. Prior to arriving I requested a queen bed with a window, but I received two doubles instead; however upon calling the front desk they offred a queen with no window the next day. Though, a double was not sufficient for my boyfriend and I , we stuck it out for the sake of sunlight and view.

My only negative comment would be that the bathroom had no counter space, one towel had "residuals" of the last guest, which I did not discover until half-way through its use (gross!), the bathtub was dingy and when I turned on the bathtub faucet for the first time orange water came pouring out for the first minute and then it cleared up. The bedspread on one of the doubles was yellow and somewhat dingy. However, with all that said, we only stayed in the room for sleeping purposes so we were able to overlook its imperfections.

After reading the other reviews, I must say the streetcar was not an issue for us. We stayed on the 8th floor and aside from an occasional bell, the noise was not an issue.

The location is great! You cross over Canal and you are in the Quarter! After, a night on Bourbon I was thankful for this short hike to the hotel.

Self Parking was available four blocks away at the Hilton Garden hotel for $16 , but we lucked out the second night and found a space curbside for free! The only other fee was a 9.95/day mandatory fee and tax.

Room Tip: During the day look for parking around the hotel in unmarked areas and avoid the parking fee! Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas.The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities - plush Serta beds, 42” high definition TV’s, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more.Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,610 sq. ft. of newly designed event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ’s Coffee & Café.The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality.We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal St Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.