We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly with great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal St Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savings Up To 20%
Ranked #76 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budget friendly with great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After searching priceline and the internet vigorously, I thought finding a decent hotel in the Quarter vicinity was impossible. That was until I came across the Royal St Charles. I went directly to the website and found AAA pricing much less than many hotels in the area. Not knowing anything about the hotel, I took a risk and booked it. We arrived at our room and it was clean , large flat screen tv, desk and an ok view on the street car side. Prior to arriving I requested a queen bed with a window, but I received two doubles instead; however upon calling the front desk they offred a queen with no window the next day. Though, a double was not sufficient for my boyfriend and I , we stuck it out for the sake of sunlight and view.

My only negative comment would be that the bathroom had no counter space, one towel had "residuals" of the last guest, which I did not discover until half-way through its use (gross!), the bathtub was dingy and when I turned on the bathtub faucet for the first time orange water came pouring out for the first minute and then it cleared up. The bedspread on one of the doubles was yellow and somewhat dingy. However, with all that said, we only stayed in the room for sleeping purposes so we were able to overlook its imperfections.

After reading the other reviews, I must say the streetcar was not an issue for us. We stayed on the 8th floor and aside from an occasional bell, the noise was not an issue.

The location is great! You cross over Canal and you are in the Quarter! After, a night on Bourbon I was thankful for this short hike to the hotel.

Self Parking was available four blocks away at the Hilton Garden hotel for $16 , but we lucked out the second night and found a space curbside for free! The only other fee was a 9.95/day mandatory fee and tax.

Room Tip: During the day look for parking around the hotel in unmarked areas and avoid the parking fee! Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    80
    42
    15
    9
See reviews for
27
87
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

While the staff was super friendly to my children and kids under eighteen stay free in a parents room, I couldn’t help but notice my children were the youngest people there.  The vibe I received, from the contemporary décor and the lack of a pool, was that the hotel was geared toward adults. I felt this would have been a great place for a “getaway” weekend with my husband.  Although we were two blocks from the French Quarter, I was amazed at how quiet it was in our room.  I don’t know if it was because we were on the 10th floor or because the rooms were well insulated, but very few sounds reached our room, insuring we received rest in a city known for partying all night long.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming! My room was very luxurious and had a beautiful view of downtown New Orleans! I loved staying at this hotel! I wish I could have stayed longer. I can't wait to return, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed at the Royal St. Charles hotel a few years ago and it was in need of an update, that remodel work has been done and I was pleased with the hotel, my room and the device. The front desk girl was very helpful and seemed to be there day and night. My room was not big but clean and quiet. Hotel location is great to go anywhere either by walking or streetcar stop right out front. All in all s great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a great hotel with a inexpensive rate in the middle of New Orleans and everything you want to do. And a good coffee shop on the main floor. The rooms are very clean and nice look at the hotel the streetcar is right out your door and the best to see is very close by. There are some very inexpensive eateries very close by. And, the quarters one block away. I'll be back.

Room Tip: there are some very special rooms at this hotel. Also travel to New Orleans in the spring or fall an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

No reservations. Showed up at the hotel at 9 pm. Staff was very helpful and charged what was quoted when we checked in. Didn't like $16/day parking charge. Parking garage was 4 blocks away. Arrived in our room and was pleasantly surprised. Very clean. Most comfortable beds/pillows of any hotel we have stayed at. Would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling to New Orleans. First time to LA. Walking distance to Bourbon street. Felt very safe with our teenagers. Only complaint was the trolley car stops right in front of the hotel. Great if you want to get around on it but noisy in the morning.

Room Tip: Got the handicap room. Bigger bathroom but no shelf to put makeup bag on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As a first time traveler to the N.O. I loved the close proximity of the hotel to everything. I wasn't a fan of the parking but I lucked up on a spot. The room was small but doable as I didn't spend much time there. The staff was very hospitable when I arrived. The room was very neat and clean. I didn't like the lack of sunlight. But the hotel was very quaint and for the price of 60.00 I couldn't beat the location. When I visit again I will keep this place in mind.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and so are the bathrooms. It really is good for a quiet couple getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas.The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities - plush Serta beds, 42” high definition TV’s, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more.Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,610 sq. ft. of newly designed event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ’s Coffee & Café.The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality.We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal St Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.