We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fleeced by "Resort Fee" and approached by Hookers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal St Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Royal St Charles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fleeced by "Resort Fee" and approached by Hookers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I booked this hotel as an express Deal on Priceline, it was only $55 and was rated as a 3 star. Upon check-in, there was a mandatory $9.95 fee additional to what I had already paid Priceline. The lobby looks pretty god and has a coffee shop with baked goods, that is the only breakfast option at this hotel. While checking in I noticed scantilly clad girls checking in and the thought crossed my mind that they might just be hookers, a thought that was confirmed in the elevator later that night. The two young "ladies" seemed surprised when I declined their offer. This place just oozes cheesiness.

Room Tip: Some inside rooms have no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BatonRougeBunnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marrero, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you are traveling to New Orleans, then a unique opportunity awaits you at the Royal St. Charles Hotel at 135 St. Charles ave. NOLA. This hotel is quite quaint and full of luxury. I stayed in a "King-Balcony" room and absolutely loved it. The place was clean and inviting, the room was relaxing. The Streetcar line is right outside the front door, and the concierge was also available to secure a taxi for us. This is not your average hotel------it's sooooo much more. It's truly as hospitable as New Orleans itself. Do yourself a favor, plan your next stay at the Royal St. Charles. Close to French Quarter, Downtown museum and shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesireePfister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The trip was awesome and the weather couldn't have been better. New Orleans is an amazing city full of very lively and colorful people who know how to enjoy life. The hotel was a beautiful little boutique hotel and was located on St. Charles and Common St. It is seriously only one block from Bourbon Street in case you have a little too much grenades, hurricanes, and fish bowls (so about a 2-5 minute walk to the beginning of Bourbon Street). The hotel staff were very helpful and although check-in is late and the rooms are somewhat small the hotel is a great deal and I would highly recommend. Other expenses make up for the cheapness of the hotel like the 10/night fee for internet, phone, and a in-room safe no matter if you use it or not they charge you. On top on that there was suppose to be free long distance that was a lie! Also, don't get me started about parking but that's not really the hotel's fault the city is just small and busy with lots of things going on driving is impossible and parking is ridiculous in pricing, location, and quality. The best deal is to self park for $16-$22/night which adds up very fast is you nervous about parking in tight spaces with crazy narrow 2-ways valet parking was $32/night. Valet by the way is very friendly I did not receive their services but one of the guys (which was attractive may I add) took my bags to the car anyways! I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something affordable and close to the French Quarter but still far enough that all the Bourbon Street noises cant disturb you (although there are lots of drunk people that also book this hotel so they might disturb you if your a light sleeper). I never had a problem with the cleaning services my room was cleaned everyday and the staff greeted my whenever I met up with them. There is a coffee place by the lobby never got coffee there but it smelt so delicious and I'm not even a coffee drinker!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nesha512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I loved this hotel! We stayed here for the last Saints game of the 2012 season, and it was very convenient. We valet'ed our car (I can't remember how much it cost) and didn't have to take it out until after the game. We were able to walk anywhere we needed to go. We walked to bourbon, the casino, Cafe Du Monde, the Superdome, etc. The room that we stayed in was quite small but perfect for 2 people. I loved the modern interior! I do not have one complaint about this hotel and will be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrigyelims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel was remodled and what a beautiful job they did with the modern feel and wonderful lighting. It's great that they have PJ's coffee in the lobby but, our concierge, Diana, was the best! And I mean the best! Her heart and soul was pored into assisting us on our stay. She guided us daily to get the most of our stay in a professional and fun manner. I can't say enough about her guidance and how fortunate the hotel is to have her her! What a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Unlike the previous review elaietheo, my expierence was wonderful. The front desk supervisor, Chelsea May could not do enough for us to make sure our stay was comfortable. It's across the st. from the JWMarriott at half the price. The street car stops right outside the door. We opted out of the $29. resort fee, which is an option.The concierge in the lobby was very helpful. There is a coffee shop that has wine,beer,pastries and different coffees. With all the excellent resaurants in New Orleans, the fact that they dom not have a full service restaurant is not a deal breaker

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCuomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is my second year staying at this property while in town for Jazzfest. Last year I was perfectly happy but the room was dated. This year it was a bit more expensive but everything had been renovated. I had a room with a sitting room that had a 2nd TV and a couch as well as windows all around the rooms.The staff at check-in could not have been nicer and a special thank you to Diana, the concierge, who checked on the progress of my shuttle for my return to the airport. This hotel is just outside of The French Quarter,which happily is close enough to everything but just far enough from the noise and crowds. There are two drug stores within 2-3 blocks of the hotel, so if you need snacks it's easy to get them - but c'mon folks you're in New Orleans - go out and eat!!!! Can't wait until next year!

Room Tip: The higher up - the less sound from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C Hotel
Q&C Hotel
#7 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,244 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#16 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing