We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Remodel with a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Royal St Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Royal St Charles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savings Up To 40%
Ranked #77 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
portland, oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Remodel with a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I haven't been back to New Orleans since hurricane Katrina so was a little skeptical on what to expect. The hotel has been recently updated with some really nice amenities and nice contemporary look. The location is great, enjoyed the cafe in the hotel and very convenient to the street car line.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    110
    50
    18
    10
See reviews for
34
110
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friends and I recently stayed in this hotel in NOLA for a bachelorette party. The hotel has just been renovated and is so nice! The rooms were very clean, lobby was beautiful, and was such a short walk to Bourbon. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great Staff. Great Renovations. Great Vacation. GF and I needed a quick getaway and where better to go than NO. Seemed like everything we wanted to do was right up the street...all I can say is book the room and bring your walking shoes...no cars needed!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

You can't beat the location but now with the new renovation... This hotel is AMAZING!! The staff is so friendly and accommodating, the entire hotel looks fantastic and it's in the heart of the French Quarter. It's one of my new "favorites" and I will absolutely be back the next time I am in NOLA!! Thanks for a great stay Royal St. Charles!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our stay at the Royal St Charles was much better than expected. We had read reviews about this hotel and had some doubts but went with it anyway because it was fairly priced. It turned out that the hotel just got renovated!!! What a pleasant surprise it was!!! I'm a clean and neat freak myself so I appreciate everything being NEW!!! We were also greeted with smiles and warm hospitality throughout the hotel. Will definitely stay here again. Nice rooms, very clean and comfortable since it was brand new. One block from Bourbon St. About 5-6 from the casino. About 3-4 from the French Quarter. Needless to say, we didn't use our vehicle to go anywhere, we just walked. Couldn't have had a better weekend anywhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, British Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here during the Jazz Festival. We did not spend alot of time in our room so the small room was just fine. The bed was comfy and linens very nice as well.We had great service here and would definitely stay here again. It's great location (just a block off Canal Street) was very convenient to all things we wanted to see and do. The streetcar has a stop right outside and can be very busy. There is also a great coffee place called PJ's located in the Hotel. There is a parking garage nearby with reasonable rates as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with the room I got. It was better than what I had expected based on pictures I've seen from previous guests. Recently this hotel was renovated and it is absolutely stunning! The rooms come with huge flat-screen TV, top floor, new carpet, comfy bed and the bathroom was modern too. In addition, the lobby is fresh and modern, filled with lively colors. The location was great, I was able to walk a few minutes to the French Quarter and about 10-15 minutes to Cafe du Monde, French Market and Jackson Square. This hotel is defiantly a great steal!


Location: 5/5
Price: 5/5
Room quality: 5/5
Service: 4/5

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas.The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities - plush Serta beds, 42” high definition TV’s, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more.Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,610 sq. ft. of newly designed event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ’s Coffee & Café.The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality.We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal St Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.