We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Star Hotel at Half Price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #74 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Four Star Hotel at Half Price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We just enjoyed The Renaissance Pere Marquette two beautiful nights in an 18th floor corner room overlooking the French Quarter and the Mississippi River.
We booked our room using a Priceline.com "Express Deal"!!
Who would think that $71/ night would give you 4 stars just two blocks from Bourbon Street!?
The hotel staff were so helpful.
They told us about getting a $3 Trolley Pass good for 24hrs. It easily helped us get all over town!
How convenient!!!
Lunch at NOLA's... The sampler is the best way to experience the flavors of New Orleans!!
ENJOY !!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your great experience at the Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the incredibly helpful service as well as the gorgeous view of the river. We are glad that you were able to visit NOLA and enjoy a delicious and classic New Orleans meal. We would love to host you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    311
    108
    38
    29
See reviews for
86
229
41
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early Augaust for 1 week. It was awesome! The front desk clerk Veronica let us check in at 10:30am when she found out we had traveled all night from Canada. The rooms were decent size and the bed were very comfy! She gave us lots of ideas for where to eat and what to do as well.She warned us that the room we were going to stay in was big and nice but may be loud on Monday morning as there was construction accross the street but that we could call and they would move us. Sure enough it was a bit noisy at 7am on Monday morning but when we called down they had a room for us on the other side of the buiding within the hour, they also appologized and gave us free breakfast in the restaurant (very yummy), and even offered my huband Beer for our troubles. This hotel is located one street over from Canal and if you go out to Canal you are looking directly at Bourbon Street. Bottom line it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We are so thrilled to hear about your fantastic time at our hotel! It is wonderful to hear great stories about guests' experiences. We are glad that you received such thoughtful service and liked the central location. We hope you were able to catch a movie at The Theatres at Canal Place! Thank you for letting us know about your wonderful stay at the Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

It is about two blocks from the French quarter. it is a nice hotel with good service. it has a great restaurant, but not many people seem to eat there. of course, there are so many good restaurants in the area. This hotel is a **** property on priceline, which should get you a good rate. Of course, you don't know for sure what you are getting, but the 4 star properties ion this area are all good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are especially glad to hear that you were able to enjoy a delectable meal in our restaurant, MiLa, and the impeccable service we strive to provide for our guests. We hope you were able to enjoy some of the amazing restaurants nearby, such as Cafe Pontalba with its great views and fantastic local flavors. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Renaissance Pere Marquette in the French Quarter for our 5 year wedding anniversary. We were greeted by Tiffany at the front desk when we arrived- she struck up a conversation while efficiently checking us into the hotel. She discovered it was our anniversary and surprised us in our room with a bottle of champagne and a sweet card signed by the staff.
The hotel its self is beautiful- amazingly decorated lobby and lounge area. Our room was very clean and beautiful- spacious and also beautifully decorated. We enjoyed to pool and made some new friends. The location is great ! Walking distance to Jackson Square, Bourbon street and lots of grat places to eat. Also very close to a CVS and Walgreens for the items you may have forgotten.
We have made plans to return with other friends in the future!

Room Tip: Loved our view of the city from a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We are so happy to have had you with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary. What a special time and congratulations to you both! Thank you for letting us know about your wonderful stay at the Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel. We are so glad you experienced such thoughtful service and liked the beautiful and ornate decorations throughout the hotel. With countless great places nearby the hotel to visit, it is hard to fit it all in during one trip but we hope you were able to take advantage of many great local spots, such as Cafe du Monde in the fabulous French Quarter. We are so thrilled to hear that you plan on returning and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etown, KY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

A group of friends and I enjoyed this hotel in July. We were there three nights just for a short summer getaway. The accommodations were extremely large in the corner room, and although small, the pool was nice too. We parked the car when we arrived a block and a half away for half the price of valet, and didn't use it the rest of the trip. The trolley took us out to the garden district, and we walked to everything in the French quarter. It was a delightful stay, and I will definitely keep it in mind when we are there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us at the Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel! We love that you enjoyed your spacious room and were able to take a dip in the refreshing pool. What a great idea to take the streetcar out to the Garden District! We hope you were able to indulge in a delicious meal at the Commander’s Palace while you were there. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was my second stay at the Pere Marquette in NOLA. The first was a mixed bag but the trip that I completed recently was almost an entirely great experience.

The staff at the Pere Marquette was absolutely great without exception. My plane was delayed in Atlanta and the front desk made sure that the person I was meeting was given the message. Once, I approached the front door and TWO staff members opened the double doors. This made me smile.

The room was spacious, the bed extremely comfortable. It was located away from the construction on Common St. and was a peaceful refuge from the demands of walking around the city.

My only problem was the advertised 'Free WiFi'. This exists only at one table in the lobby which provides four computers for guest use. That would have worked by the WiFi connection was unreliable and I had to re-do mailings and reservations more often than not. It is puzzling to me that I can get WiFi on a bus but not in a four-star hotel without paying $13 a day. The hotel should figure out another way to increase the income stream as this, for me, was an unacceptable aggravation. The days of paying for WiFi are gone unless you are taking a cruise. I hope the hotel fixes this. Or at least make the WiFi in the lobby actually work.

The location of the hotel is perfect, the room was in all respects great. The staff could not have done a better job. If you can accept the WiFi as it exists then go for it.

Room Tip: Stay in the back of the hotel away from Common St. construction (8/14).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, from the caring service to the serene room environment. We hope you were also able to enjoy the intriguing cultural destinations and foodie hot spots near our downtown hotel, such as as the French Quarter’s famous Napoleon House and the historic streetcars. Thank you for your feedback about the in-room WIFI charge and please accept our deepest apologies that it was not made clear to you before your arrival that there is a fee for in-room WIFI at Renaissance Hotels. Should your travels ever bring you back to New Orleans, we would be thrilled to welcome you back to the Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights - a weekend getaway with my husband. Cab from the airport was $33 for 2 people - not bad. No need to rent a car - everything is within walking distance. Close enough to Canal St and the French Quarter - but far enough away to avoid the chaos. Our room was great - spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge (wasted space?), but the shower was small - could hardly shave my legs! I wish I had read some of the reviews prior to arriving regarding the construction in the building across the street - would have requested a room on the other side. Not the hotel's fault, but if you plan on sleeping past 7:30 or 8:00 (including Sunday) request to be on the opposite side of the building. Staff at check-in was friendly as was the coffee bar attendant. We asked for a late check-out and it was granted at no extra charge - but we were running late at lunch and I called to advise we would be a little later than expected - "no problem at all" was the response. BUT - when we returned to have our key re-programmed we were advised that if we didn't vacate the room by 2:00 (it was 1:53) we would be charged a fee. We made it out in time - with just a minute to spare, but they should get the stories straight.
Didn't see the pool or other facilities, but overall enjoyed the hotel and would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Diepro,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Renaissance Pere Marquette. We're delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location right next to the French Quarter, which is great for our guests who wish to experience Bourbon Street, find the newest foodie destinations in the Warehouse District, or attend a football game at the Superdome. Our sincerest apologies about the confusion during your checkout and we will certainly use your feedback to see how we can deliver an even better experience to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.