We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #71 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
1 review
“Impeccable service all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Clean comfortable room but their service was the star. Took my daughter to New Orleans for her 21st birthday. The staff here was fantastic. Katie and the front desk staff had a bottle of wine, fruit and desert delivered to our room with Happy Birthday wishes for my daughter. The Bell hop service (Bryan & Chris) were extremely helpful in assisting us with direction to everything from tour busses to answering questions about the area and services. The MIla restaurant staff, Kelsey, and several others, provided excellent service ensuring that our breakfast came quickly to ensure that we done before our tour bus arrived for our pick-up and Allen, the bartender at the Mila bar, made my daughters birthday a memorable one by buying her one of her first birthday libations. I can not remember all of the names but suffice to say that the folks at the New Orleans Pere Marquette made my whole family feel that they were truly concerned about making our stay as enjoyable as possible. My hat is off to them all. Have not seen service like that in a very long time. Thank you to the staff of the Pere Marquette.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Larry,

Thank you so much for telling us about your experience at the Pere Marquette! It was so nice to hear about the wonderful service you received from Katie, Bryan, Chris, Kelsey, Allen and the rest of our front desk and MiLa navigators. We are very proud of the service we provide and we're delighted that it really made your daughter's 21st birthday extra special. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    301
    100
    37
    27
See reviews for
84
214
40
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Everyone that we have encountered at this hotel has been nothing but accommodating. The room was nice and clean.

The hotel is about 2-3 blocks from the French Quarter and close to everything. I like the fact, that we were pretty centralized but did not have to deal with all the action going on. Parking could get expensive, but after 6pm you can park on the street until 8am, there is a parking structure about 2 blocks down that has an early bird special for $8.00 in by 8am and out by 8pm.

I would def. recommend this hotel to anyone that is planning to visit New Orleans! you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Im not sure you how long the construction across the hotel will be, but ask for a room away from com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Anna,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! We're pleased to hear that you would recommend us to anyone visiting New Orleans. We couldn't agree more about our central location- it's great to have easy access to Bourbon Street, the Superdome, and other major New Orleans downtown destinations while our guests can enjoy a peaceful room. It would be our pleasure to host you again on your future visits to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a marvelous time. The staff was great! For the first time ever have I found the house keeping attentive to the coffee. They put xtra cream and sugar in the box. Valet was superb. I would most definitely stay there again. Very clean and smells fresh when you walk in.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Colleen,

Happy belated anniversary! We're so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Pere Marquette, with attentive, efficient service and a spotless atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed at the Pere Marquette for three nights while attending a conference nearby. As a former resident of Nola, this was my first time staying at this hotel but I had heard many good things about it. Despite its location in a historic building, the hotel is very modern in decor and offerings. I found that the lobby was laid out a bit odd - when you enter, a small check in desk on the right and MiLa (restaurant) and concierge on the left. Its a good use of the limited space, but feels a little tight when compared to a more traditional Marriott lobby. The elevator bank is straight ahead and around the corner of check in desk the lobby opens up with lots of seating space, lobby bar and sundry shop. The day that I arrived the elevators were having issues, resulting in a 10 minute wait but no further issues after that day.

My room was on the 11th floor overlooking the pool deck of the Roosevelt hotel. The room was in the back of hotel and away from the construction at the front. I did not hear a peep of construction. While walking down the hallway I could hear people talking from inside their room, but inside my own room it was tranquil.

The room was fitted with a king size bed with night stand and each side. Two plug outlets on each side of bed (which is a huge plus!). There was a long work desk along the wall with Internet connection and the tv and a mini fridge under the tv. I could not get the wired Internet to work, but wifi had no issues. Nice decor very modern with a Nola twist.

The bathroom was spacious and modern. Seemingly marble floor and countertops. Lots of counter space around the sink. Plenty of space for two people. Good water pressure and heat in the shower. One quirk in the shower is that the lever that switches between the faucet and shower would randomly release during my shower. Not a major issue, but quirky like I said.

Overall the hotel staff were really friendly. The front desk check in was fast and she explained all of my benefits. I had breakfast in MiLa twice - once the buffet and once the pancakes. The service was attentive and food was really good. The buffet hot options were eggs, bacon, grits and oatmeal. Continental items as well - fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, toast, bagels etc. Gold Elite members get two free appetizers at the MiLa bar in the evenings. The selection is from the regular menu and there were no restrictions! The pork panini was excellent and large enough to be a meal on its own. I also had the coconut shrimp which were just ok.

An overall positive experience with the Pere Marquette. The location is convenient for downtown and French Quarter access. I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear rockertsfan007,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette. We're very pleased that you received the first-rate service that we are known for and that you really enjoyed the appetizers for our Elite members- they are delicious! It's also great to hear that you liked your tranquil room with its ample outlets. Thank you for all of your feedback as it will help us further perfect our guests' experience. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance Pere Marquette during the 4th of July weekend to attend the Essence Music Festival, this hotel is VERY NICE!!! Everything was modern, clean and walking distance from French Quarters. I would highly recommend this place I guess the only qualm would be that the rooms were small BUT there were four of us sharing one room.....LOL!!! All in all we had a great time in NOLA!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear GCoop74,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! Essence 2014 was an amazing time to be in New Orleans and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed it with us. We couldn't agree more about our perfect location right by Bourbon Street, Harrah's Casino, the French Quarter and the Arts & Warehouse District. We hope to see you for Essence 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed 4 days at the Pere Marquett last week. The room was clean but small, shower no tub wireless was pay as you go and parking was $38/night. The views are buildings. No restaurant for dining and a very limited grill menu at the bar. Not what I would have expected for their rating

Room Tip: The Ritz is only a block away and would be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor A, Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Jamesuemcd, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit in New Orleans. Your feedback is always valued and helps shape future decisions about the product and services our hotel offers. We always strive to fulfill customer expectations and provide an excellent hotel experience. We're glad to hear you were pleased with the cleanliness of your room and although there are limited views from our hotel due to neighboring buildings, our location is noted as one of the best being just steps away from the French Quarter yet just outside the revelry of Bourbon Street for those seeking a retreat from the non-stop party. Our hotel does have a variety of rooms that have shower/tub combinations or just standup showers for those that like a more streamlined look. For our guests who thrive on "staying connected" during their visits we do always offer free wireless internet access in our lobby area as well as complimentary lobby internet terminals for those who do not wish to pack a laptop or tablet to bring with them. It sounds like you may have missed the opportunity to enjoy MiLa restaurant (located on the hotel lobby level) while you were here. MiLa has been rated a top ten restaurant in New Orleans and is open daily for breakfast, Tuesday- Friday for lunch, and Tuesday-Saturday for dinner. We hope we have the opportunity to be your host again for next visit to New Orleans- we're always make every effort to accommodate requests for particular room attributes (tubs, city view) whenever available so that we can provide a stay exceeds the "OK" and is worthy of being "Great".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Took a short girls trip for memorial day weekend, and this hotel was great. It was one of the few still offering a military discount during the holiday weekend which was a big plus. The location is great, very close to the french quarter, so everything we wanted was within walking distance. Well not everything, we did venture a bit farther out to places such as Treme for food, but the hotel staff help you quickly flag down a cab.

I stayed in May, and the construction was still happening, so it was a great tip to ask to be on the opposite side of the building. The room was very pretty , interesting decorations, with a large shower which was great.

The pool was very small but still spent a bit of time relaxing. Its surrounded by tall building on each side so the best time for sun would be in the mornings.

Hotel staff was friendly, I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear RavenNicole,

Thank you for your feedback! We're delighted that you had a memorable and fun girls' weekend with us. New Orleans is a great place to have a girlfriend getaway, with tons of live music, nightlife and dining destinations to choose from. It's also nice to hear that you discovered intriguing local areas like the Treme. It would be our pleasure to host you on your next journey to the Big Easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.