We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long-term business traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #76 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Long-term business traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The rooms are nice and comfortable. The beds are good, but not as firm as the JW Marriott in New Orleans. The rooms are not precisely alike, which is nice, but some offer very different amenities. I had one room without a bathtub--just a shower stall, but the bathroom was spacious. I've had other rooms with beautiful views of the French Quarter and the Church of the Immaculate Conception next door. The staff is very nice and know their jobs. Housekeeping can be hit and miss, but always gets the important things right. Sadly they have missed resupplying the coffee at time or two.

The Concierge Lounge/Club is small but well tended. The eggs are always wet, but that seems to happen at a lot of Marriott properties. The room service menu is limited and the steak is disappointing, but the restaurant, Mila, has eclectic cuisine which has always be well prepared in my experience. Mila is pricey, but a meal or two in the hotel is a rewarding experience.

The location is great for business or exploring the French Quarter. I don't like staying in the Quarter because of the noise, but the Pere Marquette is a block away. The Downtown Business District is compact; it is easy to walk to most destinations there. There is a great lunch restaurant around the corner on Carondelet called Hobnobbers. It is easy to overlook but hard to beat. It is hidden down an indoor alley behind a bar of the same name. They happily deliver to the hotel. The food is excellent, classic New Orleans fare, but it is not at all low calorie.

Room Tip: Any room ending in 13 has an excellent, and close up view of a working church bell tower. It welcom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    278
    97
    37
    26
See reviews for
75
204
38
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I attended a conference here, so did not choose the hotel on my own. It was fine, but not something I would choose. The room I had was small, but comfortable. The hotel itself does not have many public spaces, so plan on spending most of your time outside of the hotel. The location was okay. The French Quarter was within walking distance. If I was going to New Orleans for vacation, I would stay here if I could pay for it with hotel reward points. Otherwise, I'd recommend something more classically New Orleans, or a bed & breakfast.

Room Tip: If there is more than one person to a room, ask for something that has more than a bed and desk in i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Good room.Comfortable bed. Small club lounge. Great accomodating staff. A bit of an issue with hall noise late at night. This was my second stay there. I'd stay again. I would recommend the Renaissance Pere Marquette.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola,FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Rented 2 rooms and they both were cleand and fairly close by. Hotel is nicely decorated, we all enjoyed the modern look aof the libby, bar and even the retro sign marking the parking garage. My daughter loved it and couldnt stop saying "wow is so pretty" and they even surprised us with fruit and cookies in my daughters and mother in law's room and a bittele of champaign in ours!! Staff was nice, speciallly the parking people, these guys were having little conversations with my 3 year old every morning!! Attention to detail at its max!! Thats what the hotel experience is all about!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Booked a 3 night stay here in April but we moved hotels after one night. The lobby area is modern and has nice touches but it feels cramped. Staff were friendly and accommodating but seemed to be a little less seasoned in their roles. Our room was very small and had no real ambience to it. The air conditioner struggled to keep the room cool. There was no view and the windows were old and leaking slightly. The room was clean but again, I couldn't escape the cramped feeling. The hotel is "fine" but that is all and certainly not worth the $199-$339 per night rates we had. We changed to the Loews where we have stayed previously. We are delighted with our room here and thankful we made the move.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is in a great location. You won't need a car to get around. In fact, you're better off not bringing one if you can, since parking is expensive and limited in the French Quarter. We were just a few minutes walk away from Bourbon Street and about 15 minutes from the French market. Tons of great places to eat nearby. The hotel itself was classy. I spent one day in a conference, which was set up nicely and catered with good food. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Because our room wasn't ready, we got an upgrade--to the Penthouse! It was a fantastic room, and I got the best night's sleep in my two weeks of traveling. The sheets felt like silk to the touch; the bathroom was super-clean. It's valet parking all the way ($34.00; $38.00 with tax) and the bell boys will get your things to your room without a problem. We were given a little gift when we checked in, which included a bottle of water and a praline. Later, when I asked if the hotel had extras, the consierge contacted the praline store to get their closing time. This was the best experience I had on the entire trip with respect to accommodations and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in downtown NOLA near the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.