We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and up to Marriott standards.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #71 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Pensacola,FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice and up to Marriott standards.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Rented 2 rooms and they both were cleand and fairly close by. Hotel is nicely decorated, we all enjoyed the modern look aof the libby, bar and even the retro sign marking the parking garage. My daughter loved it and couldnt stop saying "wow is so pretty" and they even surprised us with fruit and cookies in my daughters and mother in law's room and a bittele of champaign in ours!! Staff was nice, speciallly the parking people, these guys were having little conversations with my 3 year old every morning!! Attention to detail at its max!! Thats what the hotel experience is all about!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    296
    100
    37
    27
See reviews for
83
214
39
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Booked a 3 night stay here in April but we moved hotels after one night. The lobby area is modern and has nice touches but it feels cramped. Staff were friendly and accommodating but seemed to be a little less seasoned in their roles. Our room was very small and had no real ambience to it. The air conditioner struggled to keep the room cool. There was no view and the windows were old and leaking slightly. The room was clean but again, I couldn't escape the cramped feeling. The hotel is "fine" but that is all and certainly not worth the $199-$339 per night rates we had. We changed to the Loews where we have stayed previously. We are delighted with our room here and thankful we made the move.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is in a great location. You won't need a car to get around. In fact, you're better off not bringing one if you can, since parking is expensive and limited in the French Quarter. We were just a few minutes walk away from Bourbon Street and about 15 minutes from the French market. Tons of great places to eat nearby. The hotel itself was classy. I spent one day in a conference, which was set up nicely and catered with good food. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Because our room wasn't ready, we got an upgrade--to the Penthouse! It was a fantastic room, and I got the best night's sleep in my two weeks of traveling. The sheets felt like silk to the touch; the bathroom was super-clean. It's valet parking all the way ($34.00; $38.00 with tax) and the bell boys will get your things to your room without a problem. We were given a little gift when we checked in, which included a bottle of water and a praline. Later, when I asked if the hotel had extras, the consierge contacted the praline store to get their closing time. This was the best experience I had on the entire trip with respect to accommodations and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in downtown NOLA near the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was great and the staff was some of the best I ever encountered as a frequent Marriott Platinum member. The rooms were clean and smelled very fresh. The pool is a little small so if that’s a key amenity for you I would recommend hotel. The access to the French quarter is great two blocks and you’re on Bourbon Street. The walls are thick and the beads are super comfortable…no noise from slamming doors and elevators going up and down. This is a great place for a romantic couples getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked the Renaissance Pere Marquette using my wife's points and Platinum status for a family wedding in New Orleans. Except for one or two minor Housekeeping glitches, we found this stay comfortable, convenient, and satisfying.

Location is great; very convenient to the Quarter, downtown, riverfront attractions, and just a block from the St. Charles Streetcar line. Employees are knowledgable and friendly. Rooms tend to be small. The bed was awesome, but the one chair in the room was so uncomfortable one could barely sit in it without pitching forward.

Worst attribute: second night (of three), when we returned to the room at 2:30pm, the room hadn't been made up. I get it that rooms turning over need to be cleaned first. But especially with Platinum status, the hotel needs to staff and supervise Housekeeping much better and get rooms cleans before guests are inconvenienced.

Best attribute: as it turns out, the lobby bar is truly a classic cocktail hang-out. These guys (and gal) are more like liquid chemists than bartenders. My wife, brother, and I enjoyed carefully crafted libations two of our three nights here. Hemingway Daquiris, and special versions of Manhattans and Old Fashionds were just plain magnificent!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner; it probably won't be larger, but you'll enjoy more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with a great location. Walking distance to Bourbon Street and French quarters. Rooms are clean but very small "this was not a problem for us since we spent all out time exploring this great city and came to the room just to rest our heads. Hotel had a descent restaurant, and the coffee " Merchant" shop in front of the hotel is a real treat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.