We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and up to Marriott standards.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #62 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Pensacola,FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice and up to Marriott standards.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Rented 2 rooms and they both were cleand and fairly close by. Hotel is nicely decorated, we all enjoyed the modern look aof the libby, bar and even the retro sign marking the parking garage. My daughter loved it and couldnt stop saying "wow is so pretty" and they even surprised us with fruit and cookies in my daughters and mother in law's room and a bittele of champaign in ours!! Staff was nice, speciallly the parking people, these guys were having little conversations with my 3 year old every morning!! Attention to detail at its max!! Thats what the hotel experience is all about!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Booked a 3 night stay here in April but we moved hotels after one night. The lobby area is modern and has nice touches but it feels cramped. Staff were friendly and accommodating but seemed to be a little less seasoned in their roles. Our room was very small and had no real ambience to it. The air conditioner struggled to keep the room cool. There was no view and the windows were old and leaking slightly. The room was clean but again, I couldn't escape the cramped feeling. The hotel is "fine" but that is all and certainly not worth the $199-$339 per night rates we had. We changed to the Loews where we have stayed previously. We are delighted with our room here and thankful we made the move.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurawaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is in a great location. You won't need a car to get around. In fact, you're better off not bringing one if you can, since parking is expensive and limited in the French Quarter. We were just a few minutes walk away from Bourbon Street and about 15 minutes from the French market. Tons of great places to eat nearby. The hotel itself was classy. I spent one day in a conference, which was set up nicely and catered with good food. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shabafrooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
237 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Because our room wasn't ready, we got an upgrade--to the Penthouse! It was a fantastic room, and I got the best night's sleep in my two weeks of traveling. The sheets felt like silk to the touch; the bathroom was super-clean. It's valet parking all the way ($34.00; $38.00 with tax) and the bell boys will get your things to your room without a problem. We were given a little gift when we checked in, which included a bottle of water and a praline. Later, when I asked if the hotel had extras, the consierge contacted the praline store to get their closing time. This was the best experience I had on the entire trip with respect to accommodations and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in downtown NOLA near the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was great and the staff was some of the best I ever encountered as a frequent Marriott Platinum member. The rooms were clean and smelled very fresh. The pool is a little small so if that’s a key amenity for you I would recommend hotel. The access to the French quarter is great two blocks and you’re on Bourbon Street. The walls are thick and the beads are super comfortable…no noise from slamming doors and elevators going up and down. This is a great place for a romantic couples getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cozmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
286 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked the Renaissance Pere Marquette using my wife's points and Platinum status for a family wedding in New Orleans. Except for one or two minor Housekeeping glitches, we found this stay comfortable, convenient, and satisfying.

Location is great; very convenient to the Quarter, downtown, riverfront attractions, and just a block from the St. Charles Streetcar line. Employees are knowledgable and friendly. Rooms tend to be small. The bed was awesome, but the one chair in the room was so uncomfortable one could barely sit in it without pitching forward.

Worst attribute: second night (of three), when we returned to the room at 2:30pm, the room hadn't been made up. I get it that rooms turning over need to be cleaned first. But especially with Platinum status, the hotel needs to staff and supervise Housekeeping much better and get rooms cleans before guests are inconvenienced.

Best attribute: as it turns out, the lobby bar is truly a classic cocktail hang-out. These guys (and gal) are more like liquid chemists than bartenders. My wife, brother, and I enjoyed carefully crafted libations two of our three nights here. Hemingway Daquiris, and special versions of Manhattans and Old Fashionds were just plain magnificent!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner; it probably won't be larger, but you'll enjoy more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyKingBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a great location. Walking distance to Bourbon Street and French quarters. Rooms are clean but very small "this was not a problem for us since we spent all out time exploring this great city and came to the room just to rest our heads. Hotel had a descent restaurant, and the coffee " Merchant" shop in front of the hotel is a real treat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,258 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,078 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
#46 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,818 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique New Orleans hotel provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. Enjoy neo-Creole dining at MiLa, one of the most popular restaurants near Canal Street. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at our boutique New Orleans hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing