We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valet Parking Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #76 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Valet Parking Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Hotel front desk staff was friendly,rooms were clean with a nice spacious bathroom. Hotel located on side street but very convient for walking to local attractions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    349
    118
    47
    31
See reviews for
97
261
41
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This hotel is close to the French Quarter but a few blocks off on a seedy side street that smelled like vomit. The rooms are starting to show their age. The only bright spot is that each room has its own individual wifi which is nice compared to other hotels where the signal is often weak.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I just stayed at this hotel during Mardi Gras. The lobby and our room were both really clean and attractive. The hotel still has some of its original historic characteristics, like the windows. Our room, though small, was welcoming and nicely decorated: the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with a marble sink, nice lighting, and good water pressure. I travel ALOT and therefore have the Marriott Rewards membership. I was granted access to the Club/ Concierge lounge where they provide complimentary breakfast and dinner on the weekdays. The food was freshly prepared with hot foods and fresh fruit; the dining room is on the top floor, allowing you to look out over New Orleans.

The hotel is really well located. It is just one block from Bourbon Street and 2 blocks from St. Charles Ave, allowing you to easily walk to all of the fun things to do and see, but far enough away from the Mardi Gras festivities that you can sleep in peace (when ever you decide sleep becomes necessary in this crazy city).

My only gripe would be that the on-site parking lot was pretty expensive- $35/night, and they charged us extra for being parked there during an "event" (a Mardi Gras parade on Canal St), even though we'd had the car parked there for 2 straight days without ever using it once.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Everyone was very nice and willing to assist with making our New Orleans experience a great one. It's a block away from the French Quarter which was great because most restaurants, bars, and attractions were within walking distance. I think we only took a cab about three times. You won't hear the partying noises from the busy streets which is a plus. Room was a bit small but very clean and modern. Big downer for us was the lack of wifi in the guest rooms. It was only available from the lobby which is not what I'm used to. Pretty much all hotels, (including 2 and 3 star hotels) are wifi equipped. They did offer hard wire access for a daily fee but that doesnt work for ipads or iphones so it didn't work for us. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would go back but only if they update their wifi accessibility.

Room Tip: Request a room without a street view. Keeps peeping Toms away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hotel is in an excellent location, very convenient to the thrills of Bourbon Street without the loud noise. Rooms are a nice size but if you are staying 3 or more, just know it’s likely that the beds will be a full size. Steps away from one of the best restaurants in the city, Dazy Dukes, which is open 24 hours.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st simons island, ga
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Room was small with cheap furniture from some other era. Bathroom was at least spacious. No wifi. Hard wire only which is NG for iPads/phones. Lobby seemed a limitless weird somehow. Place looked better on line. Attached restaurant is only appropriate for your typical boring hotel breakfast (NOT NOLA style !)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, GA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This hotel is located a block off the French Quarter, on the road that becomes Bourbon Street on the other side of the canal. Though you will hear typical street noise from the rooms, you won't hear the loud partying that permeates the French Quarter at night. Higher rooms presumably have less noise. I was on the 5th floor by the street and, given that I managed to sleep in until 11 am one morning, I would say the noise was no problem.

The rooms are what one would expect for a hotel of this type. My king-sized bed was comfy, and there were adequate electrical outlets for all of my electric doodads. There's a TV, desk, kinda old-looking easy chair, and a coffee maker, mini fridge, and safe in the cabinet under the TV. The room I was in wasn't the biggest room I've ever been in, but hey, by New York standards it was pretty large! Did not feel cramped at all, I'd guess it was 'average sized'.

And now a word about the bathroom! I liked that it was spacious (and clean!). There wasn't a tub, but a small shower stall. The neatest thing I thought was that the shower head was on a rail that went up-and-down, so it could be adjusted for height, in addition to pivoting all about. There was also both shampoo AND conditioner provided, which I always appreciate when traveling.

So, good solid hotel in a great location. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: When I stayed on the 5th floor, I was able to access the free ibahn wireless internet from the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel

Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.