We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Town Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Olde Town Inn to your Saves list
Olde Town Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2311 North Rampart Street, At Corner of 1001 Marigny Street, New Orleans, LA 70117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quirky and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in New Orleans. We loved it especially this hotel.we arrived a little early and our room wasn't ready so we came back later. We had booked a double room but was upgraded to a suite. It was very different! There were 3 rooms, 2 bedrooms ,one with a queen and one with a king and two singles. There was another room with a fold up bed and a desk too.it was huge.it was a little rough around the edges but that was its appeal.the breakfast area was great being outside in a lovely courtyard.we really liked our authentic New Orleans guest house

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    50
    18
    11
    23
See reviews for
19
51
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from October 15th - October 20th and it was excellent. We had room 24 and it was very nice. The décor was perfect. Everyone made you feel like you were right at home. We really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony in the evenings! The Inn is within walking distance of the street car line and the French Quarter so you can just leave your car parked at the hotel and walk pretty much every where. One of the desk clerks is even a licensed tour guide and can arrange any tours you want to take for you. We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip! The street lights do light up the room quite a bit at night though. That was the only drawback. It was a very enjoyable stay. The breakfast courtyard is beautifully decorated and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days attracted by the price and location - and it was hard to beat both. On the positive side, it certainly has an interesting style and the walk to the usual tourist suspects in the city is easy. On the negative side, while the office staff are very friendly, all others are surly and rude - and the service is truly dreadful. The rooms are shabby and a little grubby- and don't look inside the fridge while helping yourself to (the cheap and stale) breakfast if you want to continue eating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This unusual lodging is walking distance from the edge of the french quarter (closest to the French market). It was GREAT to be able to park my vehicle and be able to walk to everywhere I wanted to see. On street parking is free and for a $10 surcharge they'll put your vehicle in the very private lot behind their building which is locked from outside and easily accessible from their courtyard. It was perfect for parking my pickup-truck camper.

Staff was helpful and has a lot of personality.

PROS
affordable considering distance to French Quarter
free continental breakfast (coffee, cereal, waffle maker, toast, and some pastries)
I felt clean, comfortable, and safe
rooms were huge
neat little private courtyard with covered breakfast dining area
large groups could share a room. They have several suites with 2-4 beds.
it is much larger and more complex than you think when you pull up. Definitely ask to be shown around before dismissing it as an option.

CONS
quirky: a very old building that has been updated but some of the updates seem to not match or need a little fixup.
drive from Interstate to Inn brings you through a not-so-pretty neighborhood. And when you do arrive, do get directions from them on the nicer way to get over to the French Quarter that keeps you further away from the not-so-nice blocks.


TIPS
- Check internet for best price and insist they match it. I got a lovely suite for $53 a night on a weeknight!
- Be aware every room is very different in size & layout. Ask to see the rooms before selecting one if they have several choices for you.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before deciding. Each one is VERY different. I prefer units that opened to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a cute historical inn. It has a very 1800s theme to it. We are a family of four and we got room number 24. It has two rooms, a bathroom, and a balcony. We loved it! One bed was a king and the other was a queen. They had a flat screen with 50+ channels. Though since our room faced the street, the street lights ran all night, but that didn't bother us. The rooms were very homey and comfortable...they bring you back in time! I love it! For breakfast they had two kinds of cereal, bagels, danishes, biscuits, bread, cinnamon rolls, oatmeal, and grits. (Which all looked good) But I couldn't eat anything because I have to eat gluten free. It would have been nice to have some fresh fruit and boiled eggs (or something similar). :) The front desk was so friendly and knowledgable on the city of New Orleans! The location was within walking distance of the French Quarters, but the inn it self is in a bit of a sketchy neighborhood, so we ended up taking a cab back at night to be safe. Earlier that day my daughter and her friend went out to the car (in front of the inn) to get something and they were approached by a man asking for money. Which was a bit frightening for them, (I was on the balcony so I yelled at him to go away). I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilder
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

as far as the hotel goes, it was average.
it is close enough to the quarter for a walk.
just watch what they say they are going to charge you and what they actually end up charging you.
we were quoted a great price but when they charged my card they never gave the rate they quoted, in fact they said they would adjust it. yet 2 months later and phone calls to them it never appeared. I would never return here, for what they charged us we could have had a better hotel a lot closer to the quarter.

Room Tip: take some bug spray they have crazy looking ones here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Olde Town Inn is located in the Marigney neighborhood-close to the Quarter, but away from the tourist scene. This is an old historic building so rooms are clean, but funky. I have been staying at this place for many yrs. during Jazz Fest and miss some of the ambience from the previous owner. New owners have continued the crawfish boil tradition, but my friends and I were surprised to find when we got back from the fest that the party was already over.
Great neighborhood, though with new businesses popping up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olde Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Town Inn

Address: 2311 North Rampart Street, At Corner of 1001 Marigny Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Olde Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to a charming pet friendly New Orleans Inn, Olde Town Inn is one of the best. Located in the historic and quiet Marigny neighborhood, our Guests stay in one of Americas four hippest neighborhoods according to Travel and Leisure, which is adjacent to the French Quarter and has a bohemian mix of residents and is the most charming, centrally located and historically significant neighborhood in New Orleans, only a short 2 block walk to the famous music and restaurants of Frenchmen Street. Our luscious tropical Courtyard is an oasis and our rooms are eclectically furnished combining antiques with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olde Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Town Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Town Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.