We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A den in Marigny” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Town Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Olde Town Inn to your Saves list
Olde Town Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2311 North Rampart Street, At Corner of 1001 Marigny Street, New Orleans, LA 70117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
port louis, guadeloupe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A den in Marigny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Being French, and this being our first stay in the US, we really thoroughly enjoyed the Olde Town Inn, and particularly the warm, easy-going quality of the hearty welcome we were given at the reception desk. The cleaning ladies are a very nice team too, and you can feel that everybody gets along nicely with each other. The hotel is situated in a very quiet, "typical" (if that makes any sense!) area of NOLA, with a little theater just round the corner where we were lucky enough to enjoy a play by Tennessee Williams (excellent actors and direction!). It definitely is within walking distance of the French quarter, and if you walk down the Elysean Fields, you can even take the streetcar... up to the City Park, which we found a very enjoyable way to discover other parts of the city. The room we had was quite small, but with 2 double beds (could have brought the children with us for the same price), and the only drawback was a fanciful shower, sometimes hot, sometimes cold... but you could manage to obtain lukewarm once in a while!!! We stayed there for 7 days, so had enough time to appreciate the qualities and drawbacks of the Inn. We'll definitely recommend it, it's a nice, very reasonably priced place where we'll most certainly go back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper gallery (numbers 20 odds) were flooded with sun, quite nice at that time of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    50
    18
    11
    23
See reviews for
19
51
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

olde town is nothing fancy, but served me, my husband, and our two dogs well. neighborhood doesn't appear particularly nice, but we had no problem with people or noise and never felt unsafe (entrance to rooms and outdoor area is gated, so that's a plus). staff was very nice and helpful. we only stayed two nights, yet housekeeping politely stopped by our room to see if we needed anything. it is obvious this is an old building, but the room's interior, building's exterior, and outdoor sitting area were clean and well-maintained. we actually really loved the outdoor area; it was beautiful and quiet. there is a decent-sized grassy area right across the road that is more than adequate for dogs. the hotel is within walking distance to the french quarter, not a short walk (15-20 minutes), but definitely doable. we only had a few minor complaints, none of which really affected the quality of our stay – the tv remote did not work, there were very few electrical outlets (only one in the bathroom and it did not work), and the ac was a little loud, but the bed slept well so we had no problem resting. olde town is a lovely, quaint deviation from the typical hotel chain. overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff was absolutly great! Our reservation was messed up and the front desk staff quickly fixed everything and we were put in a room right away with no wait. The coffee was wonderful and was available all day and night. They even watched our bags when we did a tour after check out time.
It is a cute little place, of course not a 4 star place, but very friendly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I booked a room for two nights at Old Town Inn for a friends wedding. The location was convenient and although the price was on the high side, I figured splurge a little and make a great weekend of it.
IT WAS HORRIBLE!!
For $150 a night, I was in room 37 which was a big multi-room unit - part of an old shotgun house. Space was adequate but the kingsize bed was without a doubt 30 years old and the NOISIEST and most uncomfortable bed you could ever attempt to sleep in. Believe me you won't get to actually sleep in the bed because it will squeak so much every move you make will wake you up.
The other key thing was safety - the room opened up directly on the street so foot traffic is only inches away and the door was rotten - REALLY ROTTEN - and only had the door knob as a lock since the deadbolt did not work. FELT VERY UNSAFE!!

Here's the other things that contributed to the nightmare:
- the bathroom was filthy and I mean FILTHY
- the coffee pot did not work
- the ceiling fan did not work
- unit was heated with wall gas heater and electrical space heater that were not adequate to ever get it really warm (and it was 33 degrees at night)
- the door was rotting and had gaps of 1/2 inch at the top and bottom so NOT SAFE and VERY DRAFTY.
- the door only had know lock since the deadbolt did not work but why bother with a rotten door anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This B&B is in an awesome location close to Frenchman St. and the French Quarter. It has very friendly staff and a picturesque courtyard. It is also a secure place to stay as the property is enclosed by locking gates. If you are looking for the definitive B&B experience, however, this place is not for you. The rooms have uneven floors, questionable plumbing, worn linens and the breakfast is a continental layout of starched carbs, but the charm of Olde Town Inn is undisguisable. My husband and I enjoyed spending a week of our honeymoon here!!

Room Tip: You will sleep better the further you are from the security gate. If you plan on staying for a whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Four of my girlfriends rented the suite that sleeps 7. I live in the neighborhood and stayed one night with them. The girls loved the place, it had an oven, stove, full fridge, coffee maker, beds were not the most comfy, but the girls were ok with them. Shower was fine. The room is like a shotgun house, similar to a place you would rent in the neighborhood if you lived here. I had breakfast with them, the food is fine and basic, similar to anything you would get as a free breakfast at any other place. The rates are good for the area. If you want 4 stars this is not the place, but if you want an affordable place in a great location to the quarter and in a nice neighborhood, this will do. One thing I would like to see changed is an update on the door frame and door security.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I just love my time here, great staff, great new orleans feel,i would recommend, to friends and family.
Vending machines, laundry, wifi, outdoor kitchen, clean rooms, what more do you need in nawlins....thanks guys........

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olde Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Town Inn

Address: 2311 North Rampart Street, At Corner of 1001 Marigny Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Olde Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to a charming pet friendly New Orleans Inn, Olde Town Inn is one of the best. Located in the historic and quiet Marigny neighborhood, our Guests stay in one of Americas four hippest neighborhoods according to Travel and Leisure, which is adjacent to the French Quarter and has a bohemian mix of residents and is the most charming, centrally located and historically significant neighborhood in New Orleans, only a short 2 block walk to the famous music and restaurants of Frenchmen Street. Our luscious tropical Courtyard is an oasis and our rooms are eclectically furnished combining antiques with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olde Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Town Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Town Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.