We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd to your Saves list
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4200 Old Gentilly Road (I-10 Exit-239), New Orleans, LA 70126   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Ash Fork, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A police officer stopped my wife and told her she was in the wrong part of town, better leave. She's an older white women with two grandkids. Of course the motel wouldn't refund our money without a 24 hour notice. She stayed at the Quality Inn. twice as much but safer and cleaner.

Room Tip: Bad! Stay Away! Try Quality Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    16
    8
    14
See reviews for
14
20
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I don't often go to Motel 6 but I have to say this is a good hotel at a good price. The room is of good size and clean. The people nice and helpful. It is relatively well situated to go downtown.
Where other hotels increased their price during the Jazz Festival they kept the same price, it seems.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Don't let the cheap price and wi-fi fool you. This place was very dirty from the rooms, walls and carpets. The smell throughout the whole motel was horrible. There were bugs in the room. The bed, t.v, couch and curtains were out dated. Please don't be fooled by the video tour. No amenities, none what so ever. The whole building need to be condemned. I will never ever stay there again. The Manager was very rude. I checked out the very next morning. I would rather sleep outside.

Room Tip: Just pay for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

When we planned our trip we didn't know that French Quarter Fest was happining during that time. The only place not over $200 per night that was close enough was the Motel 6 on Gentilly Road. My question is are we going to be safe taking day trips to swamp and plantation tours during the day and taking a cab to go to the French Quarter at night? I have read a lot of reviews about the Big Easy and most sound very scary. As long as we go from point A to point B and don't do any walking around at night besides the French Quarter will we be safe to stay at this location. I know it's not the best place to stay but it is just a place to sleep, bathe and keep our clothing and such. Please help. Thank you very much. pc

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I am embarrassed that I am writing a review on this place!!!!! It is beyond condemnable. It is deplorable! I plan on calling the corporate office and asking why is this establishment in operations. The area is horrific and the building and rooms are even worse. There are no words to describe how the building and rooms are. I would not stay here if this was the last place on earth!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stay away! The beds are sunk in, unclean comforter. (with burn holes and dried up "stuff" on them) Bathroom was disgusting. Walls were dirty. Floors in room left our feet black. Old tv. Curtain wouldn't close all the way. No amenities what so ever except soap. In a pretty sketchy area. The hotel is gated but they don't use the after hours lock up. Anyone can get in. Staff was ok. Pets free. Close to highway and downtown.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
507 reviews 507 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

rooms clean and cheap staff polite and helpful also very close to downtown new Orleans which is hand for the bars and clubs also for the interstate but with all items good and bad this is not a bad hotel to stay at

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd

Address: 4200 Old Gentilly Road (I-10 Exit-239), New Orleans, LA 70126
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Property Spacious Rooms Pet Friendly Free Hi-Speed Internet Less than 4 miles from the French Quaters and downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd Hotel New Orleans
Knights Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.