We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Modern to your Saves list
The Hotel Modern
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very Pleasent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

On street car route. Close to Civil War and WWIi museum walk to good restaurants. Clean well run hotel, coffee pod machine in room. Comfortable and well priced. Big flat screen TV (which in never watched). New restaurant inside hotel was good. Nice noteworthy location away from the 24 hour drinking crowds

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are delighted to learn that you found a nice and comfortable home in New Orleans. We hope that you had enjoy your travels through the United States, and please come back to visit us again soon.

Thank you for review and wonderful comments about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    126
    65
    36
    22
See reviews for
46
145
31
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed during the Mardi Party, the hotel was modern and clean. The location is excellent (close to great sites and foodie hotspots), the staff was great but they need more staff to help guest check-in and check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Lipearls,

Thank you for your review and comments. If you made it to our parade viewing stands, check out the pictures we have posted on Facebook.

Mardi Gras 2013 was a fantastic time for New Orleans and the Hotel Modern and we are glad that you enjoyed yourself. Don’t wait too long to make reservations for 2014, we are offering an early bird rate promotion with a great discount for Mardi Gras 2014; contact us directly for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The modern isn't what you think of when you dream of New Orleans. Its not a French style hotel that was built hundreds of years ago. The hotel looks like it could be a Miami deco hotel, but it lacks any of that tacky Miami vibe. For me and my girlfriend, the hotel was perfectly located in between the main drag of St. Charles and the garden district and the French Quarter. There isn't a lively scene directly around the hotel, but its center location for the city was perfect for us. We really liked the choice of toiletries, and minibar goodies, quite creative, unlike the interior design of the rooms. The Vietnamese restaurant on the ground floor is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Kevin,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon and try out our new Southern Bistro, Tivoli & Lee which we are launching today featuring a mouthwatering Lamb burger.

Thank you again for your fantastic comments and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel apparently is hosting every band, crew member, and driver for the Buku Music Festival, and seem to be totally clueless. Several drivers, all of whom had driven several hundred miles, were left hanging in the lobby for up to four hours, although when advance calls were placed, assurances were made that rooms were ready and available. The hotel itself is very artsy and cutting-edge design wise. It's too bad the staff is not up to the job.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
FSTegall,

I am sorry that you did not find our service to match the look of the property. I would like to learn more about your experience and challenges that would help us improve.

At your convenience, please contact me at (504) 962-0903 or Miguel@thehotelmodern.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is quirky. I think it fits with the vibe of New Orleans and especially the immediately surrounding area (the Contemporary Art Center and Museum of Southern Art are around the corner and several modern art galleries/studios are within a very short walk). There is a parrot in the lobby, which I found charming.

The decor is quirky. If heavy, classic furniture is your standard for quality, you will be unhappy here. I like the modern/eclectic thing, so I was find. The bed was very comfortable. I was here on business and putting in 14 hour days, so I probably could have slept just fine on the floor, but I slept like a champ. The walls are a bit thin, I could hear water running through pipes in the walls, I could hear people talking in their rooms as I walked down the hall. However, this isn't out of line with most chain hotels I stay in.

The check-in procedure is quirky. I get keeping the lobby more like a sitting room (I'm enjoying sitting here right now, cozy and comfy), but perhaps some sort of mobile solution (tablet-based?) would allow a bit more efficiency (and avoids discomfort when staff run off with your ID and credit card). The tablet can be stowed away easily, keeping the desk clear, and still aligns with a "modern" vibe.

I found the staff very polite and knowledgeable and waiting a few minutes for them to do their thing wasn't a big deal to me personally. The chairs are comfortable, the water is cold, there is art around, there's a pretty bird. Just relax.

If you're the type who tends toward cognitive dissonance, this place isn't for you. If you embrace the opportunity to be in a space that is different, you'll enjoy staying here very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Melissa,

We are quirky indeed! Thank you for your review and comments about your most recent stay at the Hotel Modern. Scarlett the parrot is flattered that you found her charming, and is wondering if you took any pictures of her.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon, and when you decide to return, contact us for our repeat guest discount program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Suspect the best way to describe a stay at The Modern was stated by another couple in the lobby---This is the like a Saturday Night Live skit! And I would offer this was not meant in a positive way.
Where to begin---
Hotel is located adjacent to an abandoned gas station
Panhandlers typically hang out in the circle
There is no front desk---so a staff member 'disappears' wtih your credit card for a prolonged period as part of the check in process
The staff is inexperienced and immature. Arrived in the morning AFTER calling en route and had to wonder around the lobby calling 'is anybody home' before a person appeared
City has stated that one shouldn't drink the water BUT you have to go to the desk and ASK for bottled water and then the staff tells you---'well, I brushed my teeth with city water this morning and I feel ok'
Recommend finding another place to stay in New Orleans

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Amy,
Thank you for taking the time to report your experience at the Hotel Modern. While we understand that the hotel concept is different, we appreciate our guest feedback and take great consideration of the comments for improvement purposes.

We wish that you would have contact any of the managers to share your concerns while on property and allow us the opportunity to find alternative solutions for you.

The City of New Orleans experienced the embarrassing circumstance on Sunday morning of losing water pressure and ordering a boil-water advisory. At the hotel, we responded immediately, communicated to all guests, and offered bottle water. The water situation was not isolated to the Hotel Modern, it was city-wide.

We apologize for the mishaps and would invite you to contact us with further information about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
508 reviews 508 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had a nice stay in The Hotel Modern. The check in process was a little longer than normal even though there were no lines. The staff was friendly and curteous. The lobby and the hotel itself is going for a different look and vibe that I am not a fan of but others may like the appearance. The room was clean and comfy. The location is a plus since you are close to the sites and sounds of New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Modern. You will be happy to learn that we are currently working on an innovative procedure for check-in and check-out at the hotel that will expedite the process and not make it seem as odd as you point out.

I hope that you come back to the hotel soon and experience the changes we are making including our new Restaurant Tivoli & Lee that will open its doors within the next 5 days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Address: 936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Upon arrival, you will be greeted with complimentary drinks in our lobby and escorted to your room just as if you were staying at a close friend’s guesthouse – there is no front desk or lengthy check in process. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans’ juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room, a live music series with international artists in our cocktail lounge, Bellocq, and our full service restaurant, Tivoli & Lee, Chef Marcus Woodham's Southern Bistro featuring a farm-to-plate menu. The Lounge takes its name from photographer E.J. Bellocq, who secretly photographed the madams of pre-prohibition New Orleans. It features a menu of original cocktail creations from Neal Bodenheimer, Kirk Estopinal and Matthew Kohnke, the founders of Cure, the new Orleans bar named one of "The Best Bars in America" by Esquire Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Modern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.