We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Modern - New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Modern to your Saves list
The Hotel Modern
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #64 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel Modern - New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here during Mardi Gras 2013. You couldn't ask for a better place to experience Mardi Gras. The hotel is located RIGHT on the parade route at Lee Circle. I mean the parades passed right in front of the hotel. They have have their own grand stands next to the hotel. Everything I wanted was right there. A restaurant, concessions selling drinks and food outside, TWO bars and the added convenience of restrooms and my guest room was just steps away. It is the BEST way to watch the parade with all of the amenities one needs. No lines at bars, bathrooms, food stands etc. A huge plus is if your room faces Lee Circle you can watch the parade from your window if you don't want to fight the crowds. Its a hidden gem in New Orleans during Carnival season. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and Bellocq and Tivoli & Lee had the BEST drinks around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the circle .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Hotel Modern and your experience for Mardi Gras 2013. We hope to see you back at the hotel soon and enjoy another great event that New Orleans has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    141
    72
    38
    23
See reviews for
47
157
33
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this hotel. First of all, we didn't care for the decor at all...this is just a personal preference though. According to other reviews, others seemed to like it. I would describe our room as a mix of industrial/deco with dorm room like furnishings which weren't very warm and inviting to us. There really is no front desk, which is a unique characteristic but they have to go to a back room to do anything on a computer which includes taking your credit card with them....not very efficient. The staff was very friendly. They gave us dining suggestions and gave us a map in which they pointed many things out. The hotel is conveniently located by the WWII museum and a trolley stop. The biggest disappointment is the amenities...or lack thereof I should say. We had no blow dryer, clothes iron/ironing board and no coffee condiments. The wine glasses were all VERY dirty...a couple had red wine remnants. The shower curtain had pink mold stains at the bottom. When we called to request the blow dryer & iron and coffee condiments they responded very quickly to our request but the ironing board was all stained and dented and they brought more coffee pods instead of creamer and sugar. Breakfast was included with our package for both days but since the restaurant was closed for renovations it was room service instead...which really was not a big deal for us. The first morning we called around 9:30 and ordered. They said it would take 45 minutes. The food came very cold, with no salt and pepper and one of the little jars of jelly was half used. The next morning we ordered around 8:30 and they said it would only be a few minutes...we also specifically asked for salt and pepper....still didn't get any...the food was a little warmer though. We had some noisy neighbors but that's not the hotels fault. I will say the bed was very comfortable.
.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel Modern. I am sorry to learn that you did not find that the hotel and services were up to your satisfaction and liking.

Throughout your stay we had chances to highlight the positives of your experience, but it seems as though the negatives were greater. I apologize if we caused any inconvenience to you and your family, and I would like to learn more about your experience and how we could use your feedback to improve upon. At your convenience, please contact me at (504) 962-0903 or via email at miguel@thehotelmodern.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently went to New Orleans shortly after Mardi Gras and scored a deal for this hotel. The location is excellent - a short and scenic walk to the Riverfront, Super Dome and the French Quarter. We stayed in the "large" room and it was an excellent size and comfortable for 2. The bed was amazingly comfortable! Most notably, the staff was extremely helpful, courteous and responsive to all our requests. We had a great experience for our first time in NOLA and would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Large rooms are perfect size for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Mardi Gras 2013 was an exciting time for the Hotel Modern and the city of New Orleans. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the stay and plan on returning.

We are currently running early-bird specials offering discounted rates on reservations for Mardi Gras 2014. You may contact us directly to inquire about availability at (800) 684-9525.

Thank you for reviewing your stay in TripAdvisor and allowing others to learn about your experience at the Hotel Modern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We managed (with great difficulty) to get a room in this hotel during Mardi Gras this year and it turned out to be one of the best things to happen to us!! Price wise.. great! ( considering that it was the final weekend of mardi gras ). Location wise.. fantastic! most parades passed right by the hotel.. we couldn't ask for more! The service was friendly and relaxed. Kudos to the management for ensuring that the security personnel did not let non-guests enter ( going by the amount of crowd they have to handle.. a monumental task indeed!!). The entry is simple and neat. Our room was not too big.. but it was clean and comfortable. We had no complaints. There is a gas station right across and if you want to make a quick get-away from New Orleans without going through the hassle of driving downtown.. the entry to I10 is just a mile away. The french quarter, canal street and the famous street are less than 10-15 minutes by walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel Modern. It has been an incredible Mardi Gras season and we thank YOU for choosing to stay with us.

We have been posting pictures of our guests enjoying the parade viewing stands, check out our Facebook page and see if you made it.

We are running an Early Birds special promotion for Mardi Gras 2014 bookings, or simply ask us about our repeat guest discount.

Laizzes les bons temps rouler…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for Super Bowl weekend, when every possible room in the Big Easy was taken. The Hotel Modern aspires to a boutique hotel; with some personality and not a cookie cutter chain.
Located on Lee Circle & St Charles streetcar line, around corner from WWII museum. Walkable to both Superdome & French Quarter (though streetcar to Canal is must more charming to get to Quarter). Neighborhood is a gentrifying warehouse district that seems relatively safe. Valet only parking available at $30/day. Small pop-up restaurant in lobby, very limited restaurant choices nearby (better to walk or taxi to Quarter).
The hotel is a converted YMCA, so rooms are small (definitely not spacious as they claim on website) but modern. Queen bed, flat screen TV, free wireless, minibar, Bigelow toiletries. As noted by other reviewers, the walls are rather thin, so you do hear guests next door – our neighbors were all-night TV watchers.
Front desk staff is a bit trendy and not too with it as noted by other reviewers. Valet staff was great. Beware the “iced tea” upon check-in; it is actually a potent chai-based rum punch! Overall, good value for money, clean, modern, out of the noise of the Quarter, and not a cookie cutter chain.
.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel Modern. We appreciate your feedback and I will make sure to share it with our staff as part of our on-going training.

Please contact us next time you plan on visiting New Orleans, and we offer you a repeat guest discount.

Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

When first arriving at the hotel, two gentlemen were at the check in desk. They let us know that we were unable to check in until 3:00 PM. We asked if there was somewhere to get some food within walking distance and they told us go out the door -make a right and there would be a restaurant. The staff did not take time to discuss the area so we went out and tried to find something on our own. We walked for blocks before we did get to a restaurant. The two at the desk that morning were no help and were not very friendly- matter of fact it felt as if we were interrupting something. However, the next day, we found there were different folks at the front desk. Talk about a 180 degree turnaround- not only were they helpful but went out of their way to make sure we knew the surrounding area and gave us great tips. We borrowed the bikes and they helped get the bikes ready and told us a good place to ride. They were outstanding.

The room was nice- bed was comfortable. the outside court yard really needs work- it was so dirty and furniture was rusted and old. You could not sit on it because you would have rust all over your clothing. The cushions were old and dirty on the other furniture- the tables were rusty -they needed replaced.

Good time- and I found the hotel to be quiet and had a very nice sleep- great value for the price. Does make a difference who you have at the front desk-

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent visit to New Orleans and the Hotel Modern.

I apologize for not setting the right first impression upon arrival. I will review your comments to all of the front office staff as part of their ongoing training.

Should your travels bring you back to New Orleans, please contact us directly to book your reservations and inquire about our repeat guest discount.

Happy Mardi Gras Season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My family, minus the mom, traveled a full three miles from home to stay so that Mom's college buddies could take over our house.

We had a great stay, but I can see how some of the issues identified in other reviews could be an issue. We were on the 7th floor of the main tower at the end of the hallway in a double. I was vaguely aware of some hallway noises, but nothing that kept any of us awake. The lobby is intimate and charming, but as others have noted, not continually staffed. Sweets and a pitcher of lemonade made the short wait for check-in pleasant, especially for the 5 year old.

The room was spare and simple, in the manner of better Scandinavian hotels. Bedding was fresh and decent, if not as plush as some of the more recently renovated HIlton and Marriott properties (who seem to be in an escalating bed-thickness and pillow-count war).

The rooms on Lee Circle have a sweeping view of the circle and statue and sunset over the Garden District (not as scenic as it sounds; basically roof and tree tops). Don't look too closely at the homeless residents at the base of the monument, especially if a young child is viewing with you. You may end up needing to explain why that dark stain suddenly appeared on the marble monument next to where that man is standing.

One morning when I awoke, I noticed a stern-looking man glaring into our window--quite a feat, considering our windows were 7 floors up. After a few seconds, I realized that was General Robert E. Lee, who forever faces the north from his perch atop the stone column at the center of the circle.

Other than the better than average breakfast service (crossaints, cereals, coffee and juice), we did not eat here.

Service at breakfast, check-in, and check-out was enthusiastic, but don't expect the sense of experience found at the more conventional hotels downtown. Expect the occasional blank stare when you ask for something out of the ordinary, like a rate confirmation. The hotel is putting forward a young, hip, and (as it name implies) modern experience, which includes some small degree of aloofness. I could see how noise-sensitive travelers could find an issue on lower floors.That aside, we had a great time, felt welcome, and the modern theme was a refreshing change from the typical premium urban center hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your genuine review of your recent stay at the Hotel Modern. I appreciate the feedback that carries both challenges and compliments, and give us material to work with in our continuous improvement efforts.

We hope that you make it down the 3 miles again and experience the new restaurant Tivoli & Lee, a Southern Bistro opening on the 2nd week of March.

Thank you gain for your time in reviewing the hotel, and painting a picture for others that read reviews when making their traveling decisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Address: 936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Upon arrival, you will be greeted with complimentary drinks in our lobby and escorted to your room just as if you were staying at a close friend’s guesthouse – there is no front desk or lengthy check in process. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans’ juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room, a live music series with international artists in our cocktail lounge, Bellocq, and our full service restaurant, Tivoli & Lee, Chef Marcus Woodham's Southern Bistro featuring a farm-to-plate menu. The Lounge takes its name from photographer E.J. Bellocq, who secretly photographed the madams of pre-prohibition New Orleans. It features a menu of original cocktail creations from Neal Bodenheimer, Kirk Estopinal and Matthew Kohnke, the founders of Cure, the new Orleans bar named one of "The Best Bars in America" by Esquire Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Modern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.