We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, great service.. great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Modern

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Modern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #58 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, great service.. great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We managed (with great difficulty) to get a room in this hotel during Mardi Gras this year and it turned out to be one of the best things to happen to us!! Price wise.. great! ( considering that it was the final weekend of mardi gras ). Location wise.. fantastic! most parades passed right by the hotel.. we couldn't ask for more! The service was friendly and relaxed. Kudos to the management for ensuring that the security personnel did not let non-guests enter ( going by the amount of crowd they have to handle.. a monumental task indeed!!). The entry is simple and neat. Our room was not too big.. but it was clean and comfortable. We had no complaints. There is a gas station right across and if you want to make a quick get-away from New Orleans without going through the hassle of driving downtown.. the entry to I10 is just a mile away. The french quarter, canal street and the famous street are less than 10-15 minutes by walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel Modern. It has been an incredible Mardi Gras season and we thank YOU for choosing to stay with us.

We have been posting pictures of our guests enjoying the parade viewing stands, check out our Facebook page and see if you made it.

We are running an Early Birds special promotion for Mardi Gras 2014 bookings, or simply ask us about our repeat guest discount.

Laizzes les bons temps rouler…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    117
    61
    36
    21
See reviews for
42
142
28
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for Super Bowl weekend, when every possible room in the Big Easy was taken. The Hotel Modern aspires to a boutique hotel; with some personality and not a cookie cutter chain.
Located on Lee Circle & St Charles streetcar line, around corner from WWII museum. Walkable to both Superdome & French Quarter (though streetcar to Canal is must more charming to get to Quarter). Neighborhood is a gentrifying warehouse district that seems relatively safe. Valet only parking available at $30/day. Small pop-up restaurant in lobby, very limited restaurant choices nearby (better to walk or taxi to Quarter).
The hotel is a converted YMCA, so rooms are small (definitely not spacious as they claim on website) but modern. Queen bed, flat screen TV, free wireless, minibar, Bigelow toiletries. As noted by other reviewers, the walls are rather thin, so you do hear guests next door – our neighbors were all-night TV watchers.
Front desk staff is a bit trendy and not too with it as noted by other reviewers. Valet staff was great. Beware the “iced tea” upon check-in; it is actually a potent chai-based rum punch! Overall, good value for money, clean, modern, out of the noise of the Quarter, and not a cookie cutter chain.
.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel Modern. We appreciate your feedback and I will make sure to share it with our staff as part of our on-going training.

Please contact us next time you plan on visiting New Orleans, and we offer you a repeat guest discount.

Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

When first arriving at the hotel, two gentlemen were at the check in desk. They let us know that we were unable to check in until 3:00 PM. We asked if there was somewhere to get some food within walking distance and they told us go out the door -make a right and there would be a restaurant. The staff did not take time to discuss the area so we went out and tried to find something on our own. We walked for blocks before we did get to a restaurant. The two at the desk that morning were no help and were not very friendly- matter of fact it felt as if we were interrupting something. However, the next day, we found there were different folks at the front desk. Talk about a 180 degree turnaround- not only were they helpful but went out of their way to make sure we knew the surrounding area and gave us great tips. We borrowed the bikes and they helped get the bikes ready and told us a good place to ride. They were outstanding.

The room was nice- bed was comfortable. the outside court yard really needs work- it was so dirty and furniture was rusted and old. You could not sit on it because you would have rust all over your clothing. The cushions were old and dirty on the other furniture- the tables were rusty -they needed replaced.

Good time- and I found the hotel to be quiet and had a very nice sleep- great value for the price. Does make a difference who you have at the front desk-

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent visit to New Orleans and the Hotel Modern.

I apologize for not setting the right first impression upon arrival. I will review your comments to all of the front office staff as part of their ongoing training.

Should your travels bring you back to New Orleans, please contact us directly to book your reservations and inquire about our repeat guest discount.

Happy Mardi Gras Season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My family, minus the mom, traveled a full three miles from home to stay so that Mom's college buddies could take over our house.

We had a great stay, but I can see how some of the issues identified in other reviews could be an issue. We were on the 7th floor of the main tower at the end of the hallway in a double. I was vaguely aware of some hallway noises, but nothing that kept any of us awake. The lobby is intimate and charming, but as others have noted, not continually staffed. Sweets and a pitcher of lemonade made the short wait for check-in pleasant, especially for the 5 year old.

The room was spare and simple, in the manner of better Scandinavian hotels. Bedding was fresh and decent, if not as plush as some of the more recently renovated HIlton and Marriott properties (who seem to be in an escalating bed-thickness and pillow-count war).

The rooms on Lee Circle have a sweeping view of the circle and statue and sunset over the Garden District (not as scenic as it sounds; basically roof and tree tops). Don't look too closely at the homeless residents at the base of the monument, especially if a young child is viewing with you. You may end up needing to explain why that dark stain suddenly appeared on the marble monument next to where that man is standing.

One morning when I awoke, I noticed a stern-looking man glaring into our window--quite a feat, considering our windows were 7 floors up. After a few seconds, I realized that was General Robert E. Lee, who forever faces the north from his perch atop the stone column at the center of the circle.

Other than the better than average breakfast service (crossaints, cereals, coffee and juice), we did not eat here.

Service at breakfast, check-in, and check-out was enthusiastic, but don't expect the sense of experience found at the more conventional hotels downtown. Expect the occasional blank stare when you ask for something out of the ordinary, like a rate confirmation. The hotel is putting forward a young, hip, and (as it name implies) modern experience, which includes some small degree of aloofness. I could see how noise-sensitive travelers could find an issue on lower floors.That aside, we had a great time, felt welcome, and the modern theme was a refreshing change from the typical premium urban center hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your genuine review of your recent stay at the Hotel Modern. I appreciate the feedback that carries both challenges and compliments, and give us material to work with in our continuous improvement efforts.

We hope that you make it down the 3 miles again and experience the new restaurant Tivoli & Lee, a Southern Bistro opening on the 2nd week of March.

Thank you gain for your time in reviewing the hotel, and painting a picture for others that read reviews when making their traveling decisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Modern on our way to take a cruise. The minute we walked in the door we new we were in for something good. I loved the interior - the beautiful red bird - and the delicious coffee waiting for us. The staff were extremely helpful in arranging cabs, and they even held our bags - after we returned from the cruise - so we could take a walk around New Orleans before catching our plane. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced east so when the sun came up it was bright - too bright. It would benefit them to ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Modern. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the visit and Miss Scarlett (the red bird).

Please contact us directly next time you plan on visiting New Orleans, and inquire about our repeat guest promotion.

Happy Mardi Gras Season 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Despite all attempts at a chic, trendy hotel, the Hotel Modern is no better, and in many ways less impressive, than a common chain hotel. Upon arrival, we waited in the "lobby" area for some time before venturing down a hall to look for a hotel employee. Two employees were in an office, talking to one another. Assuming they were busy and would check us in as soon as they were free, we returned to the main area. After several more minutes, we returned to the employees only area to ask if we could check in. No apologies, just another wait as they finished their personal conversation. Promised drinks on check-in were two glasses of room temperature tap water (out of a fancy decanter). The room itself was small but well-laid-out and was clean with a few minor exceptions. Sleeping was the real issue over the four nights we were there. New Orleans was in the 70's and lower 80's (gorgeous!), and despite frigid temperatures in the hallways, our air conditioner didn't work at all. In addition to trying to sleep in a too warm room, the walls and ceilings are paper thin, and the door literally had a gap around it that let in a large amount of light, and sound, from the hallway. Flushing toilets, running showers, televisions, coughing, or any noise from adjacent rooms was loud enough to wake us.
Additionally, the price quoted online at the hotel's website, where the reservations were made, was not the rate charged, but as the confirmation had no price given, there was nothing we could do.
It was a great trip, and we'll be back in New Orleans soon, but the Hotel Modern will not be our choice again, and we would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Hotel Modern. Your feedback is important and appreciated as it assist us in our continuous efforts to improve our service and hotel overall.

I apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. Although I cannot change what took place, I would like to discuss your comments further and understand better the different breakdowns of service.

At your convenience, please contact me directly at 504-962-0903 or via email at miguel@thehotelmodern.com.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Perfectly trendy while homey place to stay in New Orleans. I'm in love with the floor-to-ceiling bookcases in the lobby, the hand-painted windowpane maps on the walls, and the loquacious parrot at check-in. Our rooms had painted accent walls and trendy, fresh furnishings. Close enough to walk to the French Quarter or take a bus/street-car, but far enough away from the crazy hustle. We were charged exactly what was expected; no deposits or credit card holds. I highly recommend for anyone wanting a fresh room for an affordable price in New Orleans.

Stayed over MLK weekend. 2 rooms at $115/night through Priceline.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lee Circle have a gorgeous view of the sunset over the monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Hotel Modern. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

When you are ready to return to New Orleans, please contact us directly and inquire about our repeat guest discount offer.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Address: 936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Upon arrival, you will be greeted with complimentary drinks in our lobby and escorted to your room just as if you were staying at a close friend’s guesthouse – there is no front desk or lengthy check in process. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans’ juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room, a live music series with international artists in our cocktail lounge, Bellocq, and our full service restaurant, Tivoli & Lee, Chef Marcus Woodham's Southern Bistro featuring a farm-to-plate menu. The Lounge takes its name from photographer E.J. Bellocq, who secretly photographed the madams of pre-prohibition New Orleans. It features a menu of original cocktail creations from Neal Bodenheimer, Kirk Estopinal and Matthew Kohnke, the founders of Cure, the new Orleans bar named one of "The Best Bars in America" by Esquire Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Modern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.