We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Warehouse restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Modern

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Modern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #66 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Convenient to Warehouse restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Modern for three nights after Christmas before neighborhood-hopping to the Renaissance Pere Marquette and Hotel Indigo. The Hotel Modern was the best value; please see my reviews of the other two hotels for reference. We picked the Hotel Modern for its reasonable prices during the holidays and its location. On Lee Circle, it was a convenient walk to Cochon, Herbsaint, and other restaurants, while being outside the loud partying of the French Quarter; this was exactly what we were looking for on the first leg of our trip. In house, Bellocq had well-mixed cocktails and an extensive whisky selection. The service was mixed at both the bar and the hotel. Checkin was slow, and when we immediately requested a move to a room farther from the elevators, it took awhile to process, with little feedback. The new room was nicely-designed, but there were signs that someone, perhaps a previous guest, had been there just prior (hair on the soap dish, tissues in the toilet). On subsequent nights, housekeeping was very good, and we appreciated their flexibility with our schedule. The front desk staff was very helpful on checkout, giving us extra time to collect our bags. Overall, I would recommend the Hotel Modern for its location and boutique design, with some reservations about service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Sara S,

Thank you for your feedback! We truly appreciate guests that provide us with comments regarding their stay that are both complementary and constructive.

Your note about our service is well taken, and we will use it for the continuous training to our representatives.

Please contact us directly next time you plan to visit New Orleans; we will love to host you again.

Happy Carnival Season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    108
    57
    34
    20
See reviews for
36
131
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel itself is pretty neat. Its not your normal hotel. Has a court yard in the middle, an upscale restaurant and also an attached bar/night club. DO NOT GET A ROOM ABOVE THE CLUB - All rooms shake and thumb til after 1am. Be sure to get a room on the back side of the hotel!

Rooms are nice and "artsy". Staff is has been great. Our shower was broken when we got here and they fixed it no problem. The staff is so helpful and for the most part don't "hate" tourist. They enjoy talking to you and helping you find your way around.

Would I stay here again - yes as long as I got a room on the other side of the hotel! :) 3 nights of not being able to go to sleep until after 1 is not good for the ppl around me the next day! :)

Room Tip: do not get anything on the 230 hall if you plan on sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear LovelyRita67,

I am so sorry to learn that you had a difficult time sleeping while staying at the Hotel Modern. Your feedback is very important, and I will follow up to ensure that we take actions to correct the noise levels in our rooms over our lounge.

I wish we had an opportunity to assist you during your vist at the hotel. Please contact me at miguel@thehotelmodern.com or (504) 962-0900, I would like to discuss your expereince further.

Best wishes for 2013, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Ok so this hotel was great for the most part. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was lovely with a decent TV, spacious bathroom, fully stocked minibar and a selection of candy. The only issue was that there was no coffee in the room. I like my coffee before I go out for a coffee, Both bars were cool and friendly and the restaurant in the main hotel was very nice. But be warned it is one of those pretentious food presentation deals with most of the dishes so if you are really hungry like I was then maybe ask about the size of the dish. I ordered the lamb t-bone with mashed potatoes on the night I arrived from an 11 hour train ride and was disappointed that it was the size of a quarter. The following night I opted for the lamb burger and it was delicious and was of a proper size. I am all for healthy limited diets but this continued nonsense of serving people artwork instead of dinner has got to stop.

Overall though the hotel was great and I got it at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear JohnCuttlife,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about your most recent stay at the Hotel Modern. I am glad that our staff was able to assit you and offer you a memorable experience.

You will be happy to learn that we are in the process of introducing Keurig coffee makers in all of our rooms, so on your next visit, you will be able to enjoy a good cup of coffee from the comfort of your own bed.

Please contact me directly next time you plan to visit New Orleans, and I will assit you with your reservations needs.

Best wishes for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Hotel Modern is located a block from the World War II museum complex, the Ogden Museum, the Museum of Southern Art and the Civil War Museum. It is across the street from the Robert E. Lee Memorial and should be on the streetcar line (not working right now). The staff was so considerate and friendly and the facilities were clean. The room was tiny, which was fine, (the bathroom was almost as large as the bedroom) but the bed comfortable. Unlike most hotels in New Orleans, each staff member did not have his/her hand out all the time expecting $$. However, we were pleased to tip for their assistance

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Carios,

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your visit to The Hotel Modern. Miss Scarlett celebrated her first birthday this weekend and would love to see pictures of her, please share with us if you have any.

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff, and we look forward to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed through a Travelzoo special. I can say the staff starting from the hotel manager, front desk (morning & night ), bell & valet services, and engineering where fantastic, great. We have yet stayed in such a great customer oriented hotel. Everybody was happy and friendly, helpful.
This hotel is very close to the French Quarter, walking distance about 10 to 15 minutes, it's a very nice walk, things to see along the way, drink and food to have also.
The beds are very, very comfortable. The room and bathroom very clean. Pillows were very nice, as well as, the television. We were on the eight floor and intranet was fantastic.
We had one incident with our lock box, and engineering fixed in less than 30 minutes.
Everyone at the hotel was outstanding.
This a come back place.

Room Tip: Accidentally I pressed the pool, no pool available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
TheGVisitor,

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your visit to The Hotel Modern and that Scarlett was a great hostess. Fell free to share pictures of your experience on our Facebook page.

Thank you for your valued feedback and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Hotel Modern over the Thanksgiving weekend. We enjoy staying at boutique hotels over chains when given the opportunity. The Hotel Modern fit right in with the better boutique hotels we've stayed in.
The overall feel of the hotel is clean, simple and as the name would suggest "modern". We stayed in one of thier smallest rooms. It was well apointed and didn't feel cramped. We didn't eat in the restaurant but a bartender at a local bar recommended it unsolicited.
The front desk service was superb. My wife is a vegetarian. We asked one of the front desk workers about some walking distance restaurants that would work for her. He gave suggestions for our dinner but said he would check with his vegetarian roommate. Later, as we were leaving, he came running out of the front door and handed us a list of restaurants that his roommate had suggested. That's great service above and beyond.
We found the location to be perfect. A nice walk, or short cab ride in either direction put you square in the heart of the French Quarter or the Garden District.
We would gladly stay at The Modern Hotel again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Peter S.,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your most recent visit to The Hotel Modern. Visit our Facebook page and share pictures you may have with Scarlett.

We hope to see you again soon.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Address: 936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Upon arrival, you will be greeted with complimentary drinks in our lobby and escorted to your room just as if you were staying at a close friend’s guesthouse – there is no front desk or lengthy check in process. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans’ juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room, a live music series with international artists in our cocktail lounge, Bellocq, and our full service restaurant, Tivoli & Lee, Chef Marcus Woodham's Southern Bistro featuring a farm-to-plate menu. The Lounge takes its name from photographer E.J. Bellocq, who secretly photographed the madams of pre-prohibition New Orleans. It features a menu of original cocktail creations from Neal Bodenheimer, Kirk Estopinal and Matthew Kohnke, the founders of Cure, the new Orleans bar named one of "The Best Bars in America" by Esquire Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Modern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.