We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations, great staff, and a great bird Scarlet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Modern to your Saves list
The Hotel Modern
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great accommodations, great staff, and a great bird Scarlet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed through a Travelzoo special. I can say the staff starting from the hotel manager, front desk (morning & night ), bell & valet services, and engineering where fantastic, great. We have yet stayed in such a great customer oriented hotel. Everybody was happy and friendly, helpful.
This hotel is very close to the French Quarter, walking distance about 10 to 15 minutes, it's a very nice walk, things to see along the way, drink and food to have also.
The beds are very, very comfortable. The room and bathroom very clean. Pillows were very nice, as well as, the television. We were on the eight floor and intranet was fantastic.
We had one incident with our lock box, and engineering fixed in less than 30 minutes.
Everyone at the hotel was outstanding.
This a come back place.

Room Tip: Accidentally I pressed the pool, no pool available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
TheGVisitor,

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your visit to The Hotel Modern and that Scarlett was a great hostess. Fell free to share pictures of your experience on our Facebook page.

Thank you for your valued feedback and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    126
    65
    36
    22
See reviews for
46
145
31
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Hotel Modern over the Thanksgiving weekend. We enjoy staying at boutique hotels over chains when given the opportunity. The Hotel Modern fit right in with the better boutique hotels we've stayed in.
The overall feel of the hotel is clean, simple and as the name would suggest "modern". We stayed in one of thier smallest rooms. It was well apointed and didn't feel cramped. We didn't eat in the restaurant but a bartender at a local bar recommended it unsolicited.
The front desk service was superb. My wife is a vegetarian. We asked one of the front desk workers about some walking distance restaurants that would work for her. He gave suggestions for our dinner but said he would check with his vegetarian roommate. Later, as we were leaving, he came running out of the front door and handed us a list of restaurants that his roommate had suggested. That's great service above and beyond.
We found the location to be perfect. A nice walk, or short cab ride in either direction put you square in the heart of the French Quarter or the Garden District.
We would gladly stay at The Modern Hotel again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Peter S.,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your most recent visit to The Hotel Modern. Visit our Facebook page and share pictures you may have with Scarlett.

We hope to see you again soon.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro New Orleans
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel Modern is a great value and I would definitely recommend it to those traveling to NOLA. Check in was quick and easy, staff was super friendly and accomodating, and there is a great bar in the lobby if you want to grab a drink before heading out on the town. The beds were really comfortable and the room was clean and had all the conveniences of home including plush robes and even a stocked bar and snack cabinet.

The location is pretty good - close to the Riverwalk, the Arts District, the Convention Center, as well as the abundance of nightlife, art galleries, and restaurants in the warehouse district. You are also in easy proximity to jump on the streetcar to take you towards Uptown and the Garden District since the streetcar line is right in front of the hotel. If you want to go to the French Quarter or Harrah's, I'd recommend calling a cab - about $7 cab ride to get you to the Canal Street entrance of Harrah's which will also put you in better walking distance to the Quarter (just cross the street and go down Decatur and you're in the quarter).

Room Tip: We were in Room 306 - two double beds. It had a perfect view of Lee Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Cute but a good walk to the French quarter....or call a taxi.....rooms are a little small too...everyone was nice and helpful. ..not an iron in room...had to call front desk....quite location. ..not in the mix

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyvaughan, Clare, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Disappointing over all. The "Breakfast" included is nothing more then cakes and coffee. We were quoted $25 per night for parking, it was in fact $30 and had an extra two days added to our bill. Most of the staff seemed on the ball, but the odd few seemed to have just landed from a world away from the hospitality business. All a bit disorganized, you would expect allot more for the money you pay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had read several previous reviews so I was concerned but our stay was above average. There were plenty of people at the front desk checking in and out. The first room we stayed in was quite smoky so we asked to move to another room and they accommodated nicely- no questions asked. The hotel recently switched to non-smoking but the room still smelled like smokers. The bed was comfortable, the TV was large and working, no issues with AC. The bathroom was large and the shower had plenty of water pressure (pet peeve). I did not have issues with noise but I always use earplugs in hotels. We had drinks at both bars- tamarind and belloq- bartenders at tamarind were friendly and having fun. Belloq was a little slow with service but the drinks were unique. Walking around is not a problem- well lit areas. The only concern is self-parking- the lot is not that close and while the ticket says no in and out, that is not the case. Also lot is closer to the more run down part of town- probably better to not walk alone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

we checked in with 2 couples, the rooms are small but well designed, the location is great, very quiet but actually walking distance to the french quarter and minimarket and restaurants nearby.

the inroom aircons are running on motioncontrols, that means if we slept very quiet they stop operating and the rooms get really hot and when the aircons start all over its noisy like having a truck under your bed.

the service guys are very lovely but really untrained, we look at a 200$ p night place!!!

we decided to check out a day earlier as my friend who is recovering from a stroke could not stand the nasty aircon situation for another night and wanted to go home, it took us hours to sort that out and we were we told the responsible manager will give us a call shortly around 5 x.
finally they agreed and we checked out the next morning, it took around 15 minutes!!! for a guy to store our luggage for short time and no one was able to clear our minibar bill as they needed to wait for the housekeeping to check it later, it was 9 am already and we were promised to get a email about it before they charge it to our creditcard, thats 3 days ago and we still haven't got anything.

You guys surely have to improve in servece, I'm better taken care of in any 60$ motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Address: 936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Upon arrival, you will be greeted with complimentary drinks in our lobby and escorted to your room just as if you were staying at a close friend’s guesthouse – there is no front desk or lengthy check in process. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans’ juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room, a live music series with international artists in our cocktail lounge, Bellocq, and our full service restaurant, Tivoli & Lee, Chef Marcus Woodham's Southern Bistro featuring a farm-to-plate menu. The Lounge takes its name from photographer E.J. Bellocq, who secretly photographed the madams of pre-prohibition New Orleans. It features a menu of original cocktail creations from Neal Bodenheimer, Kirk Estopinal and Matthew Kohnke, the founders of Cure, the new Orleans bar named one of "The Best Bars in America" by Esquire Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Modern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.