We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Long Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Modern to your Saves list
The Hotel Modern
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Arts District / Warehouse District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Long Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Modern for a long weekend in NOLA and will definitely be back. The hotel sits right on Lee CIrcle in the Arts District aka the Warehouse District. The hotel itself is in great shape with a very modern, "hip" feel to it. There's even a parrot, Scarlet, in the lobby. The lobby feels like you've walked into someone's private library rather than a hotel.

My room was on the 8th floor and while small, was perfect for thr weekend. This is New Orleans so you're probably not staying in your room much. The bathroom was fine for one although if two people were trying to get ready, it might be a squeeze due to the small sink and ledge vs. a countertop. The bed was very comfortable and I had no problems sleeping at night. They even provide an umbrella in the room to use although thankfully I never needed it.

The location is very convenient. I love to walk, so walking form the hotel to the French Quarter was not a problem. If you don't want to walk, the St. Charles streetcar runs right past the hotel so you have easy access out to he Garden District or down to Canal where you can walk into the Quarter or connect with the Canal line.

Nearby you have great attractions like the WWII Museum, the Contemporary Arts Center, galleries, etc. and much, much more nearby. Great food is everywhere in New Orleans and you have places like Cochon, Cochon Butcher, Capdeville, American Sector, and the Soda Shop (great breakfast biscuits!) in the area and so much more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladewig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Excellent service. Always clean. Food is good. Beer is cold. Close to everything. One of my favorite hotels in my favorite city!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

From the entrance to the room, this is an amazing experience

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriss04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I have stayed here before when it was Hotel LeCirque and recently stayed since the remodel at the new Hotel Modern. One of the most welcome changes was the new bedding and just the fact that the hotel seems so much cleaner and more comfortable. One nice surprise was that we were checked in by the same desk clerk that we had the last time. Her name is Rebecca and she is so sweet and friendly. Also very knowledgeable about the city and things to do. We also enjoyed meeting Scarlett, the parrot in the lobby. Unusual but fun. I loved the wine on arrival. The room amenities and the honor bar were great but I would have liked coffee in the room. All in all a great improvement. I would recommend this hotel and I will stay there the next time I am in N. O. which I hope is very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel facing Lee Circle are great since the view is better in my opinion b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janellbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

My husband and I decided to book this hotel for the first weekend of Mardi Gras. All of the uptown parades roll right by this hotel before making their way down to Canal. We brought two other couples with us who had never been to mardi gras. This was a good way to ease someone into mardi gras who had never been. The crowd in front of the hotel was never more than one or two person deep.

The hotel was nice, the rooms were cute, bed was big and comfy. Liked the CB Bigalo toiletries. Lovely bar called Bellocq downstairs. There was a restaurant called Tamarind also on the lower level but we did not get to try it. Room rate was very fair priced for mardi gras first weekend.

There were a few quirky things that I thought may need to be adjusted. I know the hotel just reopened as Hotel Modern, so maybe these quirky things just started, but for one thing, they didn't allow you to get ice. The ice machines were empty. You had to call the front desk to have it delivered. This got annoying pretty quick, especially during parades when you are constantly making drinks in your room. We were literally going up to the front desk and asking for ice for each new drink. Another quirky thing was the check in desk, or lack thereof. It was really just a waist high kiosk with some ice water sitting atop it. There was a girl who stood beside the desk, who did not appear to be wearing a uniform. She turned out to be the desk clerk. I thought she was hanging out, drinking water at first! The really nice man who opened the door for me a few times turned out to be the doorman! Again, no uniform was worn by him either. I did recognize the maid because she had cute french maid uniform on! none of these are bad things, just quirky.

There is an adorable Macaw or some sort of parrot who hangs out in the lobby as well. He has a big bird cage beside the water kiosk. Overall, I would def stay here again for first weekend of mardi gras. It would also be good for people who come to town for the WWII museum, it is one block over.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvdatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plano
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Newly updated. Comfortable beds. Very clean. First assigned tiny, tiny room; changed to a slightly larger room. No coffee pot in room, no ironing board in room, guest must call for ice. Pleasant staff. Good location. Complimentary wine in the evenings. Cute parrot in the lobby. But NO coffee!!!

Room Tip: Ask about size of room. Front view of Lee Circle is nice. Bring your own coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Awesome rooms, awesome new lobby. Amazing Vietnamese food. Most innovative new Modern Hotel in NOLA. Love the pig!!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go to wrong selecting a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#31 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#26 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C Hotel
Q&C Hotel
#11 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#9 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,256 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#68 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Address: 936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Upon arrival, you will be greeted with complimentary drinks in our lobby and escorted to your room just as if you were staying at a close friend’s guesthouse – there is no front desk or lengthy check in process. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans’ juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room, a live music series with international artists in our cocktail lounge, Bellocq, and our full service restaurant, Tivoli & Lee, Chef Marcus Woodham's Southern Bistro featuring a farm-to-plate menu. The Lounge takes its name from photographer E.J. Bellocq, who secretly photographed the madams of pre-prohibition New Orleans. It features a menu of original cocktail creations from Neal Bodenheimer, Kirk Estopinal and Matthew Kohnke, the founders of Cure, the new Orleans bar named one of "The Best Bars in America" by Esquire Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Low Cost Holidays, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing