We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel if you like to be lied to” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #63 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Ridgedale, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice hotel if you like to be lied to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

although our room was nice and the location was right on the bus or trolley lines for easy access to downtown we were lied to repeatedly regarding parking and availablity of continental breakfast. We called 3 times prior to our arrival speaking with desk staff regarding these items. Each time we were told parking was included in our room rate. We actually had to pay an additional $24 plus taxes for the one night of parking. The lot adjoins the hotel but is available as public parking. We would have paid less for our less than 24 hr stay had we just driven in off the street and not stayed at the hotel. We were also told that a continental breakfast was included. I suppose if you consider it was available at an additional charge then it could have been included. Evening and night staff at desk were very unfriendly if not downright rude. Day desk staff were much better. Will stay with the compitition on our next visit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I apologize you feel you were misinformed prior to arrival. I’m not sure who you may have spoken to at the front desk that would give out incorrect information and especially on several different occasions. To clarify, parking is $24 + tax and as we are a full service property no meals are included unless a package rate is booked. We have a stunning new restaurant and lounge; renovations were just completed this week! With these amenities we’re able to offer our guests the convenience of breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service in-house. We will certainly take your comments into consideration regarding the staff and use this feedback in our monthly training session. We provide continuing education for our staff in order to increase guest satisfaction with every opportunity. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    268
    127
    35
    27
See reviews for
139
170
64
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

After the young lady at the front desk asked us to wait to the exact minute of 4:00pm to check in, and not spend the 21 minutes in the lobby; we were pleasantly surprised when we got the room. We had a great view of the city and really enjoyed our stay. The location is just a few blocks from the French Quarter and we enjoyed the reprieve. The best service we received was from the fantastic housekeepers. The ladies were probably the most friendly people we met throughout the weekend. There were some small inconveniences (keys set for one night not two, partying neighbors until 3AM who played with connecting locked door, etc.) but that can happen anywhere. My tip? Make sure to research websites, we found a fantastic deal via Priceline which made up for the high parking rates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross, GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I had to drive my daughter from GA to TX and return to pick her up, and I was so impressed with this property and its staff that I stayed there on both legs of the trip. I got the "Welcome Center Rate," advertised in a brochure at the state line, of $59 Monday-Thursday nights, with FREE PARKING, and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is lovely. As a mother travelling alone with a teenage daughter, I found the parking and security to be impressive. The pool on the 8th floor is lovely, and there is a nice open lounge nearby where you can sit in the A/C and keep an eye on the kids. Noise was not a problem at all; there were high school athletes staying on either side of us, and we only heard them when they were out on their balconies. Street noise was not an issue, either; we were awakened by a jubilant crow one morning; he was on the roof of an adjacent building and was quite happy about something! (My husband could not believe that we were awakened by a bird in the CITY!)

The staff goes out of their way to help you with any need, however small; our toilet had a problem, and it was fixed within minutes. Staff morale seems to be high at this hotel; everyone is genuinely helpful. We ate in the restaurant at my tired daughter's insistence, and the food was tasty enough. The service was excellent.

The only issue is that there is only one washer and dryer, and, at a hotel that regularly hosts athletes, you would think they would address that (I heard this complaint from the coaches who travel there every year as well). The laundry facility was nice, however, and had a TV. Cab fares were reasonable to the French Quarter, and I would recommend this hotel to absolutely anyone. We will return! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

On Wednesday evening, August 7, 2013 my wife and I took a taxi from the Holiday Inn Downtown to the French Quarter. She forgot her medicine bag in the taxi. The only thing we could think of to do was go back to the hotel and see if they could help us locate the taxi we took. The lady on duty, Donna asked us which taxi company we took. She then started making calls to the taxi company. After several call she was able to locate the driver and he returned to the hotel with the bag. If it hadn't been for the extra effort of all of the front end staff, Donna Bailey, Lucien, and Mark the Concierge we would have never gotten my wife medicine bag back. They all are a credit to their profession and Holiday Inn Downtown. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was always clean and neat. The restaurant served excellent breakfast and dinners at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked this property through Hotwire. Hotel has beautiful contemporary design. Staff was friendly.
Beware that parking there is $27.00. After we checked in we noticed there was a parking garage around the corner for $5! There is no free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments regarding our property and staff! It has been recently renovated and we are extremely proud of the finished product, as well as our exceptional customer care! There is a parking fee of $26.88 per night; however, we offer a covered and secured garage for our guests and visitors. There are other lots in the area, but the cost is approximately $30 for overnight parking and they are uncovered and open to all. Please be careful with signage as it usually has an asterisk stating “rates starting at”. Breakfast is not included because we are a Holiday Inn, not a Holiday Inn Express, which is a common misconception. This is a full service property, meaning we are able to provide our guests with breakfast, lunch, dinner, room service, and a lounge. These amenities are available to increase guest comfort and convenience. Thanks again for acknowledging our progress and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We chose to stay at the Hampton Inn on Carondelet Street (as our first choice) and checked out of there due to mean employees and meager accommodations. We came to the Holiday Inn Downtown by the Superdome and immediately felt a sense of relief. Alex who checked us in was very nice & professional. Our housekeepers Christine & Ellen were more than willing to assist with anything to make our stay even more comfortable and special. To be treated with care and respect after dealing with the nightmare on Carondelet Street made me realize Holiday Inn should have been our FIRST CHOICE!! I will always stay here when I come back to New Orleans and will further more recommend this site to my family & friends when they come to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our housekeeper Lorraine was fantastic. She did an excellent job cleaning our room. She took great care of us. She gave us great restaurant advise and the food was great. We were here for a convention.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.