We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #58 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great staff and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this hotel quite a bit. The restuarant downstairs was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The staff was able to help give us great information during our first visit. It isn't too far from Bourboun Street just a short walk or cab ride away. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    246
    110
    34
    27
See reviews for
129
150
63
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have stayed just about everywhere in our 20+ years of Jazzfest and the Holiday Inn -Superdome proved a great choice. Price was about 10-20% lower than CBD and another 10-20% lower than the quarter. Yet the room was spacious and "modern" (by New Orleans standards). The service was attentive, the restaurant was perfect for breakfast and the bar area proved both a good gathering place and with good drinks. The value is probably due to distance from the quarter but despite initial concern proved an easy walk to all Canal Street transportation and Quarter activity. The immediate block towards Canal seems a bit sketchy but we quickly realized we were between the Superdome and Tulane Hospital, so not so worrisome afterall. We will be back. Plus, the rooftop pool was fun.

Room Tip: Pool can be noisy at night. It's on 8 and rooms immediately above it can hear (and see) it. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived in our car to the Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome where we stayed two nights. The bellhop was very helpful and friendly. He grabbed a cart and loaded our luggage and took it up to our room. Parking is a bit expensive but it’s the price you pay for being downtown. The hotel is walking distance to the French Quarter but is not that close. The area around the hotel seemed kind of iffy with not much going on so I didn’t venture out alone at night. Our room was very nice and modern with lots of lighting. We had a room with a balcony a few stories above the pool. The parking garage is conveniently located under the hotel so you can take the elevator to go right out to your car. We didn't try the restaurant located in the hotel. For being a priority club member they gave us a buy one get one free drink at the bar (which we didn't use). Staff were all friendly.

There are a few negatives I experienced in this hotel. Room had low water pressure; which may have been addressed on the day were we left as we received a notice saying the water will be shut off from 11am to 5pm. There are four elevators but on the day we left only two of them were working. It took forever waiting for the elevator and was very frustrating.

Room Tip: balcony room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Ga.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Tom and I spent three nights here last weekend. I had organized a class reunion during Jazz Fest. This hotel is located four blocks from the French Quarter. I selected it because the rate was significantly less than a hotel directly in the quarter. There is a streetcar stop right across the street. We only used the street car once when it rained because it was such an easy walk to the Quarter.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were given permission to hold a nightly cocktail party next to the pool on the roof. Bringing our own beer, wine and snacks was no problem. Being allowed to hold this party was the glue that held our reunion together. It was wonderful to be able to sit and catch up with each other before going out to dinner. The atmosphere was also very relaxing and nice.

The hotel itself is older but has been refurbished. It has a nice looking bar and restaurant adjacent to the lobby. The rooms are on the small side, but adequate. They are decorated in an Art Deco style with Andy Warhol replica pictures. The bed was comfortable. The pillows are small(I prefer regular size). There is a choice of firm or soft. The bathroom is also on the small side but is nicely appointed with granite counter tops and good toiletries.

We found it very easy to book a restaurant or a tour through the hotel.

Parking is expensive at $26.00 per night. I would say that that would be the only negative to staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor overlooking the pool which is on the 8th floor roof. The view will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was in New Orleans for Super Bowl XXXVII and was very happy with my experience at this
hotel . From check-in to departure I enjoyed the hospitality "The Big Easy" is famous for . I would
especially like to thank Denika , Alina , and Zonie for the friendly and personable attention they extended to me whenever I dined in the onsite restaurant and bar .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

CONS:
The room looks nice, but upon further inspection, there are bed bugs, dirty mirrors and windows, dirty table and counter tops, shower and bath need repairs, AC unit needs repair. The location does not feel safe at night. No security presence around the outside of the hotel. The parking is the most expensive around by far and is substandard in every way. The parking garage has low ceilings low-hanging pipes with rust and mold. Maybe all this is typical for NOLA, but this is my 1st time there in decades. Look closely at online maps of the hotels around Bourbon Street and stay there instead. Security on Bourbon St is much better than here.

PROS:
I found free parking on many streets and at Harrah's, if you gamble enough! It is a few minutes from Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you kindly for the feedback. As always, we appreciate any information that will help us move forward in improving the guest experience. I apologize you did not leave satisfied, however, please be aware we are addressing all of the issues mentioned. I can assure you, there are no pest control concerns at our property. As you also filled out a Holiday Inn survey, we had access to your room location and immediately had it inspected. The inspection did come back clean. It may also ease your mind to know we have consistent pest control service throughout the property as a preventative measure. I regret you felt unsafe as we do in fact have security on staff every evening. We take every precaution to ensure our guests safety. All guest rooms floors and upstairs banquet space has already been renovated, only one elevator remains to be modernized (current work in progress), and the 1st floor has begun its transformation as well! We are very proud of our product and the benefits to our guests stay as we continue to progress with renovations, please come back and see us again! I have no doubt we can exceed your expectations if given another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here while in New Orleans as part of a tour group. The hotel was comfortable, although I had to ask to have a couple of small problems with the room rectified. Anything I requested was taken care of promptly. The staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.